We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding- One of a kind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding- One of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

" So many people could not go wrong" I thought to myself reading the Tripadvisor reviews and decided to make reservations in Casa Moazzo. This was the moment when our "Love Story" with Casa Moazzo and especially with its excepionally nice owners (Anna & Alexander) began and led to a 4 days unforgettable vacation,
It started with the extremely friendly, helpful detailed mails we recieved from Anna, through a warm welcome late at the night of our arrival and continued with intelligent advices, excellent recommendations (Happy walker, etc), planning of unique day trips and endless conversations about Greece, Crete and the human nature.
In our opinion this boutique hotel deserves 6 stars; having the common characteristics of a 5 stars hotel and an additional 6th star- Anna...who succeeds together with her devoted staff members to make anyone to feel at home in Rethymno,
In view of the facts described above, it was not surprising that when we informed Anna that our flight is scheduled to 20;00, she offered us to stay in our room till 18:00 with no additional charge.
We already miss Rethymno and the wonderful people who helped to turn our vacation into an unforgettable memory and plan to go back as soon as possible. W'll certanely recommend family and friends to relax in the special atmosphere of Caza Moazzo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IsraelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
242
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Casa Moazzo is an absolutely brilliant hotel: stylish, yet friendly and personable. We came to Crete during a week of strikes and unseasonably cold weather, and Anna (our host) went out of her way to make our stay as rewarding and relaxing as possible. She helped us arrange activities, organised our onward transport, and even taught us a little Greek. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were originally booked in another hotel and were re-booked at Casa Moazzo a month before our honeymoon. They say things happen for a reason… and this time the phrase came true. This boutique style hotel is top notch all the way. The owners and staff were so welcoming that we felt as if we were long lost family. Whatever we requested they got for us. They even helped us plan our daily excursions. It was like having our own private tour guides. We loved it. And after every venture, we looked forward to coming to the hotel to rest in the court yard and talk about our day with the other guests, owners, and staff before we made it out for the great nightlife which resides steps away from the hotel’s front gates. Rethymno has so much history and culture to offer and it’s quaint pedestrian streets add the ambiance that is Casa Moazzo. If I ever make it to Crete again, I know where I am staying… Casa Moazzo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demetrios H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panglao Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

It is my 4th stay in Rethymnon and I finally have to recommend this place to all of you.
As I come sometimes for business to Crete, I always need a good internet. Not many places have really good internet in the rooms. This was the main reason the first time I came to Casa Moazzo.
Now, after many stays at this beautiful place in the old part of Rethymno I honestly can`t tell if it is really he internet, that brings me back to this beautiful place.
The beds are truly the best in town. The rooms are no rooms as you would expect it in a hotel. They are castles within a castle. All with jacuzzis instead of bath-tubs.
Everything is perfect and stylish. All suites have a different appearance. One looks like a honeymoon retreat, others like a modern traditional greec house.

My host, Anna, explained to me, how she took over the heritage of the family and how much love and effort she and her husband have spend to make this place so special as it is today.
I just can say that they did it with great success.
CasaMoazzo is more than a hotel. It is a retreat and it makes you feel home.
Thank you so much - I surely will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalchiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Although Casa Moazzo is listed as a hotel, think of it as a first-rate bed and breakfast. It is located near the main “entrance” to the historic part of Rethymno, on a quiet residential and semi-business street mostly for locals. A five minute walks puts you on the main quaint tourist streets through the historic old town. Although the structure of the building is several hundred years old, the entire interior was totally rebuilt about six years ago, so the rooms are all modern. The interior design and furnishings are classic and classy but without overdoing it; a perfect blend. They have six rooms; we stayed in the Aphrodite Junior Suite and it was wonderful. The room was quite spacious with a very comfortable king size bed and tiled floors. The bathroom was also quite spacious and had a standalone classic-style bathtub with Jacuzzi spray. No shower, so it makes bathing rather romantic and unhurried. Lots of counter space in the bathroom and plenty of closet and drawer space in the bedroom.

So that’s the bed part of the “bed & breakfast”. Now to the breakfast: excellent. They give you just the right amount and variety without under-doing it or overdoing it. The buffet spread includes fruits, yogurt, cereals, pastries, scrambled eggs with a trace of tomatoes and spinach (or hard boiled eggs if you prefer), breads, jams, freshly squeezed juices, coffee and tea. Everything was very fresh and tasty. It’s all laid out on the bar of the main dining room, but after you serve yourself, the best place to eat is out on the enclosed patio, which has space enough for 4 tables at a time. It’s in the shade, so you get to enjoy the outdoors and the fresh morning air.

And finally there are the owners, Anna and Alexander, and their all-around cook/maid, Vicky, who is very sweet and courteous, but does not speak much English. Anna is the perfect hostess and an outstanding representative of Cretan hospitality. She speaks excellent English and made us feel like we were her long-lost brothers and sisters within minutes of our arrival. My wife was a little under the weather the day we arrived, so when we said we were looking for a restaurant with good soup, she called one of the restaurants in town and made sure they had soup available that night… which was excellent. We wanted to buy some local hand-made linen so she walked us to three shops that she recommended. Anna did all of the interior decorating herself, using many authentic family antiques to give it even more of a personal touch.

All in all, we are extremely glad we stayed in Rethymo for our first visit to Crete, and could not be happier with our stay at Casa Moazzo. We have traveled extensively through Europe and I must say that this was one of the best all-around places we have stayed at. Location, bedroom, bathroom, food and service: all of them were excellent. But what made it really memorable were the owners/staff and their incredible hospitality! Thank you, Anna!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We chose Casa Moazzo after reading all of the wonderful reviews on this site. Casa Moazzo entirely exceeded our already high expectations.

We spent 3 nights at the hotel, which was not nearly long enough. Casa Moazzo is perfectly located in Rethymnon and an excellent base for exploring the island. It is an absolutely gorgeous hotel, but the owners' warmth and hospitality are really what makes the place so special.

Anna, the owner, has an exceptional eye for detail, from the beautifully appointed suites to the delicious breakfast spread. More importantly, Anna and Alexander make you feel like family. Both gave excellent suggestions for day-trips, restaurants, shopping, etc and went the extra mile to ensure our short stay was everything that it could be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My daughter and I spent a wonderful 10 days in Crete, staying in the beautiful Casa Moazzo suites & apartments. The boutique style hotel is located perfectly near the old town of Rethymnon in central northern Crete, which is ideal for exploring the island. Anna and her husband Alexander are impeccable hosts with the right balance of being extremely attentive but allowing privacy when wanted. The hotel is located in a very quiet street, and yet it is only a 5 minute walk to both the beach and to the main restaurant and bars for the evening. It also felt safe and secluded in the hotel and we could not hear the bustling sounds from all the restaurants once we had retired for the night. The rooms are extremely spacious and have been decorated with a good eye for interior design. We were also provided with towelling robes and slippers, which was nice. There are many restaurants to choose from, but by far our favourite was called Alana which was highly recommended by Anna and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is extemely well run by Stellios the owner and the food and service was outstanding. We tried a couple of other places, but kept going back to the Alana, as nothing could compare. Anna and Alexander were absolutely lovely, making sure all our needs were met. We had unfortunately left our camera battery at home and Alexander went to extreme lengths to find the battery that we needed, which we were very grateful for. The buffet breakfast was perfect for us, with lots of healthy choices. Even when my daughter was too tired to come down for breakfast on a couple of the days, Anna would make a lovely platter of fresh fruits for me to take back up to our room for my daughter. We had a lovely holiday and would not hesitate in recommending Casa Moazzo, especially if you are looking for a spacious suite/apartment with a quality interior, attentive hosts and a perfect location, then this is the place to stay. The reviews really do speak for themselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.6 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments

Property: Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Address: 57 Tobazi St, Metropolitan Church Square, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated Venetian manor house in the heart of the old town. Six luxurious suites that include all modern facilities i.e. hydromassage, plasma TV, choice of pillows, etc., and, above all, our personal attention to our guests, will make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing