We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully recommended!!!”
Review of Afroditi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Afroditi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fully recommended!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week! We had a very nice and clean apartment, with all facilities: washing machine, kitchen, air-condition, hair dryer. The apartment has been cleaned every 2 days and even the towels and the bedding was changed every 2 days! The owner Yannis is a very friendly and hospitable person, as a welcome he left some fresh fruit in the fridge and a couple of bottles of wine, he also gave us some little gifts which we really appreciate, he also dropp us off to the bus station when we left!
I fully recommend Afroditi Hotel for your stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Believe the reviews - this hotel is one of the best value, clean, well-furbished and centrally located places I have stayed in. Myself and my partner stayed here for 5 nights at the start of August and were greeted with hospitality and kindness from the outset. Yanis, the owner, brought us wine, fruit and bottled water and even met us at 7.30am with a smile on his face - nothing was too much trouble for him and his lovely wife. The hotel is located in the charming old quarter of Rethymno - conveniently located so that it is a stone's throw to not just the shops and restaurants in the area, but also the beach! Inside (a former French embassy building), the hotel and rooms are decorated beautifully and in a way that shows the owner is not willing to scrimp on money for the sake of quality. The little touches were all there, down to a beautifully decorated bed and other sophisticated furnishings. The hotel and room were immaculately clean and our room was cleaned (and tidied!) every day, with bins emptied etc. Although there is no breakfast facility, we really didn't miss this. In fact, I read that Cretans are not big on breakfast and most places would only serve something continental anyway. We much preferred using the facilities in the apartment to prepare something or go to one of the many cafes nearby for breakfast or restaurants for a leisurely lunch! All in all, we had an absolutely excellent stay at Afroditi and still cannot believe the quality of this hotel for the price! We were welcomed by Yanis and his wife like friends and nothing was too much trouble - hire cars, taxis, information about the area - Yanis even gave us a lift to the bus station due to the taxis being on strike for a few days! I whole-heartedly recommend this hotel - it topped off our stay in the beautiful Rethymno!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenkiSaraChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for a few days at Afroditi in July and enjoyed it very much. The location of Afroditi is excellent on a quiet street in the old town, just a few blocks from the noisy restaurant area and a short walk to the beach in the other direction. The hotel room was more like an apartment with a separate bedroom and a large living room with a kitchenette. There were several water bottles in the fridge and also a complimentary fruit basket. It was a clean and nice hotel, although the beds were a bit too hard for us. The wifi connection in the room worked well.
The host Yannis showed great hospitality and asked us every day if everything was alright or if we needed any help with anything. We asked him about rental cars and he kindly offered to call a few rental car companies to check prices and availability and to book a rental car for us. We were given complimentary wine when we arrived and a few more presents when we left. He also offered to drive us in his private car to the bus station when leaving, which we happily accepted. Great service!
The only thing we did not like so much was that the beds were too hard for us, but that seems to be the case at all hotels in Crete.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

It is a really clean modern hotel in the heart of retymno. The owner helped us with everything, offered us a bottle of nice wine and even gave a present while we were leaving. I never saw such a thing. Price was cheap for such a nice place. Pick this hotel without thinking.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenkoloji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Crete
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

A hidden gem in the heart of Rethymnon. Once we found it my family fell in love with it. The place has been renovated and decorated very tastefully. The owners are delightful people who genuinely enjoy offering traditional hospitality. Our room was very comfortable and very clean.
Our only problem, due to time constraints, we could only stay one night in Rethymnon, which is not enough to soak the atmosphere the beautiful town has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamofAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

While on leave from duty in Afghanistan, I stayed at the Afroditi along with my wife. We were there for 16 days and it was absolutely wonderful! Our room was spacious, nicely appointed and very clean and well-kept. The kitchenette was well-equipped, and Yannis, the hotel owner and impeccable host, kept us well-stocked with complimentary wine and raki. The internet was super-fast and reliable, and there was no extra charge. At the Afroditi, we didn't feel as though we were staying in a hotel - we felt like visiting family staying in guest suite. The Afroditi's location is extremely convenient. In just a few minutes, we could reach the harbor, the shopping district, the restaurants, the beaches, the pubs....everything you may need is right there! I highly recommend Yannis and his Afroditi Hotel. Whether staying for one night or one month, you will not be disappointed.

Sam and Stephanie

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sambankester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel is a hidden gem. It's about 10 - 15 minutes walk to the bus station, venetian fortress and the beach. (All in different parts of town, mind you)

Yannis was an amazing host. Extremely hospitable and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. (He even gave us lifts to the bus station whenever he had the time to!) He's extremely well-versed and knowledgeable and ever so willing to give tips about the area as well as other places in Crete.

We booked a 3 person apartment and got a maisonette. Everything was thoughtfully placed and immaculately clean. We had a hidden washing machine, hidden fridge, hidden foldaway ironing board, TV and electric stove. A/C was included at no extra cost.

There was also a balcony overlooking the street that was high up enough that we could hang out there without being noticed.

Yannis even provided us with 4-5 bottles of mineral water on the house (even offered us wine but we don't really drink) and fresh towels on the 3rd day - we stayed for 4 days. Even though we didn't really need them.

The place looks amazing and is a steal. For the price that we paid for, simply amazing and extremely comfortable. So much so that I regretted leaving it the moment I reached my next destination.

It is hands down the most comfortable place to be at. If ever I do go to Rethymnon again, this'd be my first (if not only) choice to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElusiveLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#15 of 165 in Rethymnon
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroditi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroditi Hotel

Property: Afroditi Hotel
Address: 5 Daskalogianni, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Afroditi Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Afroditi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroditi Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing