We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eria Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oliva Ηotel(Maleme)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maleme Mare(Maleme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
26
3
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
3
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 34 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2006

It is very hard finding somewhere suitable for my wife Jenny following her stroke. She is now quadriplegic and holidaying is a tough proposition. Luckily, we came across Eria resort. It is a fabulous place, even for those with very severe disabilities.

They have a fabulous pool and Jenny was swimming everyday, which was great therapy and fun! The hotel supplies hoists and electric beds, air mattresses, etc and the rooms are spacious, spotless and well-equipped. The staff are excellent, very friendly and can't do enough for you and we had some great late nights at the pool bar. Listen to the frog chorus!!!!

Food is good at the hotel, although we liked try other places to eat, but it was fresh, healthy and tasty when we ate there. Eria have an extensive bar menu, some great fruit cocktails and the beer is always ice cold!

Out of the hotel the local pavements and roads are a little tricky to negotiate with a wheelchair, but it is worth the effort to go into Maleme for some great food, a walk to the beach or local shopping. The hotel arranges transport to various places but try Chania - it is a great little fishing town with great dining and shops. Again though, the terrain is a bit rough for the wheelchair, but worth the effort.

Our week there is one we will always remember and we will return in the near future, for sure. See you soon Eria Resort!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Aaronski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

The Eria Resort is purpose built for disabled people and their carers. The hotel is wonderfully barrier-free from the pool (gentle sloped ramp with good handrails and wheelchairs suitable for the pool if needed) to the bedroom suites with walk/wheel-in showers and plenty of grab rails. The view from our balcony was lovely and I would recommend the first floor rooms because of this. The staff were very friendly and unfailingly polite and helpful. We particularly appreciated the help given by Iannis (not sure of spelling!) during the airport transfers - something that can be a bit stressful with a wheelchair.

Breakfasts are great - wonderful greek yoghurt, fruit, cereal, pastries, cheese and fruit as well as cooked food if you want it. It was nice to be able to eat at the hotel if we didn't want to go out, but we enjoyed eating at the many restaurants along the seafront at Maleme. We were glad we had hired an electric scooter as it would have been a long push back from the beach (about 15-20mins walk). We chose to take the quiet road to the beach through the olive groves. This was fine as we had lights on the electric scooter but otherwise a good torch would be advisable. Maleme seafront is ideal for wheelchair users - very flat and you can "wheel" quite a long way. Restaurant staff were keen to make you feel at home and the food was very reasonably priced.

We appreciated the wheelchair accessible outings as we chose not to hire a car. Crete, by its nature, is not very accessible terrain so it was good to be able to get out and about without making the effort ourselves!

It was good to stay at a hotel where you could relax knowing that your disabled partner can be as independent as possible. I thoroughly enjoyed my lazy holiday and we have already booked to go back in 2007.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank etmjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

Very accessible hotel, very friendly staff who went out of their way to help us, lots of very good food.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RWAed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

The resort is a brilliant idea but is let down by its poor food and the price of "extras" -- reminiscent of the "cruet-extra" mentality once associated with Blackpool landladies.

The list of extras includes 3 euros to have breakfast in your room, 4 euros per day for use of the safe and 18 euros to use the jacuzzi. One evening we got a pot of tea for two from the bar. We got one and a half cups each and it cost 5.20 euros.

The evening meal was 8.50 euros the first week and 9.50 the second week. A small bottle of water with it was an extra 1.50 [40 cents from the supermarket].

The Greek theme-night with dancers was an extra 10 euros each on top of the meal. They didn't charge us for it the second week as we could hardly escape it.

The area immediately outside our room was by the pool and bar area. Music was playing from morning till midnight and we could hear everything. Several nights we couldn't sleep due to the sound of people carousing right outside the room. Most mornings it was also the breafast area so we heard the shuffling of tables from 7am.

Access to the village was either via quiet back lanes or the busy main road, which was fine during the day but not a good idea after dark. It wasn't until into our second week that we did in fact discover a restaurant within easy reach for an alternative evening meal. If only we'd found it earlier.

Whilst there were a few cullinary delights, most of the food was mediochre and some of it inedible -- greasy undercooked bacon and old hard-boiled eggs for example. The main problem was that dishes were pre-cooked and then kept warm so nothing was "really hot". One especially awful evening we were given a selection of fresh fruit as compensation but no refund.

The area was great and the staff (with one exception) were all very helpful and agreeable, but most of the delights of the village (such as the local barber who was once a bluecoat at Butlins and the supermarket with delicious ice-cream for one euro) we discovered for ourselves.

The trips out in the hotel's accessible mini-bus were excellent. The only dissapointment was that two were cancelled as no-one else had booked them. They found us an excellent private accessible taxi firm and we did have two wonderful enjoyable trips, but they were quite pricey.

For anyone whose interests are mainly lying around the pool (which had wheelchair access) or wandering down country lanes to the beach, or who can hire a car to get and see the countryside and eat out in the evenings, then this really is a good place to stay.

We managed to enjoy ourselves but were somewhat dissapointed that the hotel didn't quite meet our expectations.



  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank HydeDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
312
Reviewed May 17, 2006

This is a small hotel run specifically for people with disabilities and their carers. The manager and staff are very friendly and helpful. Transfers for the airport and excursions are well organised and led by a kind, careful and thoughtful driver. The hotel is well designed and all areas are fully accessible including the swimming pool. The less good points are that there are too many extra charges for equipment that is essential for many guests eg hoists and shower chairs. The food is variable with too little variety for breakfasts and quite a limited menu at dinner. It is a pity that many more hotels are not fully accessible to people with disabilities so that carers, familes and those with a disability can enjoy the full amenities of a larger hotel and be as fully accepted as any other guest.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews