We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, exellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
nittedal,norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, exellent staff.”
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We had A fabolous vaccation here(2 weeks).The staff was superb and we fell in love with them all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
6 Thank jarleNittedal_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for a week in august 2008. The hotel is clean and nice, but after you have been there for a couple of days, things start to happen.
First our aircondition broke down. Water was dripping from it. We told the staff, but they did not do anything with it.
Then the light on the bathrom did not work. So we have to sit on the toilet with an open door, because we did not se anything with the door closed. It took 3 days before the staff could change the light bulb.

The hotel lies right on the beach, wich is a crappy beach. Rocks as far as you can se. You have to wear sandals/shoes to go down to the water. Not good!

If you want to go out to dance, Maleme has nothing to offer. You then have to take a taxi to Platanias or Chania, wich has quite many clubs and bars.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thorsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lympne, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We went to this hotel for the 5th time in four years, we choose this hotel mainly because of its location, nice and quiet and close enough to the main resorts if we want that kind of thing.

Check in was very quick and they give you a orange juice whilst you wait for your keys.

The room:

Was up to it usual standard, other reviews mention the cooking facilities, I didn't have a problem with them, who goes on holiday to cook, it did its job, although they could update the hob it is a bit dated.
The apartment had a large double bed and the kids slept in the main room on sofa beds. TV had a couple of English channels and in the evening some of the Greek channels had movies in English. The room was cleaned every day bar Sunday.

The pools:

There are two pools, a large one where most of the families go with there kids and a smaller one, this is one we used only went to large on once, no trouble getting a sun bed, my only issue was that the pool didn't get cleaned everyday.
.

The Bar:

Very good size bar, with very good staff, no complaints at all.

The Beach:

Just over from the hotel, best to take beach shoes as there are a some pebbles here.



The staff:

The manager Takis left last year, which is shame but he can be found about 50 metres to the right of the hotel, managing another hotel called Ellios(I think that's its name) also the bar manager Manos left also, he can be found also he is running a hotel locally.
The Manager is very nice and does a great job running the hotel, did not think this at first but changed my mind after a few days. All the staff this year were very good and could not do enough for you if asked, The owner George is about in the evening and a nicer man you could not meet.

The resort:

Maleme is very quiet, just how we like it, BUT there are many restaurants locally, most serving nice food, I agree with a fellow poster when she says not to go to Perasma, the food there is
bad, AVOID. There is bus service that will take you anywhere in Crete, these buses are A/C and are more like coaches. We hired a car from gee pas the best price in town and the owners are locals and are now friends.

The Cost:

I booked with Kosmar who are now sadly not around anymore, I paid £1800.00 for two weeks, not bad in my opinion. Crete it self used to be cheap but because of the weak pound this is no longer the case, it worked out the we (four of us) needed about 200 euros a day spending, I said that we didn't eat in if we did then the cost may come down a bit.

All in all a great holiday in a great hotel with great staff.......

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tonypux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Maleme Mare Hotel in Maleme, Crete.

Given that we paid more for a good hotel, we were a little disappointed by the Maleme Mare. We had booked a self-catering apartment, but there was no way we could self-cater with the utensils provided. The selection of cutlery was ok, as was the fridge/freezer, but the lack of of a microwave/oven was a serious oversight and made cooking substantial meals impossible. The only option was to use the hob - a portable device straight out of the 1950s.

The hotel apartment on first inspection seemed fine, though we were disappointed to find that one balcony door (we had two balconies) wouldn't open, while the other one wouldn't close properly (it only closed at the top, not the bottom, so wasn't that secure). Furthermore, the shutter on one window was broken and so the shutter was permanently down. The air conditioning had also been turned on, when we had not specified that we wanted it (you do, of course, have to pay extra for this).

The above problems with windows/doors were resolved quickly and without fuss by the management, though the door that didn't shut properly was never remedied. We didn't take this further, as we had a safe and the chances of anyone attempting to break in were slim to none anyway). Aside from these initial problems, the apartment was ok - just a shame about the poor catering conditions. The shower/bathroom was good however.

Room aside, the two pools are good-sized and there is a large bar area. The internet connection is surprisingly fast and at 3 Euros for an hour, is pretty cheap.

The hotel manager/receptionist was polite and helpful, if a little aloof.

The hotel is, however, let down by the resort. There simply isn't much to Maleme - a few hotels, several totally soulless restuarants and a few shops selling the usual tacky souvenirs. They seem to be in the process of turning Maleme into a big resort with a beachfront, but it's not even half finished. There are abandoned roadworks all over the place and the presence of industrial buildings hardly lends much charm to the place. Only the nearby presence of the beach saves the resort from being completely beyond redemption.

If you want some authentic Greek cuisine, take the bus into Chania. We tried one restaurant in Maleme - called something like 'Perasma' - which was the closest thing to a traditional taverna in the resort. We were aware that this place wasn't meant to be good, but as we were short of options we thought we'd give it a try anyway. The warnings proved to be accurate. The service - provided by the establishment owner's kids - was poor. The girl seemed totally disinterested when taking our order and picked her nose throughout. The food was utterly mediocre, nothing special at all. To top it off, we got billed for bread that we specifically had refused when offered. Don't be fooled by the attractive facade - this place is not worth eating in.

Overall, the Maleme Mare hotel is alright but our apartment was not worth the money we paid, and the lack of substantial catering facilities was very disappointing. The resort also leaves much to be desired. We actually prefer quiet resorts, but even for us there was just not enough to do.

Disappointing overall.

  • Liked — Internet access was fast and cheap
  • Disliked — Poor catering facilities and problems with windows/doors not closing/opening properly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alpha_chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Just come back from the Maleme Mare, which is a nice small hotel with big spacious rooms. Maleme itself is peaceful and quiet with about 15 - 20 restaurants to choose from. It is also close to Platanias which is very busy.

The Maleme Mare is between a 3 and 4 star appartment hotel, that is clean and has pretty well tended gardens and 2 pools to choose from. The beach is the other side of the road and is pebbly but still nice. Don't let the road put you off as there is hardly any traffic at all.

The staff are pleasant and the hotel functions well. We had no real complaints at all, except the kitchen equipment is limited if you want to self-cater. We ate out all the time so this did not matter to us.

Stelicios the bar man and Mata the head waitress were the stars for us plus the friendly gardener (can't remember his name). Prices for meals out were very reasonable eg greek salad (buy only one as there is ample for two), main course and a bottle of wine will be around about 30€ for two people.

Crete is a lovely island and we hired a car for 3 days. The Cretans drive very badly so be careful, but we managed a trip to Knossos, the excavated Minoan Palace circa 2000BC, a beach trip to Elafonisi island and lagoon and Almyrida (east of Souda bay) a very nice little seaside resort with a great beach and shallow water for the kids.

  • Liked — Quiet location with all you need close at hand
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

A friendly, exceptionally clean small complex with excellent service. Based right on the beach (which isn't to write home about- but there are plenty of fanstastic beaches not too far away if you have transport) - to the Maleme Mare staff, nothing was too much trouble. The room/studio we had was incredibly spacious (we did pay a little extra for a studio instead of just a room) and we had not one but 2 balconies overlooking the sea. The resort is very quiet (which is what we were looking for) but with about 10 or so different restaurants to choose from within walking distance. However, if you are looking for more nightlife Platanias is only about 5km away. It is very windy there but the swimming pool is protected from the wind. Altogether a really wonderful holiday.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff and size and cleanliness of accomodation
  • Disliked — The Wind! -
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Fix32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My husband, my daughter (12 Autistic) and I had a lovely stay at the Maleme Mare.

The appartment was clean and as expected. One or two minor problems; there was no plug for either the wash hand basin in the bathroom or the kitchen sink which made washing up impossible!.

The kitchen was, however, inadequate and there is no way anyone could self cater as the cooking facilities are basic to say the least. See picture! Two electric rings on what looked like an electric version of a camping stove!

The Island does have power cuts on very hot days. Apparently when everyone switches on their aircons, the grid cannot cope and out go all the lights. We did experience one of these and watched as two Greek sparks climbed up a wooden ladder to a junction using torches and a tool box that seemed to comprise of a long bamboo stick with a hook on the end - but they got it working after three attempts!

The grounds were lovely and the two pools were of a good standard. Watch out for those Germans and Scandinavians - they do like to leave their towels on the sunbeds! NB: The English are very much in the minority in the Maleme Mare.

Our Kosmar Rep (Angela) was extremely kind and non-intrusive. She even arranged for us to go to the front of the queue in the airport so my daughter didn't have to cope with the crowds - for which we are very grateful. She was very imformative and friendly.

Maleme is a very quite resort with a pebble/shingle/sandy beach. The waves can be quite rough at times when the always present wind is strong (there are lifeguards which are not always there). The beach has some shade as there are a few trees. Not very good for snorkling. The shops sell swimming shoes quite cheaply which will protect you from the little black stinging sea urchins - if you put your foot on one they really hurt.

There are quite a few tavernas along the beach front. In particular the Estia (less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel) was consistently good and also good value for money. We didn't like the Taverna across the road - we felt like cattle being herded along in there! Further along the beach road going away from Maleme towards Chania (turn right as you face the sea) you will find a taverna (10 minutes slow walk) right on the beach which was very pleasant, good food and lots of it too.

Travelling up the road away from the beach towards the main road are some shops selling most of what you need. Along on the left hand side is a Taverna called Perasma (I think that's right) it's covered in vines and looks very pretty. Don't be fooled by its appearence! The service was poor and extremely slow (even by Greek standards). The food wasn't really worth the waiting for.

The Greek evening offered by the Maleme Mare was good fun with Greek dancing, music and food, plenty of it. The evening was very good value for money. Although we didn't see him the hotel also lay on a magician and we heard good reports about him - I believe that was free.

I would recommend the trip to Gramvousa Island. Be warned there is no shade on the beach at Gramvousa or Balos lagoon. The ship hire out sun brollies quite cheaply. The climb up to the Fortress is hot, hard and very high - not to be attempted by someone unless reasonably fit. However the view at the top is worth the effort and the Fortress is good to look round (although you don't get much time). The ship gets very crowded, but there are enough seats under the shade, provided you get there quickly!

It's worth booking a trip on the little red train that runs around. They go on a variety of lengthy trips. We only discovered this towards the end of our holiday and were sorry we hadn't found out earlier. We went on "The Grand Canyon" trip which takes you up into the mountains and through magnificent scenery. The train is covered so you are in shade and as you are travelling there is a lovely breeze. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would higly recommend it.

On the whole the Maleme Mare is a nice place to stay, and is situated in a lovely location, with good facilities around.

  • Liked — The grounds and pools.
  • Disliked — The pitiful kitchen people are expected to self cater on!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pineapple_Poll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.5 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#5 of 15 in Maleme
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#7 of 15 in Maleme
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella Pais
Hotel Bella Pais
#9 of 15 in Maleme
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel

Property: Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
Address: Maleme, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
#4 Family Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maleme Mare Beach Hotel Maleme
Maleme Mare Beach máleme
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing