We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa-Gonia

Villa Gonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Gonia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa Gonia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Familieva...
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Gonia. During our visit in this not only beautiful but fully equipped house we found the ultimate holiday feeling. An extra plus is the great hospitality of Nicos and Marianna. Both people know what ingredients you need for a super stay. We could even order food from there restaurant and it was served to the villa. We enjoyed a honest meal of great quality on our own terrace! Also the cleaning was above expectations every detail was in place. Handy is also the little supermarket within a 2 minute walk from the villa. I could tell more but it is better to make a booking :-)

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pool and house for young children”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We chose the house because we wanted to have the pool close to the rest of the house. The children could jump in and out all day with us being able to be close enough to supervise, and also able to sit in or out of the sun, in or out of the house. We have rented many houses and this one was by far the best for this. There were several eating places we could choose based on where the sun was, and they were also near the pool. The house is lovely, beautiful to look at and beautiful inside. The decor is tasteful and we liked its simplicity.
Marianna and Nikos were very welcoming and helpful, and we had some lovely meals at the taverna. Having this and a small supermarket within easy walking distance made early mornings and evenings very relaxing. For a proper grocers you need to go down to the big crossroad at Atsipopoulos where there is a Lidl, with an excellent fruit and veg shop next door.
The only downside was the noise of dogs barking all night. The bedrooms are quite cool enough if the windows are kept open (the insect nets work very well), but this means that the noise is inescapable.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Noise
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellmar, Hessen, Germany
Reviewed December 25, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of owner family
Liked least: missing air condition :-( but it was ok
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
traveldel...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxury villa”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We spent 10 days in this lovely villa which is conveniently located to Rethymno (10 minute drive), and its in the middle of Crete so not too far to travel places. The beaches on the north and south coast are really nice. Particularly Bali beach which is only about 20 minutes.
Marianna was delightfully accommodating in getting a cot, highchair and other useful bits for our baby (at no additional cost) and everything of an exceptionally high standard. She even arranged for a barbeque for us.
The shutters and doors shut out any light and noise which made for very peaceful sleeping at night, although children can get a bit noisy inside the house!
It was a really amazing stay and would recommend this to any type of visitor!

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern appeal
Liked least: Barking dogs at night
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2012
Dear Nikki,
Thank you for all and we hope to see you again.
Friendly,
Marianna+Nikos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed October 10, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern villa, very clean & hospitality
Liked least: Noises during the night
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind words.Maybe we see you again.
Friendly, Nikos+Marianna+Petros+Mery
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LondonEur...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feel at home in a superb property away from the crowds in beautiful Crete”
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the modern design of the house, which is like something that would be featured in Architectural Digest. Superb quality construction and luxurious furnishings, including COCO-MAT linens and furniture. Fully equipped with large and small appliances. Great natural and artificial lighting. Impeccably clean inside and out. The owners live in a nearby village and they also own a restaurant (the "Taverna Androulidakis") which is a 5-minute walk from the villa. They are a local family who work hard cultivating their own fresh produce and livestock to supply the restaurant. They made us feel perfectly at home both in the villa and on Crete. The linens were changed and the villa was cleaned every three days (we stayed for 11 nights). The pool water was sampled daily for testing. The villa is located in a tiny village about a 15-minute drive up the hills from Rethymno. To stock the kitchen there are several options within a 10-minute drive: supermarkets, grocery stores, bakeries, butchers, etc. Meanwhile, the Taverna Androulidakis, which has been there since 1911, serves exquisite Cretan food, with a broad variety of items on their menu including something for all tastes. We dined there several times and were always extremely happy with the quality of the ingredients, the perfect cooking, the friendly service and the reasonable prices. We generally alternated one day just relaxing at the villa and the next day on an excursion (historic sites, beaches, etc.) elsewhere on the island. All in all the trip was unforgettable, in large part thanks to the quality of the villa and the friendliness of the owners.

Date of stay: July 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Architectural design, furnishings & friendliness of owners
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2011
Thank you very much for all, you are great family.
We hope to see you again.
Friendly, Marianna+Nikos+Petros+Mery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPPS
perpig
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFULL”
Reviewed July 31, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

beautifull house, in a beautifull place, with wonderfull people. The hospitality was incredible. thank you very much marianna and all your family, we've got a wonderfull staying. And your food at your taverna was so good and typical. Merci beaucoup.
Karine Pascal Clément.

Date of stay: July 2011
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2011
Dear friends, thank you. You are great people and great customers. Many kisses to your family. I am sure that i will see you again.
Friendly,
Marianna+Nikos+Petros+Mery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing