We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a jewel :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yacinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yacinthos Hotel
Ranked #5 of 43 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a jewel :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in my life, but this hotel is like a small miracle. It is quiet, clean and the staff is extraordinary welcoming and generous. The breakfast is with fresh orangejuice, warm sandwiches, homemade marmelade and delicous pastry. They come at you door with fresh fruits and they gives you the feeling of being at home. The poolarea is small, but very nice. it is 25 meters to the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean. This is like home away from home :-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This restaurant is a culinary delight. The owners prepared a delicious breakfast - with changing items each day, including home made jam and fresh baked pastries by the French owner. It was the only breakfast that I have ever had that included a mini chocolate cake for dessert! Andreas and Bobis (front desk staff) were unbelievably charming and helpful with great recommendations of delicious and budget restaurants. We stayed in May, had booked a room with double bed but were upgraded to a suite. We were totally charmed by this hotel - ready to move in. The rooms are fairly basic mid-range but everything worked well, was clean and well kept. The pool was nice and we were just down the block from a long beach area. Overall it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Although a minute's walk to the beach the location of this hotel isn't brilliant - the small road that runs in front of the hotel is the main thoroughfare for all the traffic travelling along the beach road, which has to turn off at this particular point. So if you are unlucky enough to have a room on this side of the hotel its virtually impossible to sit out on the balcony as tour buses, coaches, motorcycles and cars are constantly streaming past a few yards from where you are sat. We asked to be moved, which we were after 2 nights, and the room we were given, overlooking the pool, was much better - so avoid rooms 101-104, 201-204, and 301-304 if you can. If you are unlucky enough to get 101-104 you'll also find yourselves half underground - so be warned!!!!

The other problem with the location of the hotel is that its a good 30 minute walk into Rethymnon, although there is a bus service and plenty of taxis.

Staff at the hotel are friendly and will accommodate you if they can - the two guys who seem to run the place are very helpful and will help.

Room Tip: Choose 205 - 209 or 305 - 309 In other words middle or top floor overlooking the pool - Don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoonsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Good located hotel - 2 minutes to the beach and about 30 minutes from old town. Rooms are simple but well equipped. Bathroom could have some renovation but there is no problem with cleanliness. Price for night was very reasonable. Only problem is with parking outside the hotel if you are renting a car. Spaces are very limited.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fixxer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Yacinthos for one week in April 2014. It is a budget hotel and not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. We had an apartment-type room outfitted with a mini-kitchen that had sink, refrigerator, hot plate, dishes, utensils, etc. It was perfect for our long stay. The room itself was large and could sleep at least four people since it had two fold-out couches plus the bed. Our balcony had a view of the sea, which is right across the street -- 2 minutes or less to beautiful sand and water. The staff was wonderful to us -- very friendly and accommodating. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and inviting. The hotel is about 30 minutes walk to the city center but there are many restaurants and shops nearby. We recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElainieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Yacinthos Hotel at Rethimnon has it all!, it's 2 minutes from the beach, close to few supermarkets, a lot of restaurants and not far from the city(30-40 minutes walk, 5 minutes by car if you'll find parking).
The Yacinthos has a small nice pool, one which we've used for relaxation and fun.
It has a lovely couple that run the place Babis(hope this is how you write it) and his sweet wife(sorry for not asking your name, but we love you :).
The rooms are clean(we had 2) and has everything you'll need if you want to self make your meals and save money on restaurants.
They also serve Breakfast(price not included) which we found as one of the richest we've got at an hotel from that type.
The breakfast included Tea, Filter Coffee, Milk,2-3 Jams, bread, few sweets(cakes etc.) and a very nice once. they served boiled eggs,Gouda Cheese(or similar), Sausage and more.
they even offered the kids hot chocolate.
We had a very nice 6 days staying at the Yacinthos Hotel and we sure recommend any one who consider to stay in Rethimnon to try the place.
Babis also recommended up few restaurants at the era, one that we visit twice was Zisi's(6 minutes drive from the hotel or 15 minutes walk) nice food at a very nice prices.
and they speak English if you wondered.

Room Tip: we had two rooms and changed to a third one by Hotel request and all looks nice to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Movtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had an executive studio which was perfect for our needs. It had a little kitchenette area so we were able to cook some meals. The location is perfect. only a few minutes walk to the beach! The owners are very helpful and friendly and always willing to give advice and recommendations on where to eat and sights to see. It has a pool also which is a bonus. I can highly recommend this hotel / studio apartments!

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room rather than a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments
#42 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#2 of 10 in Missiria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#7 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yacinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yacinthos Hotel

Property: Yacinthos Hotel
Address: 4 Brillaki, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yacinthos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yacinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yacinthos Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing