We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
475
244
54
21
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
244
54
21
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open plan bathroom holiday concierge old town lovely hotel wellness centre free sunbeds on the beach euro deposit aqua aerobics sister hotel private pool star hotel every evening beach road town centre hotel guests side sea view bed and breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 797 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Just on our last night at the Aegean Pearl and we are going to miss it.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and was greeted with a fresh glass of orange and a warm towel to refresh us after our long journey, we were signed in quickly and efficiently then were shown to our room which was beautifully designed and had 2 balconies both of which had sea views due to us arriving late they brought us a fresh meal to our room which was lovely there was wine, water and fruit also provided.
The room is a nice size with 2 balconies double bed, dresser, a easy chair in the corner, fridge, plenty of storage and wardrobe space for clothing and of course air conditioning which is needed.
The food is of a good standard and the staff are very friendly and always willing to help a special mention to Sophia in the snack bar and the trainee girl who came around the pool every day always with beautiful smiles even when working so hard, the pool is a little on the small side but there is loads of free sun-beds on the beach and whilst we were there had no trouble getting a sun bed at all, the hotel has a gym indoor pool and sauna along with massage , manicures etc.
The stand out thing about the Hotel is the staff who have been fantastic and a credit to the hotel, keep up the standards and thank you for making our holiday special,
Love Paula and Dennis (Room 922)

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank dennisholland69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Paula and Dennis,
Thanks a lot for this excellent review and sharing your opinion with other travelers!
It is always very motivating to read that our efforts are highly appreciated!
All the best for you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our SENTIDO Aegean Pearl hotel.
Sunny greetings from the beautiful island Crete!
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

We are just back from a two week stay at the Aegean Pearl. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are friendly. Very very clean and the maids provide an outstanding service.
The beds were comfy and and all the little extras like dressing gowns and slippers were a nice touch.
We were bed and breakfast only and the food was reasonable enough. Always something yummy enough to eat.
The food served in the pool bar was delish. Large portions and very reasonably priced.
My only gripe with this hotel is that we stayed here while I was getting married. My dress was hung up in my mother in laws room for 5 days prior to the wedding. Which was complimented by the maids. And laid out on my daughters bed for two days after the wedding. Our wedding cards were displayed in the room. And reception staff took pictures of me in my dress when leaving to attend my wedding, yet not a single complimentary gift was offered for the duration of our stay (a further 9 days). This was extremely disappointing. The lack of providing a small gesture really kinda niggled at me for the money that was paid out to stay at the hotel in the first place. I found this very disappointing indeed. Not the Cretan hospitality I am used to.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Annemarie-Simon-Mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Kalimera!
Thank you very much for your comment and the time you spent for writing down your experiences made during your stay in our SENTIDO Aegean Pearl hotel.
We are happy to hear that you were very impressed about the cleanliness everywhere, the excellent food and most of all about our outstanding service.
If we get informed by the clients itself or through the agency, we offer for newlyweds a special honeymoon package: room decoration, a bottle of champagne with a fruit basket, one breakfast in bed served and a free sauna or hammam visit. This service is also mentioned in our brochures.
In your case now we did not have any information, neither from your side nor from your agency. Sorry!
Kind regards
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

A very nice hotel only let down slightly by its distance from the centre of Rethymnon - although with a Taxi rate of just 5 euros it wasn't a big problem. Service was excellent and they went out of their way to cater for my young adults dairy intolerances - even cooking special meals. Good entertainment program including a couple of free tours but some of the music should be updated. Other than that everything you expect from a 5 star hotel

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nottingham_Born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello from Crete,
thank you very much for this excellent review on Tripadvisor and that you honor us with the highest score possible!
It means a lot to us that you appreciated all our efforts we make to please our clients as much as we can.
In case you come back to Crete you are always welcome!
Sunny greetings from the beautiful island of Crete.
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

We just stayed here for 1 week,and this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.Comfortable beds,good food and so nice and helpfull staff.It's the small things that makes this hotel unique.
Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Yaneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear Yaneth,
thanks a lot for this excellent review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed very much your stay in our SENTIDO Aegean Pearl hotel and we even exceeded your expectations!!
Hopefully we have the pleasure of meeting you again in the future!

Sunny greetings from beautiful Crete!
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

This is a very modern and well kept five star hotel at the far end of the main beachfront road of Rethymno next to its 4 star sister hotel the Pearl. Just across the road and down some steps or a ramp is the beach. There are sun beds set aside exclusively for hotel guests at no extra charge. Towels are available from reception for a 10 Euro deposit and can be swapped on Saturdays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.

The main town of Rethymno is about 2km away which is about a thirty minute stroll along the promenade or a quick taxi ride for 5 Euro. Taxis park up in an area to the right of the hotel where the main road ends. The road actually turns up toward a parallel back road and there are a handful of tavernas up there. There’s also a few bakeries and large supermarkets on that back road.

The hotel has a gym (in the sister hotel along with a wellness centre) a bar, a restaurant, two pools and everything you’d expect from a five star hotel including guests of various nationalities with various levels of politeness. The staff on the other hand are always pleasant and ever helpful. On arriving we were welcomed with a couple of orange juices and time to relax before being shown our room.

We paid extra to be in 822, a room with a ‘side sea view’ (odd number for a room on the floor above ground floor in a three storey building but there you are). It actually had a sea view and was directly above the jewellery shop. So obviously what I describe here may different in other rooms.

There was a small awkward to open but quiet fridge inside a bedside cabinet which also housed the kettle and a small supply of teabags, coffee and sugar. These were sporadically restocked during our stay.

When we arrived the fridge had two free bottles of water in it and there’s plenty of supermarkets within close walking distance to restock. There was no workable freezer section to the fridge so if need ice cubes you’ll need to ask the bar.

There was a suitcase trestle across one of the doors to a smaller side balcony. So technically we also had the side sea view as advertised (not that we needed it). A chair and desk in the corner alongside the door to the main balcony with a sea view and view of the pool and hotel restaurant. There was a mirror on the desk and a flat screen TV above the desk. We never used it or the little hi-fi in the room so can’t comment on the picture quality. The sunsets are beautiful though!

The bed consisted of two single beds pushed together with a comfortable mattress topper on it and a choice of pillows and a padded headboard. Noise from other rooms, apart from scraping patio furniture, was minimal.

There was a small round table with a complimentary small bottle of wine and selection of fruit on it when we arrived. Next to that a comfy armchair. On other side of bed a chest of drawers and the air con controls - air con as you’d expect for five stars was included in the price. Plenty of confusing light switches and little obvious storage - we eventually found just enough workable storage for two people for two weeks. There’s a set of wardrobes opposite the bathroom area but little hanging space. Plenty of little shelves and drawers though. Also an easy to use digital safe.

The bathroom area is open to the rest of the room but with smoked glass doors on the toilet and shower. The shower was very good with lots of options and ventilation very good. A couple of edge-lit mirrors above the wide sink but not really enough room for two people to wash up together shoulder to shoulder. There was a set of electronic bathroom scales and a hairdryer in the bathroom plus complementary soap and whatnot.

Breakfast has all sorts of goodies on offer and good service. The hotel was mostly full of German tourists and the book collection downstairs reflected that. However I may have persuaded one of the reps to try and get some more English language books from elsewhere.

Rethymno town is where there’s a lot more happening in terms of nightlife. However if you want to relax within easy walking distance of the hotel there’s plenty of tavernas and bars along the road.

Not that a lot of people seem to want to venture any further than the hotel it seems. I guess a lot of guests stay all-inclusive. There is entertainment every evening for them and the bar stays open late. There are also morning activities such as yoga and aqua aerobics.The food at the hotel beach cafe is nice and competitively priced and there is service on the beach.

A word of caution is that if you are the type of person to want to get to bed early and your room overlooks the bar area then you’re going to need earplugs or a lot of raki to get off. It can get noisy.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couchmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Kalimera from Crete!
We thank you very much for this detailed and excellent review of our SENTIDO Aegean Pearl hotel!
It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful relaxing time from the first until the last minute. In case you plan another holiday on this beautiful island you are more than welcome!
All the best

Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews