We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and unforgettable experience at Rimondi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came back yesterday and we already miss it. We stayed at one of the Maisonette rooms at Palazzo. Sophia and Eleni made our stay very special. We were traveling with our 9 month old baby daughter and everybody at the hotel loved her, they even prepared home made fresh solid food everyday specially for her :o)

Breakfast was really tasty and the fresh orange juice was great. We swam in both swimming pools and in the afternoon we were served fresh lemonade or a refreshing sangria! we loved all these little attentions.

the hotel is located in the center of Rethymno, perfect for walks, we had dinner twice at a restaurant situated on the corner, called Raki Ba Raki, all the mezzes were so good.

It was really the perfect vacation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ritaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 655 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Rethymnon and stayed at the Palazzo Rimondi. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Alex and Sofia. We had a wonderful Deluxe room with 2 floors and a small outdoor enclosed area. The hotel is right in the heart of the old town and was ideal for exploring and very close to the harbour and beach. We were spoilt for choice with dining options and would recommend Castelvecchio near the Fortress. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and have only been back home for a week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited Rethimno for a week and we stayed in the spectacular Palazzo Rimondi hotel. Having left the United States for the first time, we were both looking for a relaxing hotel with beautiful surroundings in the heart of the Old City, and Palazzo Rimondi was the perfect fit. We got a very comfortable room at an exceptional rate for its quality, and were greeted by the helpful and warm staff led by the brilliant Sofia.

The hotel on its own is a little marvel; exceptionally well-kept, quaint, and picturesque, combining historical wealth with modern sophistication. The breakfast was top-notch every morning, with a wide array of cheeses, cold cuts, local delicacies and a combination of savory and sweet treats, with the highlight being the freshly squeezed lemonade and orange juice. But what made our stay so memorable was the excellence and competence of all the staff members, who went out of their way to make us comfortable while never being intrusive. They answered all our questions with a smile on their faces, they had great tips about where to eat and shop, and were generally a pleasure to be around. Sofia, Helen, Alex and Kostantinos, thank you for making our stay so delightful! We will definitely be back next year!

We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants an intimate retreat, a lovely staff, a wonderful location and a small heaven on earth.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This boutique hotel is set in the medieval town of Rethymno which is in the middle of Crete on the north coast. We had an executive suite which means there is a staircase up to your bedroom and the bathroom is below. In my room I found the bathroom to be small, but the rain shower was excellent. The hotel was clean and the staff very accommodating. The breakfast was simple with a few choices on the menu. The hotel is in the middle of town which makes it easy to walk the charming streets, see all the wonderful outdoor restaurants as well as all that Rethymno has to offer. We did hire a guide to take us through the mountains to the southern coast of Crete and the beautiful beaches on the Mediterranean Sea. Should not be missed. Crete is a large island and one should decide what they want to see which would determine where they should stay, especially if your time is limited.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, don't get an Executive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rimondi Boutique Hotel for seven nights in June 2014. The hotel is in the old town of Rethymno and is surrounded by a maze of narrow streets but there is no need to worry about getting lost - somehow you always find your way back.

The hotel is 530 years old and has been beautifully and sympathetically restored and designed with all modern conveniences whilst keeping its Venetian identity. It is relatively small with about 31 rooms (that’s including its newer part which is another building across the alley way. The original building has been open 21 years and the new part was added four years ago. The staff are warm and welcoming and clearly take enormous pride in their little jewel – because that’s exactly what it is. Although it is surrounded by local shops and tavernas, of which there a many, it was very quiet and peaceful and it was lovely to sit beside the pool each morning eating breakfast.

We had a deluxe room which was on two levels and was very comfortable. The bed linen and towels were replaced each day, Some people might be appalled at this as not being very green, but bearing in mind they were changing beds and cleaning rooms every day for new arrivals, why not do it for everyone.

Breakfast was continental and catered for all tastes and they operated a generous breakfast time – 8.00 am to 11.00 am.

The Rimondi is an absolute jewel and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. I would happily recommend it to anyone, you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penny54_170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in early June in a Superior Room at the Rimondi Boutique Hotel. The Rimondi Hotel (both the newer and the older buildings) are close to the center of the old city of Rethymno and provide easy walking access to all that Rethymno offers -- while, at the same time, the hotel's location is sufficiently distant from the local cafes and bars so that you are sheltered from the noise of late evening revelers.

We stayed in the older Rimondi Hotel building. On the one hand, when you enter the hotel you feel that you have made a journey in time back to Venetian Crete; on the other hand, the rooms are thoroughly modern, elegant and tasteful.

In addition to a reasonably sized bedroom (with a comfortable bed), our room had a sitting room (living room) and a small additional room, with a refrigerator. There was a relatively small, but nicely appointed bathroom. The room was clean and contained high quality and well maintained furniture -- and this was also the case everywhere else in the hotel.

Breakfast was included in our hotel rate and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

For those unfamiliar with hotels in Crete, most hotels do not have a no smoking policy or even special no smoking rooms. If you are interested in a no smoking room, which we were, you should always check in advance. At the time that we made our reservation, we were able to reserve one of the no smoking superior rooms in the old building -- and we received the room that was promised.

From our arrival at the hotel until our departure, we enjoyed the personal and friendly attitude of the hotel staff. If I understand correctly, the Rimondi Hotel is a family owned and, for the most part, a family operated hotel. It is clear that the family takes pride in what they have built and anyone staying at the Rimondi Boutique Hotel will enjoy the fruits of their hard and prideful work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have just returned from 1week break at the beautiful Rimondi ,everything was perfect the hotel ,the breakfast the staff and the central but secluded position.The staff were helpful but not intrusive.We would happily recommend it for couples especially. Not to be missed if you are looking for quality accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms are varied,we can only say ours (106) suited us very well,looking down on the plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank potato222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
572 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,830 reviews
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimondi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Boutique Hotel

Address: 21 Xanthoudidou Str., Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $97 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimondi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimondi Boutique Hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, SLH. The 15th century -newly renovated- mansion is located in the picturesque center of the Old Town of Rethymnon, Crete.Rimondi Estate house owns 32 unique rooms and suites of high aesthetics ranging from 22 to 55 sq.m. Each suite has been decorated individually combining traditional architecture, furniture of impeccable taste, antiques, modern comforts and luxuries. Rimondi boutique hotel is the perfect destination and a worthwhile get-away for demanding guests who are seeking for unique and exceptional experiences in deluxe accommodation, personal attention and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rimondi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Boutique Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing