We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable clamber”
Review of St. Anthony Gorge

St. Anthony Gorge
Ranked #4 of 73 things to do in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An enjoyable clamber”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The St. Anthony Gorge (ag. Antoniou, in Greek) is one of a number of gorges scattered around Crete, but the only one that we visited during our holiday. It is not particularly easy to locate or well signposted, but once you get close to it there are panels advertising the Drumos tavern which is at the entrance to the gorge. At the time we visited, in early October, there was only a trickle of a stream running down the gorge (and even that disappeared after a while, evidently taking another path - possibly underground).
There are paths for a while, and then these disappear and you're basically scrambling over rocks, with occasional daubs of paint to show you the way. There are a couple of rickety-looking wooden bridges across the gorge, and at various points there are some makeshift ladders or ropes to help you surmount some of the trickier passages. Most of them seem to be solid enough but you do have to watch your footing.
The gorge is very picturesque and it's a fun clamber. We took it relatively slowly as my partner has a dodgy knee, and we spent 2 to 3 hours going down and back up again, without reaching the end of the gorge (it comes out at one end of a fair-sized lake that you pass on the way to it, if you come from the North). Some people were on organised trips where they started at one end and were met by their bus at the other end, and they told us that this was supposed to take about an hour and a half.
We returned and had a good meal at the tavern, interrupted by one of their rabbits who hopped up onto the chair next to us and stole some of our food. It was a very enjoyable trip with some beautiful scenery . I would advise you to give it a miss if it's raining, though, because the rocks would surely be treacherous in the wet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LarissaLorinczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    75
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ossendrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Have some food before entering the nature. It's quite nice, there are different paths to choose from. We got on one that was really fun but got increasingly difficult. First marked by yellow dots along the route, it became dark green dots at some point, and suddenly there was a dropoff that was just impossible without climbing gear. Then we took the path back up again, cool experience! Before you descend, ask the taverna at the top about the possible routes, i guess

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More challenging then expected”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The scenery is beautiful. The journey was more challenging then expected (including ropes and ladders).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank slsl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

St Anthony gorge is worth locating and doing one of the walks down through the tracks down. The walk is interesting because at times you have to scramble down rock ledges and down impromtu ladders that have been made. Care must be taken on the walks as rocks can move underfoot, my Wife fell heavily hurting herself. But overall we had a great time. Tip have lunch at the Taverna at the end of the walk, the food was great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pumpa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is really worth driving up away from the coast to see St. Anthony Gorge which is well signposted off the main road. The path leads down into the gorge and you can walk as far or as little as you want. Due to the steep sides of the gorge the temperature was much cooler and therefore pleasant to explore in. Fairly easy walking and no frighteningly steep drops. A really interesting place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Anthony Gorge also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to St. Anthony Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing