We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Barbara Studios”
Review of Barbara Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbara Studios
Ranked #1 of 46 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I just returned from a 4-night stay at Barbara Studios. Iro and Panos were absolutely fantastic. They made us feel so welcome, helped us sort out our day trips/transportation and provided with so many great recommendations of restaurants, bars, clubs and shopping. It was truly a lovely place to return to each night after a long day of sightseeing. It was like we were at home! Beautiful hotel, room and facilities as well. Very highly recommended for any type of trip. Thanks Iro and Panos !!!!! It was a trip of a lifetime :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Manager at Barbara Studios, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your nice words, which I have gladly shared with my family. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always do our best to help all our guests find their way easier in our town and propose day trips all over Crete, according to their likings.
We also hope that we meet again real soon.

Panos Kargiolakis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a really nice place in the centre of Rethymnon. It is a family house managed by Panos and Iro who live in the house, too. We stayed there for an entire week (7 nights) and had a great time. Panos and Iro were really helpful with recommendations as to where to go for day trips and for restaurants. Every day Iro cooked a little specialty of hers that was delicious and that awaited us in the room when we came back from the beach. Although they say there is no breakfast included, they provide butter, jam, crispbread, coffee and tea, so you can totally have breakfast.

I guess the only slightly negative point was the heat at night. We had one of the apartments with loft and private balcony, and because of the way the A/C is setup, it's hard to get fresh in the loft, where the bed is. Panos said they knew and would try to fix it, so this might be solved. But if not, I would recommend getting one of the standard room so that you don't have this problem.

Room Tip: Loft apartments have problems with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigschtroumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Barbara Studios, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi "bigschtroumpf" from Switzerland,
We are all very glad that you had such a great time in our family apartments, and we thank you very much for praising Iro's cakes and sweets.
We always try to respect the ancient Greek philosophy of "philoxenia - hospitality", and offer as much as we can, to our guests.
We have seriously considered the matter of the temperature in this specific room, consulted our technicians, and we already changed the air conditioner’s position, and made new adjustments to it, so that it will surely be cool and fresh next summer as all the other rooms are.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to our family house and talk about your travelling experiences.

Best Regards
Panos Kargiolakis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Iro and her husband are fantastic! They go out of their way to make you feel welcome at Barbara Studios. Iro especially was very kind to me, as I had a bag stolen near the airport and it contained my contact lens solution. All the nearby pharmacies were closed, so Iro went on her motorcycle to one further out of town and brought it back for me! It made me feel so much happier after such a bad experience earlier.

She also left homemade sweets, orange juice, raki, and more in our room. The room was very clean and the housekeeping was excellent. The hotel is also in a very good location and you can walk easily to many places.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Rethymnon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Barbara Studios, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Rebecca,
We really enjoyed having you and your family as our guests. We are also very glad that you overcame such an inconvenience, and eventually managed to smile, and have such a pleasant time.
We try to help in every situation in our house, and we treat all our guests as our own family, and every problem of the house is our problem too. The Beatles say: "I get by with a little help from my friends".
We hope we meet again very soon, and please sent our wishes to your lovely parents, too.

Best regards
Panos Kargiolakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just stayed a week with Panos and Iro and absolutely loved it. As most everyone has stated they are perfect hosts and yes we too looked forward to seeing what goodies were in the fridge when we returned from a day on the beach. The apartment was spacious and comfortable with a large narrow balcony looking east over the courtyard and to the sea. Yes it was overlooked by a few rooms at the Ideon hotel but we hardly ever saw anyone on their balconies. It was a nice area for a relaxing wine or 2 in the evening.

The apartments are perfectly placed for the Old Town. No more the !50 yds from the Rimondi Fountain in the centre of town. Rethymno is lovely, full of character and narrow back streets and alleyways full of shops and tavernas and restaurants.

Panos will give you some restaurant recommendations as there are so many in the town. We particularly liked Kyria Maria down an alleyway behind the Rimondi, Erofili, just around the corner from the studios and if you go to the Venetian Harbour, Zefyros is brilliant.

We spent between 25 to50 Euro on starters , 2 mains and a litre of house red(never had a bad wine!) and the usual free desert and raki.

The Town beach is a 10min walk . 2 sunbeds and umbrella were 9 euros in town but go further afield and its 5 or 6 euros,

So this location can be a city break combined with a beach hol. We had hired a car so also visited Plakias on the south , Platianas about 5km east and Georgiropoulis about 30 km west.

Managed to park everyday except Sunday, when the locals all seem to be out, at the nearest free car parking near the fortezza. On the Sunday used the other car park on the west of the fortezza and was a 10 min walk.

I must also add how friendly thel local population are and most speak english.

A visit to Panos and Iro's place is highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Barbara Studios, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Tony,
Thank you very much for kind words about our philoxenia and our apartments. We also thank you for mentioning our location in the old town, right behind all the nice restaurants and bars, but still quiet and peaceful, and how really easy it is to park or go for a walk in less than one minute. We also are very glad that you enjoyed our lovely town.
We were delighted to host you both, and hope that we will meet again soon.

Best regards
Panos Kargiolakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and amazing staff- very welcoming!! Staff go out of their way to help you and always smiling. As soon as we arrived staff welcomed us in with a few drinks and lovely home made cookies. Gave us a map and made a few suggestions on where to go and helped us with our luggage.

Good location and very central. Lots of free parking nearby. Great rooms. Would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z0oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything went excellent and we had a very good and pleasant stay in Rethymno. Barbara Studios is a really amazing place to stay. Rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The fresh cookies baked every day by Iro and left in the room are so gooood and really nice surprise when you are coming back. The place being an old Greek house with very nice and quiet court has its own specal climate! And the owners... They are just amazing! You will become friends with them from the very first day! That is wht let's you feel the real Greece in Barbara Studios!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Barbara Studios. Panos and Iro couldn't do enough for us and we had the best hospitality in all our travels to date, having stayed at many places in many countries.They were both there for us everyday with big smiles always ready to help with anything, even lugging our heavy suitcases to the top of the stairs in 40 degree temperatures! The accommodation was clean, comfortable and the best thing was that everything was so close in this lovely part of the old town. My two young daughters felt very welcome and comfortable and loved the wonderful little sweet treats that Iro hand made each day, a lovely touch. Thank you to both of you! Sonny and Lina

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
628 reviews
37.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara Studios

Address: 14 Dambergi Str, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range: $53 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbara Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family house welcoming travelers from all over the world, respecting the meaning of the Greek word philoxenia.Guests can relax in our studios, in some of them, make their own meal, accompanied with raki, orange juice, bearing in mind that everything that they need to visit is less than 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barbara Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbara Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing