We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Nearby Hotels
$58
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Minos Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello Bianco Hotel(Platanias)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ionia Suites(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzino di Corina(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$61
$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Leonidas Hotel & Apts(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
423
218
48
20
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
218
48
20
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen plan bathroomold townlovely hotelon arrivaleuro depositwellness centrebreakfast and dinnerprivate poolsister hotellong trouserstaxi rankstar hotelevery eveningvery nice staybeach towelsshower gelbeach road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 712 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel at around midnight after a very long day of travelling and we were greeted with cool flannels for our faces and a refreshing drink which was a nice touch from the hotel staff.

There was a bit of confusion with the rooms, with the hotel staff telling us they had overbooked the hotel(despite us booking this holiday in November 2012!) We were told we would have to stay in their 3* sister hotel Pearl Beach for 2 nights. I was so unimpressed, but after my boyfriend pushing them for about 20 minutes, it turned out they did have a room for us in the 5* we booked to stay in all along-phew!

The room was lovely, really modern and super clean. Powerful aircon, a balcony overlooking the sea, a mini fridge, comfy beds and a good quality shower-lovely! They're not overly spacious, but spacious enough for two people. The bathroom is open plan with the bedroom, so don't book to go with someone you're not 100% comfortable infront of!

The only disappointing thing about this hotel was the beach, it was so overcrowded(which is nobodys fault ofcourse, just not mine and my boyfriends idea of relaxation.) The beach itself was clean and enjoyable however, but its covered in pebbles so make sure you pack some flip flops or beach shoes! On the beach was a water sports center where you could book jet skiing, parasailing and other water activities. We hired jet skis which were 40 euro for 15 minutes and it was such good fun. The sea gets really choppy on the beach so be careful, the waves knocked me down a tleast ten times a day! Despite the beach being busy, there were 3 pools within the hotel which were relaxing and quiet, so we preferred to laze about there as opposed to the beach.

We ate lunch at the hotel most days which was really yummy. Simple pool snacky meals like toasted sandwiches, salads, burgers and pizzas etc. all reasonably priced. The staff at lunch were really attentive and we never waited too long to be asked if we needed anymore drinks.

Whoever said the walk into the harbour/old town was 30 minutes must walk incredibly quickly! It was taking us 10 minutes in a cab each night to reach the old town(only costing 5 euro) so how people were walking it in half an hour is beyond me! I'm sure if you were visiting the hotel at a cooler time of the year, the walk would be enjoyable, but in the middle of July it was simply too hot to walk-especially when a cab is so accessible and well priced.

Despite the mix up at the beginning of the holiday, we had a lovely stay here. Good location, friendly staff and lovely rooms. Would defiantly recommend, just at a more quiet time of the holiday season- not in July.

Room Tip: We had room 822 and was told we had the best room in the hotel! 2 balconies and a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosieautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the hotel is a new build to a very high standard. its at the end of the beach road and forms the corner. there are two buildings, the pearl and agean pearl and they form an open ended courtyard facing the beach. The Agean is the newer and thats the one you want.
we arrived late and were sat down given a drink and cool towels while we signed in and then they opened the resturant to give us prepared meals.
the rooms are very good and the staff are all very helpfull and cannot do enough for you.
The food is excellent and enough chioce for everynight.
Never had a problem getting a table or service and no queing for food.
The staff are attentive without being pushy and the restaurant manager greets you as he passes round and one of the senior managers on duty usually passes through and wished you a good evening.
The hotel has its own beach area with sunbeds etc and a very helpfull member of staff who you can order food and drink from.
The beach is good but the wind can pick up and create waves and undertow so watch the flags.
The walk along the prom to the edge of town is 30 mins plus another 10 if you go onto the old harbour or as long as you want wandereing round the old town. Or a taxi is 5 euros from a rank about 100 yards from hotel.

The hotel provides good low key night entertainment and also free guided walks around town.

If we were returning to crete we would stay here again.

If this is the standard we will look for other sentendo hotels.

An excellent hotel, with modern rooms,well trained and friendly staff and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: we asked for a quite room and got one at the back. there are few sea view rooms anyway and the front is noisier so that was fine. the room was quite and the doors kept any niose out. best quite room we have ever had.The rooms are modern and well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolandKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok.... where do we start.....? we spent a week here at this hotel and to be perfectly honest, the reviews and description on the internet of this hotel are extremley misleading. EVERYTHING is at a huge cost, beware of those hidden extras... which are NOT cheap. (i.e. Bottled water is even at a huge cost - go down to the supermarket next door and you can buy 6 x bottles of water for €2 instead of the costly €3 per bottle!!!) Massage parlour is run independantly and nothing to do with hotel (we were not aware of this) and they only accept cash, please be aware of this.

You would totally assume that everything would be automatically charged to your credit card (which you provide, when you book the hotel) apparently this is not the case and we were chased down to another lovely hotel as they incorrectly assumed that we had left without paying, which both my friend and myself found totally insulting and a humiliating process nonetheless.

The place is run, like Butlins, (albeit Butlins have red coats, this place has blue coats). You are constantly told off for either a) helping yourself to a tiny jug of freshly squeezed orange juice (apparently your allocation is a tiny, weeny glass), b) forgetting to sign your bill. You feel like you are constantly being told off like a "naughty child".

Upon arrival, they offer you a tiny, weeny glass of orange cordial and a wet cold flannel. Whilst the flannel is nice, the orange cordial was pathetic, considering it is supposed to be a 5 star hotel.

Food is okay, but not great - VERY repetitive.

Annoying loud Mr Motivator type man, trying to get you do Acqua Aerobics at the gym.

Rude Russians (a plenty!!!)

The staff were totally unhelpful and whilst we were looking for extra accommodation to extend our stay, they refused to help us.

Poor location.... only a beach opposite and a right old trek into the old town (where the real Crete is!!)

If you want to go to a friendly, personable, welcoming hotel - this is definately not for you.

However, the positive sides are:-

Andrea (our Olympic Rep) - very, very helpful.
Doctors - were called by the hotel and were very attentative (I was ill)
The room/bathroom - very nice
Bathrobes and slippers provided
Balcony - good views
Bed linen - very nice and good quality

Above all, we would never stay here again, due to the rudeness, attitude of the staff and too many rude Russians around the pool area and the dining room.

This hotel definately caters for the Russians rather than British people.

Room Tip: If you do decide to use this hotel, please ask for Room 822 (I think this is probably one of the best rooms).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claire_daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANNIS K, Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday resort and taking your time to write this review in order to share your opinion with us.
However, we would like to point out the following:

1. The Wellness Center is part of our hotel. The use of the indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym is free of charge. Sauna and Haman cost 5 E per day and the massages and beauty treatments need to be paid for, like in every hotel, cash or with credit card.
Our reception staff gives to all our arriving clients a Spa brochure with price list and general information during the check in.

2. Our hotel has a high score in all social medias like Tripadvisor (Nr. 15 of 142 hotels and 90 % of recommendation), certificate of excellence for 2011, 2012 and 2012, and as well in Holiday Check (service 5.5 of 6 points) for customers’ friendliness and professionalism of our staff.

3. We have a very good mix balance of nationalities. During your stay the percentage of west European people was 90 % and East Europeans 10 %.

4. It is an international process that customers who check out come to the reception and pay their bills by signing the relevant credit card documents.
This is also mentioned in our Service Hotel Directory, which you find in all the rooms.
If a client leaves the hotel without going through the reception to settle the balance of his account, then there is a natural process, which we have to activate. Otherwise the receptionist on duty is responsible and the unpaid balance will be charged to this employee.

5. Our hotel is a city/beach hotel and Rethymnon is in walking distance 2.2 km to the old town, a beautiful promenade along the beach front.

Best regards

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is at the end of the beach promenade some 2km from the town (taxi there is 5 Euros) so if you are looking for a lot of nightlife nearby(apart from the low-key entertainments that are provided in hotel) then it may not be for you. The standards were very high all round and certainly better than some so-called 5 star hotels both in the Med and in the UK. The staff, all round, were unfailingly friendly courteous and helpful. The reception area was light and airy with comfortable seating, and the public areas both inside and out were well-kept. The outdoor swimming pools were smallish (it is a small hotel compared with some) but clean and tidy and the private beach just over the road was also kept neat and tidy. There is also an indoor heated (!) pool, Jacuzzi and Spa in the basement. The restaurant, although often busy was really well run with very friendly and helpful staff and Maitre d’. The buffet style breakfasts and dinners offered a very wide range of good quality foods, both Greek and more international, with choice to suit most tastes (and the wines were reasonably priced too) A bar/taverna also on site provided a good range of reasonably priced snacks and lunches and there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance.
Our room was fine: large, quiet and well- appointed with comfortable beds and clean Facilities. All in all we had a great holiday in a lovely hotel and have to agree with the favourable comments in most of the other recent reviews. We are not easily impressed but would just say that we have already booked again for another stay in September.
(NB The sister hotel: the Pearl Beach (a 4 star) shares the site although it has separate facilities, pools etc. and should not be confused with this one.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful well maintained smart modem hotel. Situated at the end of the promenade away from the main tourist area. Within easy walking distance of the two best restaurants in Rethymnon; Zizi's and Mio Gusto. We did not eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on the food.
The hotel organised a free guided walk up into the hills behind the town which is well worth doing.
Walkers will also appreciate the Mili gorge. We took a 15 minute taxi ride up to the top and walked home about 2 hours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews