We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER FINE HOTEL IN RETHYMNO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you want to spend a holiday in a modern and fine hotel go to this 5 star hotel. I visited this hotel with my wife at 07.04 - 21.04.2012. I also celebrated in the hotel my 70-years birthday at date
08.04.2012. My best friends from Rethymno took part in the birthday party. Very fine snacks was delivered from the hotel kitchen to my party. The location of the hotel is good. It is situated in the east end of the fine Beach Road. The distance to the beach is only 50 meters. We were living in a suite with great balcony and fine view out to the sea. The suite was very comfortable with good
furnishings. The atmosphere is good in this hotel. The staff is very very friendly and look after the customers in a very nice way. The restaurant with extra good service had a great choise of fine food and wines. The hotel area was very clean and there is many flowers and green trees. We were many evenings looking on good music and dansing programs arranged of the hotel free of charge. The Wellness Spa Center with Finnish sauna, steam bath and thalasso massage will give you a right holiday. I am sure that we will go back in the future to this excellent hotel in Crete.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view when you order the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FINLANDAKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 707 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Aegean Pearl from 30 March to 12 April 2012. This is right at the very beginning of their season and there are advantages and disadvantages to going this early apart from the cheaper price.
Disadvantages: the weather can be a bit iffy but we only had one day of persistent rain.
Advantages: The hotel posts 3 day weather forecasts in the Reception area so we planned our trips around this and, quite frankly, there is so much to see on Crete that it is more comfortable to see the sights when you are not being burned to a crisp. The rest of the time it was lovely and warm and sunny with one day of 27 degrees at the hottest part of the day! Definitely warm enough to sunbathe. Packing had to include everything from jeans and a hooded jacket to swimming costume. (There is a small indoor pool and sauna if the weather is bad)
Disadvantages: Some of the museums and most of the organised tours are not available this early. NB. Heraklion Museum is undergoing refurbishment and only a small part containg the major exhibits is open until later in 2012.
Advantages: Everywhere is much less crowded. We visited Knossos (open until 3pm at this time of year) by using the local public transport which is comfortable (modern, air-conditioned coach between Rethymno and Heraklion) and very cheap. Timetables were available from Reception and are in both Greek and English. The countryside is absolutely beautiful in the Spring with wildflowers and butterflies everywhere.
Location: 30 minute seafront walk or 1 Euro bus ride from Rethymno. There is a large supermarket about 5-10 minutes down this road or you could visit the main Rethymno market on a Thursday for fresh local produce. There is a taxi rank very near the hotel which we used on the final day to transport our suitcases to the Rethymno bus station.
The Myli Gorge is within walking distance of the hotel and is less strenuous than the more famous Samaria Gorge. My friend, who has a metal hip, took a taxi to the top of the gorge and we walked down. Crete has had a lot of rain this last winter and although the stream was still fordable (the path crosses the water several times) I suspect that the water level is a lot lower in summer. A hiker's walking stick would have helped a lot but we found short broken branches which did the job. There is a taverna in the gorge which provides food and a toilet during the summer season. Supplies are winched in on a cradle supported by wires strung down from the road. The eerily deserted water mills and beautiful flowers made it a very memorable trip.
The hotel's resident guide, Ralph, did a free walking tour up to the nunnery of St Irene (Agia Irini) with lunch at a nearby restaurant which has the same fabulous views as the monastery. On the way he gave us an overview of the countryside and its people. If you don't think you can manage to complete the whole walk, you could get a taxi to Agia Irini and join the party for the walk down from there. The nuns make a lot of hand-woven, embroidered and lace decorated souvenirs which they sell in their shop to help support themselves.
Rethymno is Crete's 3rd largest town with an interesting Venetian fort above the old harbour. The fort is worth a visit, especially if there is a performance in the open-air theatre within the walls. Incidentally, if you are over 60 always ask if there is a discount as we got into several places at a cheaper price because of this. The most expensive restaurants and shops are by the old harbour and in the west of the town but get cheaper away from these tourist traps.
The hotel is also perfectly placed for public transport coach trips to the capital Heraklion to the east and the beautiful town of Chania in the west. The former has the main archaeological museum and all the other attractions of a capital city. The latter has lots of surviving Venetian streets and houses and some very good shops too.
The hotel: If asked to sum it up in a few words I would say "5 star hotel, 6 star staff". The rooms are clean, bright and elegantly decorated. There are safes in the wardrobe to put your passport and spare cash in. The small fridge is disguised as a bedside cabinet and a kettle and mugs are provided. I took a light aluminium teapot and my own teabags so that I didn't get withdrawal symptoms. The only slightly odd thing is the fact that the bathroom is not a seperate room. The toilet has a door and the bath/shower is tucked out of sight but the sink area is only divided from the rest of the room by a large mirror. (See photo provided by another reviewer) They could fix this by a curtain which could be hooked back after one had washed and dressed. There is a small wall-mounted TV and a lot of concealed lighting etc. and most of it can be operated from the bedside. We are both avid readers and could have done with a bit more wattage from the bedside lamps but there was an unconnected wire (taped up) above and between the beds so perhaps this is going to be sorted out at some point.
I was given a cable and password to connect my laptop to the Internet but in fact found that I could often get on-line wirelessly even though our room was on the second floor farthest away from Reception where the wi-fi signal was strongest.
The staff were excellent and most spoke several languages. Drinks from the bar were a bit pricey but the free Cretan folk dance night made it worth the expense. Two men and two women in Cretan costumes performed some traditional dances. It finished up with mass audience participation which was a hoot given that I wasn't the only one with two left feet.
We didn't bother but there were other entertainments laid on - including a free drink to meet other English guests at the hotel. Some might find this last one welcome as I get the impression that the hotel often has the majority of its guests from Germany. This was true when we were there but we were very happy to get to know a friendly German family - who typically spoke excellent English.
The food was a big plus. We had half board so breakfast and dinner were laid on from the buffet. The only night we had to really wait for a table was the day it rained when the outer dining area was unusable and everyone seems to have turned up at once. The variety was enormous - vegetarians (and picky teenagers!) should find something to enjoy. There was a mixture of international and Greek food. Occasionally I found dishes a bit salty for my taste but guess that in the hot summer weather this is reasonable. The orange juice was freshly squeezed by a machine to order and the Greek yoghurt, honey, cheese and olives were predictably gorgeous. The only problem was the temptation to eat far more than one should.
I want to end by praising the dining room staff. They were the best - Incredibly hard working, efficient, warm and friendly. A great team of lovely people.
Would we go back? Oh, yes definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel is absolutely stunning, very clean, white and modern. From the moment you walk in the front doors you know this is a 5 star hotel.
The rooms are very art deco and have a lovely beachy feel. We were half board so got breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast is fantastic, such a wide variety and you can squeeze your own fresh orange juice! Dinner was buffet style also and very good considering it was included in the accommodation costs, but did get slightly repetitive. I loved the table service in the restaurant for drinks where you can order wine, cocktails or spirits.
The front pool area has a bar also, great for sunbaking as it faces the sun all day long and is such a pretty setting overlooking the beach, which has free sun lounges! A perk for being a little way out of the centre of town.
It's a bit of a walk to the main street (25 mins) where the restaurants and bars are, but a cheap taxi fair if you don't feel up to the stroll.
The staff were great, very professional and friendly, they took the time to get to know us.
We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I visited the hotel with my wife 28.08 - 11.09.2011. If you want to choise a high class comfortable hotel go to this hotel. The hotel is new opened in 2009 and the design is very modern. This 5 star hotel will offer you a relaxing nice beach and city holiday. The location is good 2,5 kilometer from the city centre on the nice Beach Road. This modern complex with comfortable furnishings has also a good beach on a distance of only 50 meters from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and took good care of us. The service in the reception was excellent and the people working there was speaking many different languages. the restaurant with extra good service had a great choise of fine food and wines.The hotel area was clean and there is a green garden with many flowers and trees. There was 3 outside swiming pools and 1 inside pool. The Wellness SPA Center with Finnish sauna, steam bath and massage will get you the right holiday. We were many evenings looking on the good music and dancing programs in the pool area. The athmosfere was good in this hotel. We are going back most definately to this nice hotel at Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FINLANDAKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A very nice modern decorated hotel giving visitor a clear feeling. Breakfast was good. Coffee at the bar was bad and should be improved. However staff was very friendly and I definetely recommend this hotel either for business or leisure travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Aegean Pearl is a lovely hotel on the Beach Road in Rethymnon. On arrival we were shown to a large comfy sofa and offered a cool glass of juice to drink while we filled in the relevant checking in forms Our bags were then taken up to our room, which was clean and modern. The bathroom was a bit strange as it wasn't a separate room as such, it was separated from the sleeping area by a sort of partition. The loo was, however, enclosed!
Most beds in hotels are like concrete but at the Aegean Pearl the beds were surprisingly comfy. A good nights sleep is bound to be had! The rooms are serviced on a daily basis and clean towels were supplied every day.
There wasn't really much of a view from our balcony as it looked out over the restaurant area and the side of another block of rooms.
The food was plentiful and there was a good variety of dishes on offer throughout the week. All meals are buffet style. The restaurant staff were lovely, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The entertainment in the evening wasn't much to write home about except for the 'Greek Night' which was extremely energetic and entertaining and audience participation was the order of the day!
There weren't very many British guests at the hotel it seemed to be mainly German guests!
I'd recommend a nice leisurely stroll up to the 'Old Town' it's full of lots of little shops and restaurants. The cost of items and food in this part of town are alot cheaper than on the 'front'.
Our holiday in Rethymnon was really relaxing and enjoyable We would most definately go back again!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at Aegean Pearl (2nd this year) and as previously everything was excellent. Staff friendly / helpful / attentive. Room very good. Food - always excellent choice both breakfast and dinner. Hotel very clean. Car parking available. Own Blue Flag beach across road - use restricted at this time by poor weather(Red Flags etc). Wife liked fitness centre. Cold face towels and drink on arrival - nice. Hotel is located ~3 km from Rethymnon town - good walk along sea front. Some type of entertainment on most nights. We just really like this hotel. (n.b. 5 Star rating not as in England).

Room Tip: Need room overlooking bar / pool area or at front overlooking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#15 of 175 in Rethymnon
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,227 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Aegean Pearl

Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#11 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $120 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is located on the Greek island Crete and is ideal for beach lovers who want to relax at the beach. The hotel is in the city Tethymnon on the island Crete. Next to the hotel there are many different shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. The beach promenade directly by the hotel, and is ideal for walks. You have got the possibility to take your breakfast at the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Aegean Pearl where a buffet is prepared to each meal. Moreover, you can enjoy your lunch at the snack bar which is directly next to the pool. In the evening you have got the possibility to choose between the buffet or the A la Carte-Restaurant. At the bar you can enjoy the sunset with a tasty drink. Many different watersport activities were offered next to the beach. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is in cooperation with the diving school where you can schedule diving lessons. Furthremore, in the evening the hotel offers entertainment shows. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl offers 4 different types of rooms: Comfort double rooms; Double rooms with private pool; Family suites; Suites with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing