We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super restaurant & view”
Review of Fanari

Fanari
Ranked #135 of 345 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our area has a tradition in taverns with history. Since 1992 we hold the frontier in taste.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super restaurant & view”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ate at Fanari on a couple of occasions & wished I had visited more (was travelling the island & wanted to try different places/food types). Tried it on the my first night as it was a lonely planet recommendation & my 'local' (was staying at the Ideon). Opted for the sea- food risotto which was very enjoyable. The sea view location added to the enjoyment as did the host Dimitri. He was most friendly & chatty. The sevice was excellent (even when it got busy) & it was also fun watching Dimitri & the waitress bring food & drinks from the kitchen which was on the other side of the (busy) road. During my week in Crete I visited many restaurants & this was my favourite.
I shall return!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tony858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The food, the service and the view are excellent and very affordable.
Dimitri the waiter has excellent PR skills

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dimitrios is a genuine gentleman,probably the best resaurant in Rethymnon”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great restaurant,great views,great food.Idon't need to say anything more I'm just padding out to achieve 50 characters

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“THE BEST restaurant IN RETHYMNO”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The food is great and the service is very good and the best view..
The chaloumi cheese, the stuffed potato and the cretan salad is
the best choice and don’t forget the pizza.. burger vodka

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dimi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A real seaside restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was so well placed, on a wall above the rocks just under the fortress by Rethymnon Port. We could watch the sea, which one day was quite rough and our children loved it.

The food was good, different from usual. We all enjoyed it, kids couldn't choose between pizza and souvlaki so shared one each - and it was so good they had the same the next time we went. Hubbie loved the (slightly) spicy oven cooked feta and a chop with vegetables and cheese, I enjoyed the fisherman's spaghetti, but too much to finish.

With drinks, rather moe than I should have drunk, it came out at about 45 euros for four, and the kids are substantial teenagers so good value.

Service was excellent, a young Greek girl with an English mother, she was great.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skitandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanari also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Fanari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing