We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet and the Big Blue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalassographia

Thalassographia
Ranked #38 of 338 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Kavrós, Khania, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and the Big Blue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Rethymnon can be hectic at times and when you need a little time for reflection head to this oasis. Put the hustle and bustle of the old town behind you - shake the dust from your shoes and take a table in this delightful cafe restaurant. Orde a frappe and sit back as you watch the blue blue sea. The staff are polite and helpful. The atmosphere is calm and contemplative. The views are spectacular. The frappes are very very good. We love this place year round.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    98
    37
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temse, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've been going to this restaurant for more than 5 years and we keep coming back.
The staff is really friendly and the view is amazing. If you want a drink, a little snack or a big meal, you're always welcome. The menu is very extensive: fish, seafood, meat, vegetables, sandwiches... Something for everyone! The fish soup is amazing, just know that you have to order it in advance.
If you go to Rethymnon it's really the place to be!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Staf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We thought being so close to the Fortress it would be a bit of a tourist trap but we were very pleasantly surprised. The location is great, the service friendly and the food was delicious and surprisingly reasonable. Even the toilets were spotless! We were only in Rethimnon for a day but if I could I would have become a regular here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank venusScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Up by the fortessa this restaurant offers amazing views of the bay at any time but particularly at sunset. We only stopped here for a drink after visiting the fortessa and expected it to be much more expensive than it was. Unfortunately we only stayed in Rethymnon for two nights so did not get a chance to eat here but will certainly go back next time we are there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Our fixed lunch or dinner eating spot in Rethymnon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

As we travel we like to have a fixed spot where we know we can eat well at reasonable price and feel comfortable .A basic rule is the prettier the location and proximity to historical site the more unlikely a restaurant will meet our criteria but here is the exception . First , the location is fabulous , at the foot of the castle ( and the path from the castle passes by the restaurant ) it offers a marvellous view at all times of the day .The food is great but I have to make special mention of the apple tart .It is not a " slice of pie " , instead it is a whole sliced apple enclosed with spices in a pastry ...my god is it good . Their imaginative way of cooking this is an indication of how they deal with food generally .It is on three or four levels , I get confused , and you can have a coffee or a whole meal and anything in between .Don't let the beautiful location put you off , these people are serious about food and it is reasonably priced .Could see myself sitting here all day and eating the various stages , breakfast , lunch and dinner , until someone rolled me home .its under new ownership , a young couple , and best of luck to them

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Travellingirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassographia also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Thalassographia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing