We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pearl!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Sentido Aegean Pearl.From the moment we booked in to our departure we can honestly say the staff in every department were outstanding,efficient ,friendly and gave the impression of wanting you to enjoy your stay.We had a lovely room overlooking the sea and everything in the room worked well.We appreciated the added facilities of a DVD,tea making facilities and a music centre.I'm not sure about others comments about the star system but I do know we had absolute value for money.The food was varied and well presented.Drinks in the hotel were reasonable for a hotel of this status but we visited a local Taverna,Mio Gusto,on a couple of occasions for lunch which I would recommend,its about 4 doors down and it was good to get away from the Hotel to do this.The hotel is very well situated and we enjoyed being able to use the beach and the pool,both were very well kept and we enjoyed walking the 35 minutes into Rethymnon daily to browse and to look around the town.Taxis were used on a daily basis to return and we were always charged 5 euros with noone taking advantage.It was very refreshing to have this experience.I would definately not hesitate to book this hotel if I were to return to Rethymnon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANICE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 706 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday, (our honeymoon 1st -8th October) on a half board basis, at The Sentido Aegean Pearl hotel. We arranged the holiday through Jet2 Holidays.
We were a little disappointed with our room, (738), as the only view was a conifer hedge, but it was sheltered, which given the windy days we experienced, during our stay, was a blessing. The room overlooked a car park but the hedge did hide it well.
The room itself was big enough for the two of us and there was plenty of wardrobe space.
There was a bottle of wine and fruit in our room on arrival which was a nice touch.
We did have to switch the electricity off every night otherwise we would have been kept awake by table lamps. This was Ok as long as you made sure that you didn't leave anything lying on the floor, as it was very dark once the lights went out. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed we have slept in but I guess they can't please everyone.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and the cleaning team were friendly.
We didn't use the swimming pools but they appeared to be well maintained.
We thought that the food available in the restaurant was very good, although we would have liked to have seen a greater selection of hot vegetables, but, overall we thought the variety of food offered each evening was good. There was something for everyone. Breakfast was also very good and again there was a good variety of food offerings.
The restaurant staff were excellent, especially Zabia who was always ready to assist if necessary. The Restaurant Manager also did an excellent job.
Not sure if we would stay here again but we were impressed with the staff who were friendly but professional. Each member of the Hotel team always had a smile on their face and did all they could to make sure that your holiday was enjoyable. In terms of Customer Service I would mark the team overall as 9 and 1/2 out of 10.
This Hotel is marketed as a '5' star but we thought that it was a 3-4 star based on our experiences in other parts of Greece.
There were plenty of cafes, restaurants in the vicinity and it is about a 30 - 40 minute walk, on a promenade, which runs alongside the beach, into Rethymnon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Basic summary.

Did we enjoy it? Yes
Would we recommend it? Yes
Would we return? Yes but only if guaranteed a better room.
Location good and about 3 kilometres from Rethymon along a pleasant promenade.

This is a 5 star hotel with its 4 star sister next door. This is confusing as it is difficult to tell which is which. Our view not too good. The blank wall is rather better than that of the Rubicon Palace in Lanzarote which overlooked a rubbish skip and car park in 2011. Roof extractor fans drone on permanently.

Extremely helpful, friendly staff. Without them I would be dubious of giving the hotel 4 stars.

Food very good: both in choice and preparation. Staff were excellent, especially Maria who worked tirelessly to replenish the food, replace dishes and generally never stopped nor it seemed even had a day off.

Basically this is a city hotel without much garden unless you wander over to the sister hotel where there appear to be small courtyards with hanging bougainvillea and beautifully kept gardens and walkways. See photos. Another 2 pools tucked away but not sure which belongs to which hotel and which were private. Not a great deal of space to lounge around in unless you compete for the small pool area, or tightly packed spaces on the beach. If you prefer a less crowded area a short stroll east along the beach is better. The exercise area on floor 1 would be ideal for sunbathers. Not sure what else it is used for other than morning aerobics.
The lounge area was spacious and well designed..

Worth going on the free guided walk to the monastery and Church but make sure you can handle the terrain and the heat. We really enjoyed it and it was very informative. The free walk around town in the evening was also excellent.

All in all I would recommend this hotel if for no other reason than the staff but still unsure of the star rating

The niggles:

View from the room awful.

The room was never ready before 2.30 in spite of hanging a sign on the door at 10.30 At its worst it was 3.30. One day the trolley was there poised to leap into action at 10.00 but this was on our last day.

Nice idea free WiFi. But better if available in room. After a week I found WiFi reached the end of corridor outside the room which saved me the trek downstairs.

Choose a room carefully to get the sun or avoid it. Without a hotel map you are at the whim of management. Our room 912 faced west and looked directly at a wall. Not sure what to suggest as there certainly seem to be much better areas than ours. Some rooms seem to be set amongst plants or overlook private pools which look good. But which hotel do they belong to? 4* or 5*?

Wine can not be kept for 2 meals. Not really a problem as we forced ourselves to finish. But previous hotels permitted this which is handy if you do not want to finish the bottle.

An open plan room plus bathroom seemed a good idea at first but wonder if the designer actually tried it out.
Lots of apparently good ideas that did not always work too well:
Light in bathroom section lights up the rest of the room. Not a major problem but as the bathroom fan also comes on it could wake light sleepers. And although the TV audio plays in the toilet you can not hear it due to the noisy fan.
Toilet seat has a nice slow closure system which prevents it dropping with a clang. A small rubber stop on the wall would prevent it banging when opened
The lowlights around the bed side cabinets seem to be on permanently. Great if you have children afraid of the dark but otherwise a distraction at night.

But I guess nothing is perfect.

Hope you have a good holiday. We did.

Room Tip: Check where the room is carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annoyed_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited Sentido Aegean Pearl for 1 week on 3rd September 2013. There was 6 adults and 2 children in our party. This is the first time we have stayed in this hotel. For the past 9 years we have stayed next door in the sister hotel Pearl Beach which is also an excellent hotel.

This year we decided to book the Aegean Pearl.

The rooms were beautiful, the staff were very conscientious and helpful and the food was delightful.

The hotel itself is ideal for adults and couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

There are a good selection of Taverna's/bars nearby.

We often walked into Rethymon Town which took approx 25-30mins to walk, or 5mins by taxi (taxi rank located outside the hotel). The hotel and area is ideal for people with walking disabilities or require the use of a wheelchair.

The beach is right across the road from the hotel. The beach itself is well kept and never a shortage of sunbeds.

I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Because we love coming to Crete we have booked again for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josiesam1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited the aegean pearl at the end of August . When we arrived at 1am we where told by the night porter they didn't have 2 rooms available for us even through we booked way back in January. We were offered 2 rooms in the pearl beach but we didn't pay for after a bit of discussion we got one room to share for the night. The next day we got other second room and were given vouchers for as an apology which was a good gesture. The rooms in the hotel were a good side and cleaned daily. All staff in the hotel were helpful but a special mention goes to uli as she went out of her way to help you. Overall a good hotel and the location isn't to bad but as previous reviews have said the restaurants nearby are pretty samey.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the right side of the hotel for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frasiebhoy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A wonderful Holiday. Cant understand the negative reviews.
Staff exceptional. Rooms comfortable and very clean,as was the whole hotel. Wide selection of food for both Breakfast and Dinner. Never any problem getting sunbeds. Our party ranged from 21years of age to 80. We all had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best vacation ever! We stayed in a room with private pool and it was excellent. The staff is friendly, the room was clean and had beds soft enough. The food was delicious!!!! The wellnes center was closed, never found out why!?!?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 175 in Rethymnon
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,224 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Aegean Pearl

Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $120 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is located on the Greek island Crete and is ideal for beach lovers who want to relax at the beach. The hotel is in the city Tethymnon on the island Crete. Next to the hotel there are many different shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. The beach promenade directly by the hotel, and is ideal for walks. You have got the possibility to take your breakfast at the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Aegean Pearl where a buffet is prepared to each meal. Moreover, you can enjoy your lunch at the snack bar which is directly next to the pool. In the evening you have got the possibility to choose between the buffet or the A la Carte-Restaurant. At the bar you can enjoy the sunset with a tasty drink. Many different watersport activities were offered next to the beach. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is in cooperation with the diving school where you can schedule diving lessons. Furthremore, in the evening the hotel offers entertainment shows. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl offers 4 different types of rooms: Comfort double rooms; Double rooms with private pool; Family suites; Suites with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing