We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Kanakis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanakis Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed for five nights at the beautiful Kanakis Apartments and had a great time.

It is a lovely family run hotel, with delicious home cooked food, bright and airy rooms and a superb pool and private beach.

Matt and Maria, who run the hotel, cannot do enough for you and are the perfect hosts. Make sure you go to the BBQ, if you're there on a Sunday!

We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank jonboy_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Jon and Helen, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you next year. P.s Thank you for keeping me company during the BBQ. Matt and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 258 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

This family hotel is for them who would like to have a quiet rest. Super staff. Lovely hostess made for us the excellent dinner of local cuisine. The hotel have the own beach and big clean pool. We had the best holiday in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Vladimir, Anna, Elizaveta and Alexey we are glad you all had a great holiday. Your whole family are amazing. We hope you will be back to see us again next year for more fun at Kanakis Apts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything was excellent! just want to come back!!! We looked for a small hotel in a quiet and calm place near the beach.We found it - Kanakis!! It was our first visit to Crete but (thanks to Kanakis family) we are thinking of our next visit! Fantastic views, big and clean rooms, tasty food, always helpful Kanakis family (my favourite Katerina, Kanakis,Maria and Matt) made our stay wonderful! As we rented a car wehad no problems with getting here and there and (again with Maria and Matt's help) visited a lot of beautiful places!
Ask Maria for Fish taverna "Poseidon"- you'll find an excellent seafood!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are very good, but the rooms with the view of the sea -ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Elena thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed have you and your husband staying with us. We hope you will return to us and maybe with your mother and mother in law next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

It`s very nice hotel, beautiful place, very nice and kind people! We had exellent holidays there! There has everything you need. Family Kanakis show us warm hospitality. They are very kind for all, but especially for children. Every morning Katarina meet all guests with welcoming smile and very delishios homemade breakfast. Her cooking is exellent! So we looking forward to the next holidays there so much!
With thanks.
Family Khmara.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria110811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family! Sending our warm greetings to Sofia, Oleg and Andrey! See you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a true find. We wanted an apartment/hotel that could offer us fantastic views, sizeable rooms and yet close to the beach. This had it all and a whole lot more. Matt, Maria and the very special Katerina ( mother of the lovely Maria ) made our stay so enjoyable. The hospitality and attention to detail made our stay so memorable. The location is fabulous, sunsets you dream about and sparkling sea on your door step. True greek kindness and passion is what Greece is all about and this apartment/hotel did not disapoint. We have already booked for next year so thank you Matt, Maria and Katerina for making our holiday so SPECIAL!!!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review Steve, We very much enjoyed you and Toni's company. We are glad you had a good time. Good luck this season and we look forward to seeing you both next May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our second stay at Kanakis Appartments, and we spent a fabulous holiday in Crete again. The very warm welcome and the personalities of the whole Kanakis Family made us feel coming back at home. We found a rare jewel of a hotel that tops many former holiday experiences (even at five star hotels) at the most beautiful places on earth. We will keep coming back and our greatest sorrow is that this hotel will be booked a very long time in advance because we are not the only ones to notice that it is really EXEPTIONAL!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VivianeSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to host for your family again and we look forward to seeing you in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found in your apartments the ospitality of your land. Amazing the apartment and its location, that's near a wonderfoul place, Rethymnon. Kindness and passion characterises the owners of that structure. Thank you and see you the next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sergi0pers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakisApts, Manager at Kanakis Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
6.3 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
10.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
5.7 mi away
Macaris Suites & Spa
Macaris Suites & Spa
#2 of 113 in Rethymnon
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pantheon Hotel
Pantheon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
229 reviews
6.3 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
573 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanakis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanakis Apartments

Address: Petres | Petres, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range: $46 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kanakis Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KANAKIS Apts are ideally situated by the sea, conveniently located by the main road with easy access to both Rethymnon and Chania, and places between. The family-run enterprise offers a warm and heartily atmosphere of real Cretan hospitality. The site has a swimming pool with separate children's pool surrounded by sunbeds and umbrellas. You can enjoy a swim at the pool or take a long walk on the beach. Sit at the snack bar or by the balcony and enjoy your coffee or drink whilst watching the amazing sunset over the Cretan sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kanakis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanakis Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing