We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent just Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antica Dimora Suites
Ranked #38 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent just Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were looking for something a little different, so we choose the Antica Dimora Suites using the information from the Trip Advisor reviews. Well, we were not disappointed, it was just as everyone had described. The hotel is located in the old town area, which is just a great place with plenty restaurants and shops to explore! The hotel is small with only nine rooms, small, friendly, with that added personal touch. The staff were just great, very friendly and very helpful, they did their upmost to make your stay as best as they could. Hats off to you Vaso & Stella, you made our stay that much more enjoyable, thank you...
The hotel and rooms were presented to a very high standard of decor, an old historic building converted to a high standard with original stone wall features and marble floors. There is a small ‘court yard’ to the rear of the building, nice and peaceful with a very small pool, great for a dip but that would be it (remember it’s in the middle of an old town!). The breakfast was superb, a buffet style with plenty to choose from, served at what time ‘you’ want to have your breakfast!
The hotel building is of three floors, with a small lift to the first two floors. We stayed on the third floor which meant an extra flight of stairs to climb, not a problem to us, but if stairs are not your thing then avoid rooms 107 & 108 (Therpsichore & Thalia). However our room (107) had a nice big balcony to the back of the building nice and peaceful. (There are also more stairs going down to court yard/pool area.)
As the hotel is in the old town there is no access for anything bigger than a moped, so you will have to walk from your taxi, bus or hire car, so make sure you have a map...

Room Tip: Take a hair dryer as the one in the room is fixed to the bathroom wall and not very powerful, well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandMandy1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply from the moment we arrived the staff at Antica Dimora Suites made us feel very welcome in their stunning hotel. The property comprises a Venetian style converted mansion townhouse complete with elegant marble flooring and restored stone wall features throughout. The decoration has been carefully considered and genuinely makes the guest feel like royalty during their stay here. We were fortunate enough to spend time in one of the property's suites and can honestly say we were extremely impressed with the room. The marble flooring and high ceilings alongwith a 4 post bed made for a very comfortable and classy stay. Simply put I could not fault the suites. On another note, whilst we unfortunately picked up a parking fine for illegal parking nearby the port and were unable to pay it due to our departure date......the hotel staff very kindly offered to settle the fine for us in our absence and took the worry away from us altogether. The level of customer service was top quality. Given that the location of this hotel is bang in the heart of the old town it really does serve as a great point in which to explore from. One note would be, any guests using hire car should note that parking in rethymnon is extremely restricted. By that I cannot emphasise enough EXTREMELY RESTRICTED. Make sure to do your homework and find out areas to park before arriving in rethymnon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niko_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were given this hotel as a recommendation by friends who had stayed there, and we were not disappointed. Having read the previous reviews, we were confident that the hotel would be as we expected. The location within the heart of the old town is very convenient, the rooms are clean, cool and airy and the whole property has an air of being well kept. The secluded garden with pool is very shady and provides a peaceful area for relaxing, away from the bustle of the town. The staff are friendly and attentive, no request being too much trouble. As UK visitors, though, a couple of tips we would have appreciated having before we arrived are as follows: There is no access to the hotel by car, and the sat nav cannot get to the road, although it keeps trying, so check out parking (close and convenient) before arrival. The hairdryer is the hot air blower attached to the bathroom wall, so bring your own if you prefer something more efficient. No hot drink making facilities are provided, so the travel kettle and a few tea bags would have kept us happy as we found the super strong morning coffee on offer not to our taste, however the breakfast experience in general was rather strange- an eclectic mix of hot, cold, traditional and pan-european options - too much for so few guests. My advice would be keep it simple with a few nice pastries and fruit. Certainly during our stay the vast buffet was largely untouched each day. Overall, a very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the balconies before you book- some are shady at different times of day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a wonderful find. The hotel was wonderful, spotless and so freindly, the rooms so peaceful and beautiful we had a balcony overlooking the street and we spent every evening watching the world go by with a drink before bed. Thanks to Stella and Vasa who couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. The old town was lovely and as previous reviews stated peacful and also very clean, a myriad of restuarantsm taverna's and smart cafe bars make it a perfect location for a relaxing break. We will be back!

Room Tip: a balcony room does make a difference and the cost is only minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in! Breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly and sincere. Nice and cosy city garden with a pool. When we left we even received some cakes to eat along the way.... the hotel was so clean you would eat from the floor. The location is fantastic in the old town, close to the shops and restaurants, and yet it is very quiet, no traffic is allowed during sleeping hours and we were assisted to find a safe parking place. Thank you so much Stella, you gave us extra warmth on top of the wonderful Cretan sun. We loved it :)) René & Bafentse

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank levensgenieter_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

To mark my retirement, I decided to take my wife and two daughters away for a short break but wanted something special. If I do say so myself, my choice couldn't have been better!
Having stayed with my wife, in Rethmynon previously, I knew that our choice would be somewhere in the old town. We were so lucky to have found Antica Dimora. The building is historic and has been beautifully and carefully converted in to suites, nine in total, I think.
None of the original charm of the building has been lost in providing comfortable and chic accommodation. Our suite, and that of my daughters, had a four poster bed with an open rafter ceiling which made each room, with the addition of considered lighting, really atmospheric. Each had a balcony and was furnished to the very highest standard with walls of original, conserved stonework. There is also a very attractive pool area, sited within a courtyard, which came complete with the most comfortable sunbeds we've ever encountered. The pool has a jacuzzi feature at the shallow end and the hotel also has a Hammam room which unfortunately we didn't try but looked interesting, even though i'm not sure what it is!
Breakfast was served in the reception area and the amount and variation of food was incredible. All tastes were catered for, from the healthy eater to those who enjoy a hot breakfast of bacon and egg, me included! The staff were very sociable and extremely helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The owners of the suites also have two other hotels, one nearby and one a little further away with its own private beach. By arrangement, a free shuttle service took us there one day and, again, nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff involved at the beach or at the beach/pool bar.
Antica Dimora is, as I said earlier, sited in the old part of Rethymnon and has shops, tavernas, restaurants, the harbour and the beach right on its doorstep. When I say shops I mean those that range from the 'touristy' variety, to good quality clothes shops, to fishmongers and fruit and veg outlets. In other words, a proper Cretan town. I should add that although in the town, we weren't bothered by traffic or other 'urban' noise. In fact, the only outside noise I can remember was the chiming of the local clock and the church bells announcing mass.
I suppose the greatest compliment I can pay the hotel is to say that my family and I would go back tomorrow, without hesitation.
It was a very luxurious stay at very reasonable prices and provided a holiday never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#19 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#17 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vetera Suites
Vetera Suites
#82 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Suites

Property: Antica Dimora Suites
Address: 2 Agias Varvaras, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Dimora Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Dimora Suites is a memorial building that was built in the 19th century, and whose owner was a Turkish wealthy man but, afterwards Iosif Chobitis became its owner. This building has been reconstructed, but has still the architectional style of the ancient years and thus, offers the 21st century's luxury, located in the heart of the Venetian town of Rethymno. There, valuable decisions were made regarding the liberty of Crete. Within 100-200 meters, visitors can see "Krini Rimondi", the Municipality garden, the picturesque Venetian harbor, as well as the sandy beach of Rethymno.. Antica Dimora Suites combines luxury, calmness and the echo of the history of Rethymno in the narrow streets and the traditional buildings of the old town. Services Room service, Baby-sitting (needed to be told in advance and with extra charge), Baby-cots, Special chairs for children to the restaurant, Laundry service and ironing (with extra charge), Turkish Hamam (with extra charge), Daily housekeeping, Medical service (hotel visits in charge), Sending and picking mail, Transferring bus (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Dimora Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Suites Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing