We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gordon Ramsay of Cretan Cuisine”
Review of Goules

Goules
Ranked #22 of 355 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Erlenbach über Schweich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Gordon Ramsay of Cretan Cuisine”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

For those who've never been, Goules Tavern is situated in the hills to the south of Rethymno. A pirate is said to have grown weary of the sea and having set out to distance himself, established this small hamlet back when. A friend of ours just completed a stone villa overlooking the town, so down the stairs past the church, dining at the restaurant of owner Kostas Chamogiorgakis is an added bonus for villa guests. And how.

Authentic is the term for simple food prepared to perfection, served on fresh linen, and with genuine Cretan hospitality. During our three weeks on Crete we dined at some of the most notorious restaurants on the Island, and at several village establishments of a type. Not one excelled at preparation, bio-diverse ingredients, rich flavor, or culinary art like this establishment.

To give you an idea, the village is hidden down country roads not much better than goat paths. Finding it for the first time is, a tiny bit of a chore. We arrived early for lunch, Cretans take these meals after two. Out of literal nowhere 20 tables filled up in almost an instant, as we dined and talked, the effect was one of those "aha" moments. I cannot recommend this Crete eatery highly enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best meal that I have ever had in Crete”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is an amazing place! You cannot get any better than that if you fancy a traditional places with great cretan cuisine! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterofCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cannot afford to miss it when visiting Rethymno...”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is how easy going, casual, home made food taverns should be like.
The food is fresh and tasty. The people are easy going and friendly but at the same time professional, polite and know how to run a business.
This is a must for people traveling around and passing close to Rethymnon, or for people living in Rethymnon and don't mind for a short 15min drive. After all in summer Crete, a short evening drive through the sunset to get there and a short drive under the moon to get back to the city is as much a pleasure as the diner itself. And this is not very easy considering how good the food is at Goules. Try everything if you are hungry or with a big company. One dish is better than the other.
Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Superb experience in secret location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is one of those places where you visit only if you are told by a local or someone who has been there already...It's in Rethimno, and the village is called Goulediana. The place was a coffeshop but the Chef has turned it into a taverna...If you ever visit Rethimno, Crete and want to taste some of the best plates in whole Crete you simply have to go to Goules...Goules himself is a gentleman providing excellent and relaxing atmosphere while preparing his super cuisine for you!!
The fact that it's hidden from seaside but always booked, is proof that Goules is someone you should definitely visit to taste from the best in Crete..!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis_R7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Food!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were recommended Goules by our hotel barman Nicos, and went there for dinner 2x, despite quite a long drive and excellent food in our all inclusive 4* hotel. Kostas was very friendly and the food was absolutely amazing, we loved the home made black cherry squash. We are definitely coming back once we are back in the area ;o) Thank you, Milan & Tereza

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goules also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Goules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing