We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing facilities and staff”

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
640mauree...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing facilities and staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our family group spent an amazing week in this beautiful villa which met the expectations of every age group. The accommodation is spacious and allows everybody their own space whilst also having adequate communal space to spend time together. The pool was a big attraction. Manos visited every day and cleaned the pool and tended the beautiful well kept gardens. The villa has beautiful views over the sea and the town of Rethymnon. It is ideally situated at the end of a quiet lane whilst being only a couple of minutes drive to the town. Maria was a 'fount of all knowledge' able to advise on places of interest, restaurants to visit and the local amenities. Nothing was too much trouble for her. The staff including Maria, Manos and those that cleaned the villa and provided the beautiful Cretan meal are all first class. The booking of the villa and the communication between the owner from the time of booking to arrival made the whole trip so easy. We would highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robd53
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa for a family holiday”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Brilliant! Brilliant! What more can I say. We travelled with three 20 month old children. Nickos made sure the cots, high chairs and milk were ready for our arrival. The Villas and their grounds are run by Maria, Lena and Manos and everything you will need is available. Lena cleans the Villas to a very high standard but will also cook you the most amazing Greek meal at her home and deliver it to you. Ask Nickos for the menu. This really is authentic Greek home cooking. We had two of the best Greek meals we have ever had. There is a bakery a short walk from the Villa and you can get delicious pastries and fresh baked bread for breakfast. The swings and slides are kept in good condition but beware the slide is made of steel and gets very hot during the day. This was the perfect family holiday experience. We thank Nikos and his team for thinking of everything and making it a holiday we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiFoz
Greenwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa / Maria a star ”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay at Knossos Estates. The Villa and facilities are top notch. Our children loved the playground equipment in the beautifully kept garden and the pool was enjoyed by the whole family.
Maria and her team are brilliant. The villa and garden are kept very clean and tidy, with bin collections every day and a full villa clean twice a week. Even the barbecue was cleaned before we woke up!
Maria will help you with everything. Whether it was providing a traditional Cretan meal in the evening (a must) or taking our sick son to the doctors, Maria is always willing to help and always has a smile on her face!
We would definitely recommend this villa to anyone planning to visit Crete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doyleal
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My party, which was a family group incorporating four generations, were lucky enough to stay here for a week in the sunshine.
The accommodation is absolutely immaculate, and flexible enough to cater for a three year old and an eighty year old. It is effectively two one-storey villas in terms of equipment (each floor has bedrooms, bathrooms, lounge, kitchen), but it is joined as one by internal stairs. Great to give kids and adults their own space.
The exterior is absolutely superb with a wonderful pool and two dozen outdoor seats (loungers, chairs, stools) set in lush gardens.
The children's play area is the equivalent of a park playground and, along with the table tennis table, provide lots of entertainment outside, as does the BBQ area.
The team of Maria, Manos and Lena are incredibly welcoming and go out of their way to assist your every need.
It is a mere 5 minute cab ride into the vibrant town of Rethymnon which is much more than the quaint fishing village we expected. There are hundreds of shops and many, many restaurants - but it still manages to retain its charm within many nooks and crannies to find whatever youu desire.
Would undoubtedly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolTydd...
Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful ten days, wish it could have been longer.”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were met at the property by Maria, who gave us a full induction to all the house facilities over a welcome glass of raki, to enable us to settle in. She sensibly arranged to return later when we had found our bearings and would have more enquiries. She was extremely helpful throughout the holiday and responded immediately to requests to arrange trips, meals etc., as well as offering advice on local restaurants etc when we asked. Nothing was too much trouble.
The villa itself was in excellent condition, with all amenities in good working order, kitchens, laundry, wi-fi, barbecue etc. The pool was kept immaculately clean and checked daily. The pool was safe for children. The property was secure, and ample keys were provided for the doors and gate. Bed linen was changed frequently.
The villa was located high above Rethymnon, with fine views over the town and the sea. There are many excellent restaurants, catering for all tastes and culinary standards. Also, when we wanted to eat in without cooking ourselves, there were good take away services available. The villa is conveniently located close to the national highway and the roads to the mountains and inland villages. The local bakery at the end of the road was very good, and in general the area was good value.
It was a wonderful holiday, and the people we met (Leni, Deki, Manos and Maria) were courteous and friendly. The walk to the town was along a busy road, and hard going to return. However taxis were plentiful and cheap (~7euro)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa itself, friendly locals.
Liked least: Walking distance to the town.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archieq
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect family holiday”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Enoyed a two week stay from 26th July to celebrate a family members special birthday. We we're a party of 12 (10 adults 2 children ) with an age range from 5 to mid 70s. We were made to feel welcome on arrival. We arrived later than planned and were greeted by Maria and Manos who helped us settle in with Wine and Raki. Maria the Estate Manager is fab, she explained everything about the villa and the local area. Maria was more than helpful throughout our stay ranging from booking tickets to organising a birthday cake at the restaurant of our choice, it was great to have someone to call on if you needed anything. The villa is huge, beautiful and more than caters for large families. It has 7 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 2 washing machines, 2 kitchens and 2 lounge areas. The gardens surrounding the villa host a large BBQ, childrens play area, table tennis table, a lovely clean pool and ample sunbeds with parasols. The villa is extremely clean and well maintained inside and out. I would like to praise the cleaner and Manos for this, as their work is outstanding. The views from the garden over looking Reythiminon are lovely from morning till night. We hired cars arranged via the estate and were greeted at the airport and then followed a lead car to the villa (this again happened again on the return journey to the airport) we found this very helpful. We would recommend hiring a car as Crete is a beautiful island to see and the nearby town of Reythiminon is only a 5 minute drive away. Once you reach the town it's full of buzz and has so much to offer. The shopping, bars and restaurants are endless. I would personally recommend the restaurants at Aquilla quilla (restaurant adjacent to the 4 star hotel) and Alana (which was a restaurant recommended by Maria) both serving fab food and delivering great service. You will not be disappointed with the villa or with the beautiful island of Crete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob B
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Greek hospitality”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This villa provides the best of both worlds with the service and attention to detail that you would expect from a hotel with the privacy and freedom of your own villa.

We were a party of 14 including a baby and 2 young children staying at the villa for 10 days. As with other reviews the service we experienced was second to none. During the booking procedure all queries were answered personally and promptly putting our minds a rest that this was a professionally run villa.

Arrival was friendly and informative with several members of the villa team present to put names to faces. All of the members of staff were polite, friendly and always on hand to assist with anything we required. Of special note has to be Maria who arrives on a daily basis to make sure you have everything you need. Nothing was too much trouble including her fantastic effort to return some lost baggage. We simply gave her the details we had from the airport and she did the rest, keeping us informed of updates as the luggage made it's way back to us via Algiers and London!! We have stayed as a family at several properties over the years and Maria is one of the reasons this one stands out.

The Villa is exactly as it seems on the photos and is very well thought out. There are 2 identical villas on the site but they are laid out in such a way that you have complete privacy. Another stand out point for Knossos are the standards of cleaning. The staff are extremely thorough and friendly and it was great to have changes of linen and a complete clean through every few days. Everything worked as it should and on the odd occasion something went wrong it was rectified immediately. The villa offers a chef service for an extremely reasonable amount (19 euros per adult) for 3 courses. We took advantage of this on first and last nights and the food was fantastic.

In terms of location the villa is set with stunning views of the town and extended coastline in both directions. We found that walking to the town was impractical for us but that could be due to the children being with us and the great weather. There is a good bakery a short walk away but we found having hire cars was invaluable for runs to the bigger shops, town and exploring the wider island.

In summary this is a very good quality villa that exceeded all of our expectations. Central to this is the team who all worked tirelessly to ensure our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Well done Knossos Estates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: Genuinely nothing we could come up with
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing