We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, very good and creative food”
Review of Prima Plora

Prima Plora
Ranked #12 of 348 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We strive for what we love in a world that has forgotten the value of food in our lives. A plate of food, eaten in a restaurant or at home, the taste and the quality depends on the raw materials we use. With this as our principle and also that are forthright in any form of mass production of the raw materials, we have come and we have partnerships only with small local producers, who have the same philosophy as us. Our cuisine consists of raw materials without pesticides and fertilizers and from animals grown and fed in nature, as normally required in warehouses and not eating GM foods.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent place, very good and creative food”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

LOcated a little outside of the town center near the waterfront. Nice terasses, and very nice indoor restaurant. Kitchen is typical greece, but with a big touch of creativity in preperation.A highlight to all the restaurants in the center of town with all this pulling & pushing to get you in. Here you need a reservation.Food is freshly made, creatively served, and the service is excellent. friendly stuff, clean restrooms...
This is definitely a place i want to return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TDI_DIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    225
    67
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having agreed to meet visiting friends in Rethymnon for lunch I had to find somewhere to eat. As I live further West in Crete I didn't know many places to in the town and wanted somewhere special. Thanks to Frankie Miles and Tripadvisor I found Prima Plora and discovered one of the best restaurants I have eaten at on the island. The location is stunning, the service excellent and the food sophisticated and unusual. We had a great afternoon arriving at 1.30 and not leaving until 5 p.m. A great experience and we will be visiting again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonV19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“High hopes!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went full of anticipation on the recommendation of our hotel as we wanted a fish dinner and were planning a visit to the harbour area, since we had read of this restaurant we were happy to change our plans and got a taxi. The setting is lovely though our table a little exposed but this was fine as we had literally arrived unannounced and it was busy - a good sign. We ordered and the starters were lovely, in fact all the food was a good quality. For mains my husband had the seafood selection which is normally a two share and they were happy to split and I had fish of the day. They asked if I wanted it filleted which I did, but when it arrived possibly due to the time taken to fillet it, the fish was barely warm and the plate it was on was stone cold, this detracted from my enjoyment along with the large number of cats strolling around which I appreciate does not worry some people, is not the fault of the restaurant who do request you don't feed them but I have really struggled with this aspect of our holiday in general, not just at this restaurant but everywhere as I am very uncomfortable around cats in general, (purely personal I accept). Anyway back to review, after our lovely starters, my husbands very acceptable seafood selection and my lukewarm fish we sat with our plates in front of us, finished our wine and placed the bottle upside down in the cooler and we waited and waited for a good 30 minutes. Dirty plates and no drink! Finally someone approached and we did bring to their attention and they genuinely seemed upset but by now the evening had lost its magic, our candle also had blown out, I read the review previously and thought was a little harsh but sadly our own experience was similar - sorry! I think I would prefer for lunch. Go for the setting and food as it would seem we were possibly unlucky.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank jandj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Setting”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The setting of this place is lovely right next to the sea but in a quiet area of the town. The food and service were both fantastic.

Alongside To Pigadi and Alana, Prima Plora is an excellent choice of restaurant to go to. We'd highly recommend visiting these three restaurants, as they were head and shoulders above other places we tried.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Forkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almyrida, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a beautiful meal all by myself”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had a fantastic experience here, beautifull view, food was excellent as was the service,price was reasonable considering how good the location was, will be going back for sure

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prima Plora also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Platanias, Rethymnon
 

Been to Prima Plora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing