We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colourful environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Knossos

Taverna Knossos
Ranked #34 of 339 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Knossos Tavern - 50 years family Cretan Tavern. The oldest in Rethimno's Old Harbor. Manager Maria Stavroulaki
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Colourful environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Knossos is a very cozy restaurant run by a family, where the old lady still cooks while brother and sister attend at the tables.
Food is good and quite big the portion.
The brother entertains the guests worth jokes and songs.

Helpful?
Thank ceccocolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    136
    56
    33
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a small but beautiful Cretan treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

After 12 years of visiting - you feel like a regular BUT when chatting in the relaxed and un-pressured atmosphere you find a French couple who have been coming for 20 years and then a Norwegian guy who's been coming for 22 years - it says it all - you start as welcome guest and after the first time you will be a friend. Oh and the food is good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWilson1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning fish, mussels and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It's an old, small family-owned taverna at the Old Venetian Harbour. We ate in many other places at Rethymno, but Knossos was the best. All others at teh harbour are more tourist-focused, but this one with superb, honest, cretan cuisine and great people is kinda special. It's the smallest one, but the best. Mule saganaki or baked graviera cheese are a must when in Rethymno.
I also hardly recommend their amazing, fresh fishes. According to the quality it's also really cheap.

Staff is amazing and really friendly from the heart, so you don't have this feeling that all they want from you is money. Great hospitality and if you're lucky a small buzuki concert (ask for Stavros). On the other hand ther's Maria, his sister, truly open-hearted person. She'll help you to choose a dish and explain how it's made. Great hospitality and great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place, the real Crete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We love Rethymnon and come regularly, the Old Harbour is extremely beautiful but can be a little intimidating with the various restaurants all touting for your business, I'm sure they all have their special advocates but believe me this is the one!
We came last October and had a great experience and when we returned this week we were greeted like long lost friends, and that is how this wonderful family makes you fell.
Run by brother and sister with "Mamma" out in the kitchen watching over proceedings it feels and is a truly authentic Cretan family taverna. It was packed when we arrived with mainly local people I would say, so what better recommendation.
It's a small menu and everything is freshly prepared and both the Swordfish I had and the Prawn Saganaki my wife enjoyed were cooked beautifully but the food,although great, is not the star it's the ambience and true generosity of spirit that shines. Maria and Stavros are a great double act and later when Stavros emerges with his various stringed instruments and starts to sing and everyone (Greek)joins in it's quite special.
If like us you love the special magic that is the true Greek hospitality that you think is a thing of the past then give this place a try and hopefully you will come back from Rethymnon with special memories and vow to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Entertainment by Stavros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a great place to eat on the harbour. Stavros is pure entertainment and the food is great too. One of the reasons we stopped is because unlike some of the restaurant owners in this area, they do not hassle you to eat there. Stavros is a laugh and Maria is really friendly with customers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Knossos also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Knossos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing