We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"a home away from home"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mythos Suites Hotel
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Near perfection - if you want a personal, intimate and friendly "non hotel" experience. This charming small hotel has great personal service, clean spacious rooms dressed with local antiques. The beds were amazingly comfortable - made from all natural materials supplied by the renowned brand CocoMat.The breakfast offering is divine with Cretan natural, organic products and local delicacies -including The best Greek yogurt I have ever tasted. The location in the old city is superbly convenient - walking distance to all museums, sites, shopping, restaurants and local beaches. we originally booked for 7 days and extended our stay to 10 days because we loved it so much and felt at home. When we go back to Crete we will definitely stay at this "little jewel" again.

Room Tip: we visited several rooms before we left and all were quietly situated.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Mythos Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

A romantic corner in Rethymnon.. The city is not that beautiful but the hotel is in good position to explore the west coast of the island. The service is perfect and we also got a bottle of wine as welcome present! I loved the greek breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the staff, friendly and always ready to help in everything you ask. Impecable service.

A small and quite place, but right in the middle of the old town.

Clean rooms, A/C worked and nice breakfast as well.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms offer a little more privacy as downstairs rooms are near a small pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_miriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We only stayed for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! The hotel is small and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. While we were there, there were lots of families with young children and they also seemed very happy and at home at this hotel. We were there for a romantic couples holiday, just me and my wife and we experienced no discrimination or other negative feelings at all for being a same-sex couple. Our suite was very nice, breakfast was excellent, with fresh orange juice every morning and selections of typical continental breakfast foods and Greek foods with excellent pastries and Greek cheeses and olives. Overall, the atmosphere is very relaxed and perfect for a beach holiday. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the organized beaches in Reythmnon and right in the middle of old town. It's a bit difficult to find as the small side street it was on is not marked on most maps. There's a 1 Euro store on Arkadiou Street that we used as a landmark to know when to turn. Overall, staying at the Mythos made our stay in Rethymnon relaxed and happy. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors that open onto the inner courtyard where the pool is are probably the quietest...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_on_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After spending years of searching for our ideal small and friendly hotel we have finally found it at the Mythos Suites. We will definitely be going back soon.Our room was spotless and well cared for with the most careful attention to detail being spent to make it more comfortable. Our shower curtain was even changed during our stay ! Eleni, Julie and Andy together with the two other staff and owners did everything in their power to be genuinely friendly and helpful; answering any questions and help we needed.Breakfast each morning was an absolute delight with so many different choices each day. The location is without doubt the best there can be because everything is so close - the old town shops, cafes, restaurants and beaches on your door step. i have a walking problem and can say that the location of the hotel was perfect for me. The peace and relaxation we felt at the Hotel was not compromised by its location. As soon as you walked through the doors into the hotel the hustle and bustle disappeared and we felt we had come "home". The pool in the courtyard is lovely for a cool down after a "busy" day at the beach or strolling around the shops ;-) The area is spoilt for choice for things to see both in the town itself and the surrounding area. This was our third visit to Crete and the second time in the Rethymno area. We love it. The people are friendly and there was no trouble of any sort throughout our eleven day stay. The other holiday makers at the hotel were from all different nationalities making it a truly away from it all experience. We reignited the romance in our 29 years marriage at the Mythos- you couldn't help but feel romantic and relaxed. We can face another year of work after our lovely holiday. Thankyou All at the Mythos

Room Tip: Choose a suite that is overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the most friendly hotel I've ever stayed at. We stayed for 10 nights and really enjoyed the location as it's quiet yet very close to the beach, tavernas, bars and shops. Parking wasn't an issue for us as we knew the location of the hotel meant finding a space down a side street which was usually straightforward and free. We always found a space within 5 mins walk although sometimes it meant driving round the one way system a couple of times. The hotel is beautiful and as it's family owned, the staff take extra pride in ensuring their guests are made to feel welcome - they always had a wee chat with us. Rooms are very clean and although we were lazy and didn't always make it down for breakfast, when we did we enjoyed it! Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calvinandhobbes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

In the bustling historic center, close to restaurants and the shore, yet a cool, remarkably quiet, and visually serene refuge to return to. Just on the right side of luxurious. The restoration is elegant, spare, and smart. The staff is exceptionally accommodating, charming and fluent in several languages, and a great resource. In fact, their resourcefulness can transform a trip. All these elements together, in what feels like a private little villa. You may hate to have to leave.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
556 reviews
70.7 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
705 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
130 reviews
34.0 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#25 of 32 in Amoudara
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Suites Hotel

Address: 12 Arkadiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#35 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $114 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mythos Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mythos Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mythos Suites Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing