We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday to have with multiple families!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Amanda S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holiday to have with multiple families!”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 5 families, all with young children (7 altogether between 6 months and 3.5 years old). None of us have really been on holiday with children before and not with such a large group (10 adults and 7 children). From the moment we chose Knossos Estate and emailed Nikos we knew that we had made the right decision.

Before the holiday came - Nikos went out of his way to ensure that we had everything we needed at the villa, cots, bedding, high chairs and so forth and he was so happy to answer as many questions that i had in the run up (which was a lot).

We arrived late at night and one of the employees of Knossos - Maria - was there to meet us at gone 1 AM. They were so friendly and helpful and helped us sort the rooms out.

The villa was PERFECT. It was very spacious, nice decor and layout. Everything that you could want. We woke up to see a beautiful panoramic sea view which was such a surprise. So many different places to eat within the villa - BBQ area, veranda, pagoda etc. They also brought baby walkers for the 2 smallest children, so we could swim in the pool while the babies looked on safely in the shade.

The pool is fantastic as was the children's play area - with something for every age child. The house had a cleaner every other day as well as an attendant to outside every morning. So we were able to keep on top of the washing up and cleaning with so many of us - it was a wonderful help and surprise to have that level of service.

Maria was wonderful and super friendly - she helped arrange trips, restaurants and was on hand for any advice and questions. One of the children was sick during our stay and Maria helped to take them to see Nikos' wife who is also a doctor - and the had the best care. We truly felt like we were in a luxury villa - the level of service and care was so good.

It was a truly fantastic holiday and we really want to go back next year as the villa and Nikos offered everything that you could possibly want.

We highly recommend booking with Nikos. AMAZING. Thank you so much for making us have the most memorable holiday. Top marks - no one could better this holiday experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large pool, children's play area, the view
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ΚΛΑΙΡΗ Α
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation at knossos Estates!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my friends, we had the pleasant expeirience to stay at Knossos estates this summer!!! we really enjoyed the large and luxurius facilities and of course the comfortable rooms and the big pool!!! Additionally, from the garden we had a breathtaking view of the sea, the town of Rethymno, which was actually close to the facilities by car, and the impressive Rethymno' s canyon!!! And the most important for me was the really polite owner who, along with the staff, helped us willingly with whatever we needed!!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bry1254
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vacation stay for large family”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Knossos Estates Villa and would like to thank Maria, Manos and Theona for their friendly, professional and very helpful service.

Before we arrived the owner was very helpful and prompt in returning emails answering questions about the property. The car hire recommendation was excellent and we were met at the airport and escorted to the property as promised. As there were three parties arriving at different times at different airports this was no mean feat!

The villa lived up to our expectations in every way and was ideal for our family vacation of 15 people. There was plenty of space for all, the rooms were all a good size and well appointed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the air conditioning worked beautifully.

We very much appreciated the many small things that were provided (powder for the washing machines, olive oil, breakfast foods, bbq coals, pool toys/games) all which made our stay easier and hassle free. The beautiful pool, ocean view, balcony and landscaped grounds were probably our favourite things about the Villa. The ping pong table was also a big hit with the children.

As the Villa is about a ten minute drive from Rethymnon you really do need a car to get about, go to the Supermarket etc. However, the upside of having a car is that you can explore the town and nearby beaches which are really beautiful and far less busy than the ones in Rethymnon.

We will never forget our holiday and we would definitely stay at Knossos Estate Villas again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, ocean view, landscaped gardens
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMB362
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, child friendly holiday in a beautiful villa”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Knossos estate in June as a group of three families with young children. The villa is fantastically maintained and Maria and Manos couldn't have been more helpful. The children (3-6years) loved the gardens, the small playground (very handily situated so that parents can watch from the terrace) and the pools - both the large pool and the smaller toddler pool which allowed them to play more independently. The weather was fantastic and we made full use of the barbecue and various outdoor seating options for dinner. One evening Maria arranged for a catered meal for us for a birthday celebration - the food was amazing and the cake was delicious!!! Rethymnon was a great resort - plenty of shop and restaurant options and we all loved the frozen yoghurt bar. We took a ride on the pirate boat (take your swimsuits as you can swim from the boat) and enjoyed looking round the fort. A truly fantastic holiday, and we didn't want to come home!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGgggg
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such an amazing villa and an amazing place With the service to match”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment of booking, the team were excellent. Answering all the queries quickly. They also recommended car hire firms.

The car hire was the best service that everyone in our group has ever received. We were met at the arrivals and within a few minutes we were in our cars and driving away. The car hire guy, John even escorted us all the way to our villa which was above and beyond the call of duty.

Once at the villa, we were greeted by Maria and manos for a brief introduction and tour of the villa. Such a friendly and professional greeting.

Before we arrived the team very kindly to get a few essentials in the house (food) in case our flight was delayed and we paid for the food on arrival.

The villa itself, was everything you would expect of a luxury. The villa was beautiful inside with everything you would need. Towels (beach and bath) were all included.

The pool was beautiful and even the children pool was used so much each day.

The views from the villa on the side of the gorge overlooking the beautiful town of rethymno was spectacular. The town of rethymno was such a great place to head to as there is so much to see and do. We would have the morning in the villa and the afternoon by the beach. The water at both was very warm and comfortable. The facilities by the beach was great. We would highly recommend the jet ski and the banana boat as well as the pirate ship.

The villa was just amazing, the location incredible and the people just about the friendliest you could hope to meet.

The owner of the villa has been so successful in developing the complete package.

We could not recommend this villa and location enough. Treat yourself to some luxury, you won't regret it.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oilyrag
Winchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 star Villa, Service and Location with Plenty of Space and great views”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

WOW! I can't stress enough how much we all enjoyed our time at this villa; my only regret is we didn't book it for two weeks.
We arrived after a delayed flight at nearly midnight and were greeted by Maria & Manos the managers of the two adjacent Estate houses, and they stayed to give us run through of the facilities. The first impression was of the huge swimming pool and grounds all lit up and looking very chic. The other noticeable feature was the view from the grounds of the twinkling lights of Rethymno and the harbour below.
You enter the ground floor into a very large reception room and kitchen. The kitchen is fitted with all the required facilities (except a Teapot) including an electric filtered water cooler and heater. There is a large extendible glass dinning table in front of the double patio doors. The sitting area easily accommodates all the guests on the three settees etc. around the satellite TV.
There are four bedrooms on the ground floor and two bathrooms. Go up the stairs and the whole arrangement of bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and lounge is replicated, and has a lovely balcony overlooking the whole area with superb views.
Everything is of a very good standard and nothing is too much trouble for Maria or Manos. Every 2 days the cleaning lady appears and changes all the towels and sheets. Every Day Manos cleans and tidies the grounds, pool and the BBQ.
Maria offers to cook for you in the evening if you so wish. We didn't use her services as we had other arrangements planned, but she did arrange to get our first shopping ready and waiting for our arrival.
Maria & Manos- You are stars, Thank You!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet together with plenty of space
Liked least: Slightly too far to walk to Rethymno and back, but the taxis were cheap
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars L
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious villa and fine service”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were 13 people going to Crete to celebrate a birthday, and this villa definitely fulfilled all our needs. Seven bedrooms, two fully equipped kitchens, professional and caring staff (thanks to Maria and Manos), large pool. The owner was also very helpful when it cam to recommending restaurants and other tips. You do need cars or use taxis though; quite a long walking distance to town. We would really like to recommend Villa Knossos for a holiday on Crete. And the price was low (at least in April): 1 500 Euros for 13 people is quite a bargain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing