We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday for all ages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday for all ages”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The sentido Aegean pearl is a great place to stay for a holiday! We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. There's a beach opposite the hotel which proved a hit with our family but if you prefer a pool there's one in the hotel which is great! The bar served food most of the day which is a nice touch seeing as sometimes you just want a relaxing day by the pool. There's a great restaurant down the road from the hotel which we went to multiple times which I believe is called ibis? Not entirely sure though. The reason why I'm giving it 3 stars and not 5 is because the dinner in the hotel was not 5 star, it was like what your grandma would cook! And the carbonara was far from satisfactory. Also, selfish guests get up at 7am to put towels on the sun beds that they want and don't take them off for the whole day even when they're not on them, which is most of the time! The hotel don't seem bothered about this at all but all the guests I spoke to were very disappointed in this indeed. Lastly, the quality if entertainment really depends on when you choose to come. When we arrived the only dancer was a man who looked like he just came out of a comedy show, he was really really bad. You could even see the fear in the women's faces when he asked them to dance with him.

Overall, the hotel was good. If management sort out these problems then I would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANNIS K, Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
First of all we’d like to thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday resort and taking your time to write this review.
We are always interested in our client’s opinion so that we can improve our services and standards where it is necessary.
We offer every evening a soft entertainment program which includes folklore and dance evenings with live music or D.J., magic show, belly dance etc.
Concerning the dance evening in your review we want to let you know that the mentioned dancer is a highly qualified entertainer with 20 years of experience. He studied dance and theatre and worked as well as a professional chief animator for one of the biggest Greek hotel chains.
He was also shown last year on television Mare TV – NDR.de. Kreta

With the best regards
The Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    196
    42
    16
    3
See reviews for
143
384
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent hotel, lovely helpful staff, welcoming even to late arrivals in the wee hours of the morning. Swimming pool (fresh water, not salt). Strongly recommended for a family holiday for two. I'd go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPExtraordinaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked two rooms for us and our grown up Sons for 1 week, 13th July 2013. We was in the 5* side of the hotel. The rooms were lovely, very modern. We had a small shared pool out the back of our patio. The food was excellent, the location was brilliant, beach beds and umbrellas were free.

It was a good 30 mins walk to the old town of Rethymon, it was only €5 in a taxi one way. There are a lot of bars and restaurants to be found within walking distance and all along the seafront to the old town.

All the staff were very friendly and very helpful, they did a lovely birthday surprise for me in the room for our boys, 10 bottles of beer on ice, cake with a candle, a birthday banner and balloons, it only cost €55.

We had a car for the week, there is plenty of parking if required. The only gripe I had was that people were rude enough to save sunbeds around the pool, there was never enough of them. To give the staff their credit they put a notice on all the sunbeds which looked liked they were being saved, it said that towels would be removed after two hours.

I went down to the spa area, it was lovely, I believe there was a small charge for the sauna and steam room, I never got to use the pool as the sun was shining too much lol !! the staff were very welcoming.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliecope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel has a Californian look, from the sign on the wall, to the rooms with terraces, one in front of the other, overlooking the neighboor.
Even the pool was very American with huge amount of chlorine so difficut to ripe off even with soap!
Everything is relaxing white.
The wifi is not working in the rooms but only in the lobby and the pool.
Not so good for a five star hotel nowadays.
Our room was not big, as someone has written, and the bathroom was open space and not big at all, we had a big terrace overlooking the beach......but also the restaurant and the bar.
The room was not five star.
The breakfast is good, with quality food and choice, restaurant is serving dinner buffet every night.

Room Tip: Check the biggest rooms, maybe you don't overlook the see but bigger than mine is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PippiMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here very late one night in early July for our last relaxing holiday before our baby arrives in November. We wanted a 5* that was clean, safe and relaxing- whether that was staying around the pool or relaxing on the beach.

We arrived at the hotel at 1:00am
To be greeted with a cold towel and juice- nice touch. My island went to check us in to be told the hotel had overbooked us and we would be staying in the sister hotel next door- 3* for 3 nights and then we could move into the Pearl in 3 days.
No apology and the receptionist told us like we would just accept this. To be fair my husband was really annoyed given I am pregnant and we didn't have a room at the hotel we booked after paying over £1300 for a week here!! After 2 hours of arguing we eventually were told we could have a room at the hotel we booked and we were taken to our room! No apology or complimentary offering, nothing.

Room was lovely just like the picture except our bath was cracked and water leaked all over. Too tired to complain!

Main pool is ridiculous- people putting towels out at 7am meant you have to be up early to have a chance of getting a subbed-
Not what I want or need! Our only choice was to head down to the beach- not ideal when your 5 months pregnant and need the toilet every 5 minutes! We ended up getting into the sun bed wars and were putting towels down early to ensure I had a bed! People left towels on sun beds all day and never turned up- hotel were not bothered.

To top this disappointing week on the last day I had some orange juice from the freshly squeezed machine and found 5 maggots in there. My husband found the same- nice touch that you can get fresh orange juice but not a nice touch that we had been drinking maggots all week! Husband went straight to reception and they said it was fine, natural infact!!!!! I instantly wanted to throw up and spent the morning googling maggots and pregnant women! We weren't going to complain about this holiday to the rep but after the maggot situation we certainly did!

The rep was so helpful and was pretty disgusted herself. We refused compensation from Thomas Cook in resort and I have now received compensation from this holiday.

Really disappointed in this hotel as we expected so much more for the money we spent!!!

Stay away from the orange juice!!!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AmyLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANNIS K, Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.

We deeply regret to hear that your stay in our Sentido Aegean Pearl hotel did not meet your expectation. It is in our company’s philosophy to accept criticism from our esteemed clients since it helps us to improve our services and standards.

We took all your comments very seriously and they will help us to improve our services.

We just would like to point out that since 2010 the Sentido Pearl Hotels received the HCCP Certification and that the products of the merchants here from Rethymnon, who have been carefully selected by us, are organic.

With kind regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel offers everything needed for a great holidays, 3 swimming pools, great beach just in front of hotel, excellent breakfast and really comfortable room The service is excellent, we have been having some major problems with wireless internet connection but they gave us the cable to connect our computer directly in our room. They organized very early (4.50 am) breakfast for us, and there were many other similar small details that really make a difference. Very relaxing and nice. You can walk to a town, it is a bit distant but great way to loose some weight during your holidays. All together highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I visited this hotel at date 4 - 12.7 2013. I have been there in this super fine hotel many times earlier. The hotel is located in the end of the nice Beach Road in Rethymno. This is a 5 star hotel with very good service. The general manager of the hotel Yiannis Katsoulis and his friendly staff are taken care of the visitors in a very nice way. The standard of the food in the restaurants is on a high level. The hotel is very new and modern. The design of the hotel buildings is splendid. The athmosfere in the hotel is good. The hotel area is clean and there is a fine garden with many flowers and trees. Mainly every evening there are fine music and dancing programs. The distance to the own hotel beach is only 50 metres. On the beach is working a friendly Beach Boy who are looking after you. He brings coffe and drinks if you want. Go to this fine hotel I am sure that you will like it.

Room Tip: Order a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINLANDAKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANNIS K, Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and your loyalty towards our hotel. Herewith we want to express our gratitude to you and honor the special friendship, which developed in all these years! Eυχαριστώ πολύ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Aegean Pearl

Property: SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is located on the Greek island Crete and is ideal for beach lovers who want to relax at the beach. The hotel is in the city Tethymnon on the island Crete. Next to the hotel there are many different shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. The beach promenade directly by the hotel, and is ideal for walks. You have got the possibility to take your breakfast at the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Aegean Pearl where a buffet is prepared to each meal. Moreover, you can enjoy your lunch at the snack bar which is directly next to the pool. In the evening you have got the possibility to choose between the buffet or the A la Carte-Restaurant. At the bar you can enjoy the sunset with a tasty drink. Many different watersport activities were offered next to the beach. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is in cooperation with the diving school where you can schedule diving lessons. Furthremore, in the evening the hotel offers entertainment shows. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl offers 4 different types of rooms: Comfort double rooms; Double rooms with private pool; Family suites; Suites with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SENTIDO Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing