We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully designed hotel, some shortcomings ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed hotel, some shortcomings ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

A beautiful small hotel in the old town of Rethymnon. The styling and design of what has been done to the old building is quite striking. We stayed in Room 3, a loft room with entry on the ground floor past the reception (I think rooms 1-4 are on the ground floor). The room has the bathroom and living area on the ground floor, and a staircase up to the sleeping area. The huge window faces the internal courtyard where the pool and breakfast area are located (no noise issues at all). It is all very nicely done, but our bath leaked so whenever we took a shower the bathroom floor would flood.

Where the place fell down in our opinion was the staffing. The staff themselves were extremely helpful, BUT (and just as I started to write this review I noticed someone recently wrote exactly what I am about to write) the hotel seems quite understaffed. As an example, the woman who sits at the front reception desk in the morning is also the only person taking orders and serving breakfast to all the guests in the courtyard (it is a menu based breakfast where you choose the items you want cooked). She does a valiant job, but can be forgetful and sometimes seems simply overwhelmed by all she has to do because at the same time she is responsible for checking out guests at the front desk and seeing to other inquiries. This can leave you either waiting at breakfast for a long time for your order to be taken, or waiting for sometime at the front desk if you are looking to check out. This woman spends a lot of time running between breakfast tables and the kitchen and responding to inquiries from guests, and doesn't necessarily convey the relaxed and calm feel guests might like on their holiday.

Another thing to be mindful off is the parking if you have hired a car (which I would recommend if you are traveling in crete). The hotel itself has no parking given it is set in the small alleyways of the old town. There are a number of parking options identified on the hotel website - the problem with parking is that the GPS (and you definitely need one if driving in crete, in my opinion) doesn't necessarily show all the streets that are blocked off in the old town, so you can end up quite frustrated trying to get to the parking you desire (as we did the first evening we arrived in Rethmynon). We chose a free parking area behind the Rethmynon or Old Town police station and just behind the fort (an easy 15 minutes walk to the hotel). There is another parking area closer to the hotel but you have to pay for it (about 6 or 8 Euros a day, i think). No matter hat, you will have to walk a little way from whereever your transport drops you off to get to the hotel because most streets in the old town are closed off to traffic.

Remember also that directly across the laneway is Palazo Rimondi (which is I guess the sister hotel). We made the mistake of thinking Palazo Rimondi was our hotel and walked in there when we arrived. The entrances are directly across from one another so it is an easy mistake to make.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas17gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    59
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
352
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

3 friends and I spent 4 nights at the Rimondi as a treat at the end of our holiday - and it was an excellent choice. The hotel is a newish addition is in the centre of the old district (almost exactly opposite the Palazzo Rimondi), so close to everything you need but quiet and away from traffic. When we arrived, as we were filing out the paperwork we were brought a fruit platter and a glass of wine each, which set the tone for our experience - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were lovely, and helpful with booking tours and organising taxis, as well as giving some excellent restaurant recommendations. Breakfasts in the courtyard were great and the pool was perfect for cooling off after a hot day. The rooms were well designed and full of light with high quality fittings, the result of a modern upgrade that retains the feel of the building. If you are after a boutique hotel rather than an impersonal chain or resort, this would be a top pick.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just stayed four nights in Rimondi Estate and otherwise loved the place but they could have had more personnel to work there. The ones that they had there were wonderful and super friendly but they seemed to have had a lot to do; eg our room was cleaned very late in the afternoon and there was rarely anyone at the reseption. Otherwise we adored the place. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was amazing and the location is great: close to the beach and in the old town which makes it easy to find all the good restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akstell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed her for 2 nights recently. We arrives early and the staff sat us in the beautiful courtyard and gave us breakfast. The room itself was stunning with the bed on a mezzanine level.
It is ideally located for the town and the harbour.i cannot wait to return.
A special thanks goes to Maria who was the most helpful person I have ever met.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I (30s) were looking for a nice boutique hotel, chic and cosy with a pool, located in the old town of Rethymno...The Palazzo Estate was indeed the right choice. I work for a luxury hotel in Paris and must admit that I have been amazed by the quality of the design/the service/the food and the atmosphere : lounge music near the pool, white marble in the hotel, lovely Maria and chef serving breakfast in the morning (yummy dakos!), welcome cocktail with glasses of wine, beautiful decor...and we could walk to all main attractions/boutiques and restaurants! We left after 3 nights for a new destination and we must admit it : we should have stayed longer!!
It's a very very nice hotel and beautiful city. We will come back.
Dear team, thank you for this amazing stay in Crete

Room Tip: we had a superior suite with a view over the pool, quiet and bright...loved the fact that it was dup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauralovesCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This recently open hotel has a good location since is relaively near to the beach and close to shops and restaurants. Rooms are good in size and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferruccio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed for a week at Rimondi Estate and couldn't have been happier. I honestly left with a big smile on my face. Hotel is located really central in the old town, close to sights, loads of restaurants to choose from and not too far from the port and beach. The room was extremely comfortable and all necessities were provided from loads of toiletries to ipod dock. I stayed in the Executive Suite which had a lovely loft style layout so I really didn't feel I was staying in a hotel room. Breakfast was fresh and made-to-order. Staff were all really lovely and always happy which made me feel even more relaxed. Highly recommend & would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
27.6 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimondi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Boutique Hotel

Property: Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Address: 21 Xanthoudidou Str., Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#1 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimondi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimondi Boutique Hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, SLH. The 15th century -newly renovated- mansion is located in the picturesque center of the Old Town of Rethymnon, Crete.Rimondi Estate house owns 32 unique rooms and suites of high aesthetics ranging from 22 to 55 sq.m. Each suite has been decorated individually combining traditional architecture, furniture of impeccable taste, antiques, modern comforts and luxuries. Rimondi boutique hotel is the perfect destination and a worthwhile get-away for demanding guests who are seeking for unique and exceptional experiences in deluxe accommodation, personal attention and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimondi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Boutique Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing