We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eria Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sunny Suites Apartments(Maleme)(Great Value!)
$413
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledra Maleme(Maleme)(Great Value!)
$41
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mythos Beach(Maleme)(Great Value!)
$48
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Futura Hotel(Maleme)(Great Value!)
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oliva Ηotel(Maleme)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
26
3
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
3
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 34 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I work as a personal assistant for Tiina Kari, whos MS-disease was diagnosed in year 2003. Later she became a widow and needed more help in home we started as a work pair.
We travelled as much as her condition allowed and in the cold winterdays we started to dream of holiday somewhere sunny and warm place.

I was searching at internet hotels for handicapped persons and noticed that in some cases word accessibility meant only a ramp for wheelchair or that shower corner was open, but there was some kind of raised structure which prevents the way to the shower.

At Crete, village called Maleme I found a hotel, which seemed to be just perfect and I started mail correspondence with the manager of Eria-resort, Mrs Diamanto Apostolaki.

We reached to a deal for a 2 weeks board and lodging costs and reserved a room and flights to turn of April-May.
Travelling with a wheelchair was a new thing for both of us, but I found all the information I needed at Helsinki-Vantaa Airport websites and because we flyed with blue and white wings, I contacted also Finnair.

Early in the morning of our travelday we started from Lahti by a taxi to the Helsinki Airport. There we felt us as VIP-clients, everything went smoothly and we got in the plane first and Tiina was carried to her seat by two men.

At the Hania Airport we were picked from the plane with servicecar and after we got our luggages, there was waiting us Eria-resorts Inva-car driver Yannis.
From this first moment we got so good service during our two weeks stay, that it still warms our mind when thinking it.

At the hotel we got a friendly reception by cheerful Diamanto, showing us to our room and telling first information for settling down.
The room was well equipped and spacious, there was a long balcony, where we often sit watching slowly walking turist and even more slowly cars passing by.
We had a nice view to the seaside, olivegroves and the lovely garden,
where unbelievable big roses were blooming.
For Tiina there was electrically operated bed, where she was easy to help.
In the bathroom there was important crab bars, raised toilet seat, roll over shower etc and it was completely as good as we have used to have in home.

During those two weeks morning and evening we took wheelchairwalks round the Maleme village, often to the beach where it took time depending route, 15-20 minutes.
It was so nice to walk and enjoy Cretan spring and flowers.

Exept one dinner, we had our meals at the hotel ja we got so good Cretan food, sitting outside and with the other hotelguests from all over the Europe.
Boarders were of many different ages and groups but something was common and that was disability/disease and that they had assistant, some of them even more than one.
Within our two weeks stay at Eria, there was groups from Great Britan, Switzerland, Danmark and Norway.

Diamanto and her staff organized also evening program and we were taking part at barbeque-party, we danced with local dancing-group in the Greek-evening all together round the pool and if our
courage and singing skills would let along also sing as a Karaoke-nights star.


Because they have a Inva-car and driver in the hotel, there was also opportunity participate at tours to all over of Cretan island.
We didnt go these tours because of Tiina got easily sick in the car, but those who were with, complimented tours well organized and always fullfilled taken inaccount group members special needs.

Hotel´s pool was equipped with a ramp and they have also special wheelchairs for going into pool. Different kind of floating-helps were also reserved for our use and the pool was in a hard use all the time.
There was also gym and you could get massage- physiotherapy and beauty services upon request.

Eria-resort´s staff deserves a specialnotice, because everyone with whom we were dealing with, attitude to their work and us staying there with heart warmly.
Reception was open around the clock you could get help, if needed also during the night.

Disabled/handicapp people´s special needs are taken into account in Eria-resort brilliantly and when you add in that the Cretan hospitality and people-first approach we will warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Mirja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed a week at Eria with my father, now 91 years old and very limited in mobility. The resort is fully equipped for disabled needs and small enough for a very personal touch. Its real strength is in its people: Manager Diamanto and colleagues could not have been more welcoming, helpful, and attentive. On one occasion when a doctor was needed they arranged the visit so as not to interfere with a planned trip, much to the patient's delight.
Any concerns that the resort might not be sufficiently prepared for the specific needs of an elderly guest were soon dispelled. Collection by wheelchair-adapted vehicle from and delivery to the airport was completely efficient and saved much stress. My father's adjustable bed with "monkey bar" was a real godsend.
Food is good, unpretentious and varied, with an emphasis (naturally) on local produce and cuisine. It is sensible to be on time for meals, as some hot dishes can be fairly cool by the end of the meal period. Think of superior, well prepared family meals (for a very large family) rather than dinner at the Ritz, and you'll get the idea.
Niggles really are minor, but for "balance", here they are. Some inessential equipment (e.g. a shower head holder) was in need of replacement. Staffing can be on the light side - the excellent staff multitask very efficiently, but even they can't be in two places at once. Even so, you won't wait long for anything. (Special mentions to Maria, Violetta and Iannis).
Crete is a beautiful Island. The setting of Eria resort is quiet, peaceful and scenic to both sides. As far as we could tell most rooms, like ours, would have had excellent views. Many guests were obviously regular visitors - we can see why. If Dad is up to the journey we'll be back .

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms for the balcony views.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Redbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Let me, as a handicapped person (after a stroke) to give my un-reserved appraisal and recommendation of a small hotel on the beautiful and romantic Greek island of Crete.
My wife and I have now been guests there for six successive years and have enjoyed the warm weather of autumn – 25-30 degrees in September/October.
To return to Eria is like, coming home to the family’ once a year. The staff is all heartily people, who do their utmost to give the guests a lovely and unforgettable holiday.
Eria is a comfortable hotel of modest size, 13 double-rooms, mostly inhabited by ‘regular guests’ from all over Europe, who return to the place, year after year.
The hotel (home-page: www.eria-resort.gr has been specially adapted to handicapped with lift, elevation-beds and various necessary hand-rails and other gadgets.
Already in the air-port of Chania you will be picked up by the Hotel’s polite driver, Yannis, who will take you to Eria in the hotel’s ‘handi bus’ which is also used for the lovely excursions, arranged by Eria. You can rent an electric wheelchair at Eria at a reasonable price. And you will meet the legendary helpfulness of the Greeks, whenever you are passing streets and other ‘hurdles’ on the excursions.
The food served in Eria is delightful, and the chef de cuisine deserves several stars or her art og cooking. Drinks and other beverages (wine, beers etc.) are cheep, compared to other countries.
All meals from breakfast are eaten outside by the swimming-pool, and Eria several evenings offer entertainment of high ethnic quality.
We have already booked our stay for next year!

Henrik Bach, author and journalist.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank avatorAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Hello,
We are a familly with a disabled child. We go in ERIA RESORT every year!
Dear “ruby2Shropshire” we think that your comments are very un-fair!
This hotel is a paradise for us and when we show these comments we thought that we have to write you back...

How do you except to pay the same prices in a luxury hotel with the super market???
Does this happen in your country???
We leave in Greece, and we found all prices in the hotel ERIA RESORT very normal.
As we say in Greece everything depends from the "head"!
That means that the manager is a brilliant person, always smiling and ready to do her best for all the guests! All the staff follows her and they are very friendly and helpful!
The excursion are so well organised and we find the prices reasonable and the most important so accessible! We see every year something new and we realised that Crete is accessible, thanks to the research that Diamanto (the manager) has done!
This hotel gives us the possibility to have really nice and accessible holidays!

Dear Diamanto and the staff, we look forward to seeing you again this summer!
Keep doing great job and offering us wonderful time

We love you!

Avator familly!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank avatorAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

First the good points,hotel very clean,people that worked there, hard working kind and courteous,esp Yannis the driver.
Now for the bad,far to expensive,every thing from a bottle of water which cost 30c in the super market, Eria charged 1.50 e to the eye watering charges for a massage.The food was cold and not good.By the middle of the week i d given up trying to find anything i could eat.
Lastly,why do guests have to pay for "entertainment" which they have nt asked for?Beware of this,as if you don t want to pay and you cant get out of the hotel the only place left is your room!
Trips are pushed,again expensive.Avoid the manageress .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank ruby2Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews