We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service”
Review of Thalassographia

Thalassographia
Ranked #45 of 362 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Greek, Italian, Mediterranean, International, Bar, Grill, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went there twice on our holiday, once for lunch, found the place by chance, and once for dinner. Very good food, moderately priced, and very good and friendly service. When we went back for dinner they did their best to accommodate us even though we were a family of 6, and we only waited 5 minutes. You can see that the owner and Maitre'D run a tight ship.
Only downside in the evening were young girls coming round the tables playing accordions not very well for money, but they did go away if you told them to.
Two very good meals and good and friendly service

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyDiverValerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    102
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly Good Service and good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely excellent. They were all very friendly, and the food was good throughout. Great views and a nice cool breeze all added to the atmosphere. Good value as well

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyDiverValerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing view, lovely food, great service”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We came here on our last night, such a shame as we would have gone back another night if we could. Food was good, view was absolutely breathtaking. Service and atmosphere spot on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A breath-taking view with perfect service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thalassographia was a cafe we went in by accident rather than by recommendation. Our luck could not be even better. The breath-taking view to the Sea of Crete offered by the place defined our first choice. The delicios food and high-standard service made the experience even more pleasant. From the broad selection of dishes filling in the menu Dakos (dry bread with tomatoes and Greek feta cheese) was an unbeatable winner topping the list of food we tried not only here but in Greece in general. My husband hasn't stopped talking about it every time we remembered this place. The only minor drawback that I found in the menu was a watermelon juice. To my personal taste it was more watery rather than sugar-filled like, different from what I tried in other cafes in Crete.
Despite that, the overall experience was so satisfying that we couldn't help but treating breakfast ourselves at the same place next day as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food, gorgeous view, good service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thought we'd eat here to catch the sun go down and the the view is the best we've had all holiday. Terraced restaurant high up next to the Fortezza and looking over the sea. My meal was excellent value and very tasty, as was my husband's risotto. My daughter's fish fingers were proper homemade cod fish fingers and she loved them. Excellent value, frequented by tourists and locals which is a good sign! They lit loads of candles at night and it was very atmospheric. As a side note the loos were great, with extras provided in the women's section - moisturiser, baby wipes, sanitary items (sorry, tmi, but a nice touch!), comb, deodorant etc. the blokes side had deodorant and a fire extinguisher! Hmm. Great value at around 30 euros for the three of us including 3 beers (no, one wasn't for my daughter!!) See my other reviews....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovethatbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassographia also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Thalassographia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing