We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience in secret location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goules

Goules
Ranked #22 of 339 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Superb experience in secret location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is one of those places where you visit only if you are told by a local or someone who has been there already...It's in Rethimno, and the village is called Goulediana. The place was a coffeshop but the Chef has turned it into a taverna...If you ever visit Rethimno, Crete and want to taste some of the best plates in whole Crete you simply have to go to Goules...Goules himself is a gentleman providing excellent and relaxing atmosphere while preparing his super cuisine for you!!
The fact that it's hidden from seaside but always booked, is proof that Goules is someone you should definitely visit to taste from the best in Crete..!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis_R7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were recommended Goules by our hotel barman Nicos, and went there for dinner 2x, despite quite a long drive and excellent food in our all inclusive 4* hotel. Kostas was very friendly and the food was absolutely amazing, we loved the home made black cherry squash. We are definitely coming back once we are back in the area ;o) Thank you, Milan & Tereza

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good starters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant off the beaten track. Service is attentive, personal and friendly. Starters are excellent. The meat dishes were not really to my liking, but I guess that this also had to do with the fact that they were cooked in a very Greek fashion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BalkanEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A `must visit` taverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We've been visiting Taverna Goules at Goulediana for the last six years or so each time we visit Crete. The owner, Kostas, is incredibly welcoming and his passion for the food he cooks shines through.

As well as excellent takes on Greek classics there are some really interesting dishes on the menu such as pork in wine and honey sauce and an omelette with cured pork & local greens.

Don't be surprised if some of the dishes are not available or if Kostas tell you what he's just cooked - it's all about what's in season and available locally.

It's a million miles from the usual tourist fare so if you are in the Rethymno area, check it out - you won't regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

A pleasant surprise after a nice walk in the mountains. This is an extremely nice restaurant. The food is excellent. The salad is great and the wine is exquisite. Very friendly personnel....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aivalisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goules also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Goules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing