We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel, superb service, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 11 day holiday at Aegean Pearl Hotel in Rethymnon and wanted to let everyone know what a brilliant hotel this is. The accommodation was absolutely excellent, nicely appointed with more than sufficient cupboards, shelves and hanging space to enable us to have a place for everything,allowing us to be unbelievably tidy by our own standards when on holiday. The food was good and very reasonably priced. You could choose the buffet evening meal which was excellent value, offering a wide selection of hot dishes, plus an extensive salad selection, fruits and deserts. The pools were always clean and inviting and the sunbeds extremely comfortable with thick mattresses which were covered each day with a freshly laundered cover. But the best bit of the hotel must surely have been their staff who were always exceptionally friendly, helpful, courteous and hospitable, no matter what hour. When we arrived at 11pm we were offered cold towels and a refreshing fruit drink. We asked if we would be able to find somewhere to eat near by as we were hungry after our journey and we were immediately offered a 'cold plate' of meat, salads, fruit and bread put together by Spiros who was the most efficient and hospitable night porter we have ever encountered. Other members of staff who helped make our stay so memorable were Mikealis the night manager on the front desk and Manousis and Irenie who managed the bar and made the most wonderful cocktails. They were a brilliant team and kept us laughing throughout the whole of our stay. The hotel was just a 30 min walk to the old town of Rethymnon which was absolutely lovely with lots and lots of interesting places to eat and drink (and shop). In all our many years travelling all over the world, staying in lovely hotels we have never returned to the same hotel twice, but I think we will make an exception this time and will certainly return to the Aegean Pearl in the very near future.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor rooms might be preferred because of better outlook. The family rooms which we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmer_et_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 707 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We returned for our second stay and were not disappointed.As for comments about star rating I wont comment as I believe the star rating of hotels involves such things as lifts,24 hour reception etc not whether or not the hotel is 'posh'.The stars for us are the staff from directors downwards.Everybody did their best to ensure our holiday was good.The position of the hotel suited us and if a taxi into town was required it was 5e which isnt too bad.The beach was good and loads of sunbeds free for guests with a very efficient beach attendant.Sun loungers around the hotel pool were booked with towels as usual which really annoys as most of the time the people concerned dont arrive for hours..selfish and unhelpful.The food is good with plenty of choice and the staff in the restaurant were superb.we agree with another reviewer that a gala night to replace the buffet occasionally would be good.All in all a lovely holiday and we will return!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this hotel isn't quite up to the five stars it gives itself but is an outstanding four. The staff were always more than helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious and the beds were seriously comfy! There were exercise classes during the day and something organised for most evenings. The jacuzzi was a god send after walking the Samaria Gorge! I would warn however, if you are not a couple travelling together, the bathrooms are somewhat open plan!! We were two friends travelling together and got to know each a little better than when we left the UK! The private beach is just across the road and well kept. The walk into town is a lot longer than the Thomas Cook website made out however. It was a good half an hour to the town centre, however there are shops and restaurants along the way. There was a bus (apparently) and taxis are quite cheap. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ya297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at hotel last week, room was spacious and cleaned every day, food was ok although they cater more for Germans. You can upgrade to all inclusive for 10euro per day which we weren't advised about we overheard at reception on our last day.I was also told to take my feet off the chair I was told it was a sitting area and not a bedroom from a very rude receptionist with glasses and blonde hair, we had been out of room from 12 as we were told we couldn't keep room on and had to wait for transfer where else in a hotel are you supposed to sit and relax. Hotel is also further away from old town to what is advertised.

Room Tip: Ask for room not looking into dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyn_nais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANNIS K, General Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday resort and taking your time to write this review in order to share your opinion with us.
However, we would like to point out the following:

According to the high score we reached by tripadvisor and holidaycheck (service 5.5 of 6 points), our hotel staff is friendly, helpful and informative all times.

We always try to fulfill the need of our guests for late checkout, depending on availability, by offering their room until departure with an extra charge.
Furthermore we also provide a courtesy room (free of charge) for all guests departing late.

And finally, the lobby is available for our guests as a meeting point and for welcoming new arrivals.
Just outside the lobby there is the pool area with sun beds which invite our clients for lying down with feet up in order to relax.

Yours sincerely
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We visited in the middle of May and found the rooms adequate but the beds and pillows a little basic. The main plus as mentioned by others are the staff and the proximity to the beach. The food is also very good, but a gala night rather than 7 days buffet would have been nice. The pools are clean , but we avoided the towel wars and can't be bothered competing for the limited loungers on holiday,the ones on the beach are better resourced and managed. One criticism of the reception is that they are a little limited in giving out maps and tour info. so we popped into the side street and booked all our outings with marie at the travel shop in the adjacent street. All in all we enjoyed the cleanliness and general efficiency and the location, with a nice walk into the old town was ideal.The evening entertainment was low key and we didn't endure it but the belly dancers were well attended one night!

Room Tip: A side room overlooking the pool is quiet and out of direct sun all day .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As with many hotels in Greece the ratings system is not quite that of some other countries,but that been said it scored the high marks because of 2 things .The staff are the friendliest and kindest we have seen and the rooms were spotless,well designed,well proportioned and very clean.On the negative side the food was not to expected 5 Star standards.it must also be taken into account that the town centre is 3 kilometres away not as shown on the Tripadvisor map.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel located at the end of the beach road of Rethymno and it's a big plus because the beach is very clean (btw it has a blue flag) and its a quiet hotel, so if you like noisy big hotels its not for you. Mostly of tourists are old people from Europe.
Hotel stuff are friendly on reception and in the restaurant - but in the restaurant if the dinner going to the end (dinner stops at 21:00) stuff taking out the dishes even at 20:40 and they can take out the salad plate right before you when you putting other ingredients to your plate! Kind of strange behavior.
The room was ok, with a balcony, but the cleaning service wasn't good at all, looks like they clean the floor only the first day you arrive and that's it. No more cleaning the floor.
Take the room on the second or third floor, not on the first, because first floor has less sun, more shady areas.
The breakfast and dinner is tasty, but as for me I would like to have only BB, because city has a lot of good and tasty restaurants in the city downtown or the beach road and near the hotel as well, we had HB, we haven't been disappointed but I like to get more local cuisine experience and visit more local restaurants.
Btw you can change your dinner for lunch but you need to inform stuff on reception one day before change.
The hotel has free parking outside of the hotel that is located a bit far from the hotel and underground garage parking witch is also free of charge, so you can park your car or rented car or scooter or bike. Good rent place for scooter or motorcycle is "auto, moto, sport" located on the beach road near to the city center, they have a new scooters and motorcycles, cars and bikes as well.
From the hotel to the old city is approximately 30 minutes by walk. Taxy cost 5 euro.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yaroslaw_Kerget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#16 of 177 in Rethymnon
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 177 in Rethymnon
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 177 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 177 in Rethymnon
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Aegean Pearl

Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#11 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $129 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is located on the Greek island Crete and is ideal for beach lovers who want to relax at the beach. The hotel is in the city Tethymnon on the island Crete. Next to the hotel there are many different shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. The beach promenade directly by the hotel, and is ideal for walks. You have got the possibility to take your breakfast at the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Aegean Pearl where a buffet is prepared to each meal. Moreover, you can enjoy your lunch at the snack bar which is directly next to the pool. In the evening you have got the possibility to choose between the buffet or the A la Carte-Restaurant. At the bar you can enjoy the sunset with a tasty drink. Many different watersport activities were offered next to the beach. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is in cooperation with the diving school where you can schedule diving lessons. Furthremore, in the evening the hotel offers entertainment shows. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl offers 4 different types of rooms: Comfort double rooms; Double rooms with private pool; Family suites; Suites with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENTIDO Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing