We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing singles holiday”
Review of The Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistral
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having just arrived home from two weeks at the Mistral I found it a very friendly and relaxing hotel, the rooms, I had a deluxe room, are very clean with all the amenities you need and a very comfortable bed! The food is a fixed menu of Greek specialities every night , very tasty and huge quantities! One thing to mention is that the diet is meat based but there are lots of vegetables and salads and they will try to cater for non meat eaters but make sure you tell them. The excursions with Vasillis were very enjoyable and I saw a lot of Crete and the lifestyle. Most people come back every year and everyone was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this holiday for singles of all ages.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back, preferably deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Yesterday I returned home from my second week at the Mistral single hotel. The weather was not perfect, it rained at times and was very windy towards the end of the week, nevertheless it was very enjoyable with a nice crowd.

The superb food in the Mistral was sourced mainly from the hotel's gardens and we also had a meal in the ancient town of Chania and and and excellent fish lunch by the sea.

This is a high class hotel and is beautifully decorated with good furniture and fixtures and fittings plus two swimming pools.

The Mistral is run by brothers Vassilis and Adonis with great support from an English lady called Donna. The rest of the staff are all friendly and helpful.

I am going to the Mistral again in September,I know that some guests will be returning after several previous visits. I think that's recommendation enough

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first trip to the Mistral and you could not wish for a warmer or more friendly welcome and a team who really care about the happiness and comfort of their guests. As the majority of the guests were returning, (some for the 15th or 20th time!!) this must say something about the quality of the Mistral experience. The food id great and the range of outings offered is designed to enable the visitor to enjoy"the real Crete".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my first visit to the Mistral, and I had a wonderful week. The hotel is very comfortable, with nice rooms, and being family run enables you to enjoy a real Cretan experience, especially with the tasty food, and inspired vegetarian dishes which were simply delicious. I went for the Easter Festival week, which offered a real opportunity to mix with the local people and share the whole local Greek Orthodox experience. Many people had visited the Mistral before, so there is a real sense of community when you arrive, and I was quickly welcomed into the fold. If you are looking for a relaxed holiday with the focus on traditional local experiences, friendly staff, and wonderful food I would highly recommend the Mistral.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back, as there is some noise from the bar and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at The Mistral in June 2012 and cannot compliment it enough. Being collected from the airport and personally welcomed by Adonis was a nice touch and made me feel very comfortable on my first singles holiday.

When we arrived at the hotel I was very impressed. It is beatifully looked after and very clean. My room was at the back, which as others have said, is a good idea to book if you want a more peaceful night. A good tip is to pay for the air conditioning. It is well worth it. But do not be put off by the rooms at the front as they too are very very nice and the only real noise one would hear is from the bar when people are having a good time, which you will probably be participating in anyway. My room was clean, spacious, had a wonderful shower and a sea view balcony.

Breakfast is a very social affair as people head down to the Al Fresco dining area. Shaded from the sun, which is lovely and warm in the mornings, everyone eats together and chats about last nights dinner and events and what their plans are for the day. The beauty of this hotel is that everyone meets everyone else. There is no pressure to do so, it just naturally happens. One makes new friends very easily and this is especially good if you are new to singles holidays and feel a little nervous. There is no need to be.

I spent most of the days lazing by the pool and relaxing. Which, unlike most hotels, does not suffer from overcrowding. There will probably be only 20 - 30 people there anyway, and these are all fellow residents. It has the feel of being an exclusive club. Lunch is a relaxed event, sharing a meal with whoever is there and chatting over great food and good wine at very affordable prices. There is always something to do if you want to venture out for the day and visit places with others or, if you want, you can go alone.

In the evening, everyone starts to mingle at the bar by the pool around 7.15for G&T's etc before dinner at 8. The food is delicious and the service, being run by the family, is first class and friendly. The wine, which is free, just keeps on coming and we found ourselves most nights sitting at the table till gone 11 before we wandered to the bar and let the music and atmosphere completely relax us. You get the feeling that you are part of a group that has known each for ages. It is so relaxed and makes you wonder why other hotels don't offer the same.

A perfect relaxing holiday for anyone who is single and wants to feel part of the crowd very quickly. Highly highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear and on the top floor for the best views and quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bravurax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Mistral twice and had two great stays in this part of Crete. The hotel had nice clean rooms and a beautiful pool and garden. Food was a nice mix of Cretan specialities and European dishes and the barman was always friendly to all.

The owner and his family make sure that you are comfortable and that you visit historical and natural places around the hotel. They also explain Cretan traditions and organize dance and music event around the pool. It was the first time visiting Greece that i felt less of just a tourist and able to understand a bit of local life.

I would recommend the place for any single or friends group that want to socialize with locals and fellow guests.

Room Tip: There have been rooms redecorated that might be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchhydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I travelled solo and was impressed with this hotel and staff. Helpful friendly staff. Well planned excursions organized by the hotel self. Good advice on other 3rd party excursions based on your own interests. Excellent pool(s) and food. Relaxed atmosphere. Internet. Wifi.

Room Tip: Sleep quality is actually very good, only my fault for taking room facing the bar/poor at night.( an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kentfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maleme hotels
0.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
253 reviews
0 mi away
Kouros Chania Villas
Kouros Chania Villas
#7 of 11 in Maleme
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#7 of 15 in Maleme
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#8 of 15 in Maleme
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katrin Beach Apartments
Katrin Beach Apartments
#10 of 15 in Maleme
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistral

Address: Maleme, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Maleme
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistral Hotel Maleme
The Mistral Maleme, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing