We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant by far!!!”
Review of Taverna tou Zisis

Taverna tou Zisis
Ranked #30 of 362 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“The best restaurant by far!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

There's not so much things that someone can say for this place! Imagine that the restaurant it's a huge place with maybe 50-60 tables which are all totally packed at the rush hours! Locals eating there, I think that this says alote on it's own!
Everything that'll choose will be an amazing experience. Service is good -quick and accurate! You might get confused on what to eat, cause there are so many great offers! Her's the tip:
YOU CAN CHOOSE A HALF PORTION in you like!!

The only negative is that you might not find a place to sit!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Raminagropi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    144
    43
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Great food, big portions, good quality price, we just loved it! We remember of it fondly now that we're back home and we keep trying to make their recipes, that's how good it was!
We recommend the stuffed hamburger, the tzatziki, the fried potatoes, the greek salad......

We saw many greek people come eat here as well as tourists.
They have a lot of cats wondering around which we found pretty funny as they all looked like egyptian cats:)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NissaOlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent taverna serving good value, local food”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We decided to try out Zisi's as it gets a really good write up in Rough Guide, and we wanted somewhere that would be very good value for money. It is a little bit out of Rethymnon centre, but we found it easily in the car, having read the helpful reviews on TripAdvisor (i.e. heading out of Rethymnon on the old road, it is just after the Garden Centre). It has ample parking at the front, and a large outside area with plenty of tables to choose from.
We found the service efficient, and a great choice of food (lots of local specialities) and reasonable wine list (the house wine in particular is very cheap!)
It had a nice atmosphere, and certainly fills up with local families which we thought was a good sign (there is a good children's playground in the restaurant, which seemed to entertain the kids while parents enjoyed their meal!)
We didn't try any other tavernas in Rethymnon, so can't make any comparison. However, for the price, it compared well to the restaurants we ate in, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Zisis. They also do food from a counter inside to takeaway.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missloobylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRETE
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top pick of the locals”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is the most classical for the locals. Cheap food quickly served the atmosphere certainly not the mest as it is noisy for my taste but still you have to visit. In my opinion their is a very slightly decline in the quality but still it is high. Another plus the variety of foods which is absolutely huge.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank TERA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breisach am Rhein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cretan restaurant in an otherwise very touristic area”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Located at the Old Road between Reythmnon and Misirias this place
offers some local cretan food.
Prices are very very reasonable. Where titpits start at 3€ and main dishes
at 7€. There is nearly everything on the menue. Starting from the greek standarts
to lamp testicals. It seems the many locals visit this place even so it looks very touristic.

The only downside where the toilets which looked quite dirty.

P.S. The name Zisi's is used by the locals. The name on the sign was a little different.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_Attinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna tou Zisis also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna tou Zisis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing