We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not only our home for 2 weeks, but also our...”

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
gristyuk
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not only our home for 2 weeks, but also our wedding venue ...”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

I'm a little late writing this review considering our stay was 2 years ago now, but i'm sure the surroundings and attention to detail is still just as good (if not better) than when we stayed.
We stumbled across the villa when we were looking at the Greek Islands as a wedding venue, we needed something big enough for a large group as all our family would be attending and we thought it would be convenient just to all stay together. As soon as we saw the Knossos Estate photo's we were sold, i contacted the owner (Nikos) and managed to secure our booking 12 months prior to our arrival. Whilst then looking for somewhere in Rethymnon to get married we had a brainwave, considering the size of the grounds within the villa how awesome it would be to get married right there.
I once again contacted Nikos to run our idea's over with him and he was more than happy for us to have the wedding in the grounds and also offered to provide a catering service which his staff could do for us.
We had superb contact with Nikos over the next few months arranging everything, nothing was ever too much trouble and we were able to order all our drinks for the wedding day via him and also we had a BBQ catered for our reception afterwards, excellently set up and prepared by Maria & Manos.
The villa is everything you could ask for, it exceeded our expectations and provided a safe, private environment for all our kids to play.
The knossos estate will forever be a part of our wedding day and somewhere we will never forget, we hope to come and stay in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa for a large group”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this beautiful villa for my daughter's 30th birthday celebrations. We were a family of 7 adullts, one child aged 3 and a four month old baby. The facilities were fantastic with the layout out of the villa perfect, having two seperate lounges and kitchens.
The villa was spotlessly clean and the towels and sheets were changed regularly. Lina looked after us extremely well and nothing was too much trouble.
We had a barbecue one night and a greek meal another night which was cooked by Lina and they were both amazing.
The only down side to the villa was that the pool was a bit too cold and would have been better if it had been heated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet position of the villa
Liked least: was too far to walk into the town
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yitik
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
“good value for money for large groups”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I spent a week in late September 2015 with all my family (15 people)
the villa was fantastic. all the equipment in the villa is brand new.
we ordered two breakfasts and one dinner that were prepared by LINA the housekeeper and were very tasty .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the swiming pool
Liked least: the distance to the beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa! suitable for groups or family!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this property for a week as for my holiday birthday celebration together with my two other friends. We are owed on how huge the place is. It is located in Rethymno, and if I could remember it correctly, the name of the villa is Safia. We were welcomed by Maria and the other guy who are very nice people, polite and speak English very well. They tour as around the 2 storey house which has a kitchen in each floor. There were eleven of us, some of them are couples so we have decided to occupy all the rooms. Large living rooms, it has also a toilet for those who have special needs. I could say that my part of the house is the barbecue place. We almost had barbecue everyday while we are enjoying the pool. The only thing is that the swimming pool does not have a heat device, that makes the water a little bit cold. Toilets are beautiful and ultra clean, and has a good air cooler in each rooms which you need to close the doors for it to work, which makes sense. We really had a comfortable and lovely holiday staying in this villa. And we will definitely come, this time with kids, as it is highly recommendable for families! Doctor Nikos is also very considerate and permitted us to stay until 5pm because our flight was on midnight. My friends have surprised me with a dinner prepared by the staff, Greek barbecue food which was better than the restaurant in Rethymno!. There is also a dining table just outside the house if you want to have dinner outside. So if you want them to cook for you just ask them but of course it will cost you extra. When you are there, Maria can assist you with anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the barbecue and terace
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
640mauree...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing facilities and staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our family group spent an amazing week in this beautiful villa which met the expectations of every age group. The accommodation is spacious and allows everybody their own space whilst also having adequate communal space to spend time together. The pool was a big attraction. Manos visited every day and cleaned the pool and tended the beautiful well kept gardens. The villa has beautiful views over the sea and the town of Rethymnon. It is ideally situated at the end of a quiet lane whilst being only a couple of minutes drive to the town. Maria was a 'fount of all knowledge' able to advise on places of interest, restaurants to visit and the local amenities. Nothing was too much trouble for her. The staff including Maria, Manos and those that cleaned the villa and provided the beautiful Cretan meal are all first class. The booking of the villa and the communication between the owner from the time of booking to arrival made the whole trip so easy. We would highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robd53
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa for a family holiday”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Brilliant! Brilliant! What more can I say. We travelled with three 20 month old children. Nickos made sure the cots, high chairs and milk were ready for our arrival. The Villas and their grounds are run by Maria, Lena and Manos and everything you will need is available. Lena cleans the Villas to a very high standard but will also cook you the most amazing Greek meal at her home and deliver it to you. Ask Nickos for the menu. This really is authentic Greek home cooking. We had two of the best Greek meals we have ever had. There is a bakery a short walk from the Villa and you can get delicious pastries and fresh baked bread for breakfast. The swings and slides are kept in good condition but beware the slide is made of steel and gets very hot during the day. This was the perfect family holiday experience. We thank Nikos and his team for thinking of everything and making it a holiday we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiFoz
Greenwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa / Maria a star ”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay at Knossos Estates. The Villa and facilities are top notch. Our children loved the playground equipment in the beautifully kept garden and the pool was enjoyed by the whole family.
Maria and her team are brilliant. The villa and garden are kept very clean and tidy, with bin collections every day and a full villa clean twice a week. Even the barbecue was cleaned before we woke up!
Maria will help you with everything. Whether it was providing a traditional Cretan meal in the evening (a must) or taking our sick son to the doctors, Maria is always willing to help and always has a smile on her face!
We would definitely recommend this villa to anyone planning to visit Crete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing