We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I say”
Review of The Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistral
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What more can I say”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have just returned from my 10th visit to The Mistral. What a special hotel and a great 2 weeks I had. Every year I find something else about this hotel that adds to my opinion that this is simply my home from home. The rooms are so beautifully decorated and the beds are huge, the cleaning staff work so hard each day to keep the rooms amazingly clean and tidy (not easy where I am concerned). The food is fresh (much of it organic) and as someone who only has a small appetite I am able to help myself to whatever I fancy without being faced with a huge plateful. Don't get me wrong if you have a large appetite you can eat until you burst. The staff are all fantastic and make you feel so at home. Nothing is ever too much trouble at any time. The trips that have been added this year have been a great addition. I did the days sailing, an absolute must, a perfect day that will remain in my memory for a very long time. But the thing that makes this hotel so special are the fantastic people that you meet every year. When I went for the very first time I was on my own, as are most of us, but over the years I have met so many special people that remain lifelong friends that I never feel alone, unless I want to be, and each year I meet more and more people, from all walks of life and all nationalities. If you are single and looking for a relaxing holiday look no further than this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waspgirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    55
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
1
2
428
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my first trip to the Mistral and I had a fantastic time. It was just what I needed - its so relaxing. The owners and staff are great - attentive, friendly and extremely helpful. The food was so good, organic and tasty - I am quite fussy but just about ate everything put in front of me! Its the sort of place where you can choose what you want to do. For me the trip was just to relax for a week, so I spent a lot of time by the pool. There are like minded people you can chat to or just read your book all day in peace. I had a Deluxe room and it was perfect. I had no complaints - the room was clean and everything functioned perfectly well.

I have never been anywhere where the moment I walked into the hotel I felt relaxed and safe.
Good memories, lots of new friends and an urge to book for next year! I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly28Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have visited the Mistral for what now seems a lifetime and Vassilis, Adonis and Donna feel like family. Over seven years I have made many friendships and sharing the Mistral experience with people I know and care about is very special. However each year I meet so many new people from different countries and this is a lovely part of the hotels ethos: open, sharing and caring whilst everyone has the space they might need. It would be hard to prioritise the hotel's pleasures - the rooms, ambience, delicious food that caters for all preferences, trips and warm and caring staff.
Difficult to imagine how but it keeps improving: from small touches to a new fantastic day on an elegant sailing boat. So looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - tell Donna if you prefer one away from the bar socialising!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinecarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

visited the mistral in june this year. it excelled all expectations - good hotel, fab food and great excursions - would definitely recommend and will be hoping to return next year! All the staff were very attentive and would recommend Gramvousa island and Elafonnisi beach, The highlight must be chania though. Room 305 recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C7556VHcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a great time - chilled days with fun evenings.Also got to see a lot more of the island by going off the beaten track, which was really enjoyable.Discovered some great beaches and villages.Donna, Vassilis and Adonis were very attentive and excellent hosts throughout.As usual the food was just what you want in Crete - fresh and beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a very difficult year, my doctor prescribed a holiday alone, having travelled alone before I was worried about going to a 'normal' hotel. The Mistral is anything but normal, the hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms to an excellent standard, the food delicious, the staff went above and beyond to make my stay relaxing and helped me to enjoy the whole Mistral experience. The other guests were all so different, everyone had their story as to why they chose the Mistral, and I am so glad they were there with me! Thank you everyone! Trudy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just had the most perfect holiday at the Mistral Hotel and to think I was so worried about going on holiday on my own. If you are contemplating going don't - just book it!!! This is a truly fabulous place with wonderful food and great company. Donna, Vassilis & Adonis, the hosts, are absolutely superb. Had some great laughs, trips & cocktails with new friends.
There seemed to be a 50/50 mix of guests who hadn't been to the Mistral before and those who were returning for another stay.
I am most confused at 'wanderer418' and their statement that most of the guests knew each other. I did not find this to be the case at all. A lot of guests seem to have booked 2 weeks and this was their second week so perhaps that is why some had been on the trips before.
I went on two excursions: the beach & fish lunch where there was about 12 of us and the beach/boat trip where there was 7 of us. I thoroughly enjoyed both. If there was any room left on a trip for the following day it was always announced at dinner. A group of us visited Chania independently and we also visited the German cemetery. I spent the rest of the time chilling out around the pool areas - blissful. Did I ever feel excluded? - not once.
Will I go back? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
6.6 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
563 reviews
10.2 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
398 reviews
5.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
509 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#3 of 13 in Kolymbari
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistral

Property: The Mistral
Address: Maleme, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Maleme
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistral Hotel Maleme
The Mistral Maleme, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing