We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This was our first time to Crete. We were looking for a good value place to stay that was safe and fun for the kids. After much searching we found this hotel Mike and thought the reviews were fantastic.
The stay itself certainly lived up to reviews that we had read. It is a lovely family run business with Manos running the pool bar and Sophia running the restaurant.
The day we were due to fly I had an email from Manos checking our flight details so that he could make sure he was looking out for us. On arrival (it was late 2am) we put the cases in the room and went downstairs to get a bottle of wine so that we could relax on the balcony - Manos gave us this and some water as a complimentary drink to welcome us - a really nice touch.
The next day we wandered up to the hotel (we were staying in the appartments a few minutes down the road) for breakfast - Sophia straight away knew which room we were in and checked that we were happy with everything.
From then on everything from the pool, lunches at the pool bar and dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. We have 2 young children who made friends with Sophia's daughter Freida - Sophia has a table set up at the front of the restaurant where the young kids can paint, draw, play games - it is fantastic and makes for a lovely relaxed evening meal!
As a rule on holiday we like to try new places to eat, and we did do some of this over the 2 weeks, but we ended up spending the majority of our nights at Mike's restaurant as the food was great quality with fantastic service.
As you can tell we loved the holiday, and will definitely be back some day! The personal service is what really makes the difference at this place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CT2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 389 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

Wow is all i can say! This is the most perfect hotel i have ever visited! I have been coming to this hotel since the age of 2, and i have never had a bad holiday here! I have visited 9 times, and am now treated like royalty on every visit! on arriving in the restaurant on the first night, after a 2 year break from the hotel, The Waitress (Sofia) Knew exactly what we were going to have to eat and drink, now that is what i call a personal service! The bar staff in the pool bar could not be any nicer, and Manos is fantastic, especially with all his memorable sayings, which never fail to be repeated at home for months on end after any trip! The hotel is a family run business, and you can always see the owner, Mike, working in the fields behind the apartments, or cleaning the pool, or just having a drink with the guests, you don't get that in most places. the business is compltely run by the family, Mike works with the feilds and cleaning and general odd jobs around the hotel, Elena is the head chef at the hotel and makes the best food in Crete for a great price, Sofia is the main waitress in the Restaurant with her husband helping too, and you can usually see her daughter freida around most nights aswell, and Manos is in Charge of the Apartments, and he does a fantastic job with them too. On every return to the apartments, something has been replaced or modernised, be it the tables and chairs, the bar stools, the introduction of free wi-fi, all these little things that make the hotel the hidden jem that it is. I have visited this hotel 9 times, and returning for a tenth next year. The pool and pool area are first class, with stunning food and drink on offer almost 24/7. There are plenty of sunbeds to relax on, and its honestly worth every penny. This absolute Gem of a hotel is magnificent, the best hotel on the island, perfect in every way, i will be returning here for the rest of my life! Five Stars!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amaiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed at Mike Hotel from 13 July to the 20th, other family members stayed at louis creta princess up the road, at short notice decided to go to crete and got a room at Mike Hotel for the three of us. The taxi dropped us wrongly off at the apartments which are down the hill from the hotel, a member of staff put us in her own car and drove us up to the hotel, on arriving at the hotel, the space and decor were lovely, it was so clean and fresh, tables on the patio, we were met by Sophia a lovely lady, she and her family run the hotel. Our rooms were cleaned and beds made every day!, Sophia soon cottoned on that i like my coffee in the mornings, and began to produce mine in the biggest mug she had...the food was gorgeous, and sophia would come to the table with something her mother had made for us to try, she would then appear with a platter of fruit, nothing was to much. We used some of the facilities at the all inclusive up the road, free food and drinks, but always nearly ended up eating at Mikes. The food was much better, the atmosphere was so relaxed.
You have the use of the apartment pool which is a 5 minute walk away. If you want to stay somewhere that is very reasonable, and be looked after, stay at Mikes. A little Gem. Thankyou Sophia and family for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is the 3rd time I have been to Mikes Apts. my partner has been coming to Crete for many years and loves this part of Crete. It is not for the party/dance brigade, but for the peaceful, easygoing person who likes nothing better than to relax and experience the real Crete. Super rooms cleaned every day, lovely view across to the sea where we could watch wonderful sunsets. There was always space round the pool to lounge and Manos and staff are always around to serve you with food and drinks. Plenty of car hire to get you to the out of the way places if you want to explore (watch the goats on your bonnet!!!)The tavernas around malame all serve wonderful food and drink and cannot do enough for you. I will be going back again and again and again to visit this wonderful family of the Paraskakis, if you want a chilled relaxed quiet holiday then I thouroughly reccomend Mikes apartments to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is our third visit to Mike's and we will return for many years to come. The hotel and apartments are ideal. Not too fussy, well appointed and extremely clean. Manos does a great job running the pool and bar, making all guests, whether newcomers or old timers very welcome. Sophie and Helena run the most relaxed and homely restaurant with lovely home made food and home grown produce (courtesy of Mike). This is an ideal retreat for couples, singles and families in a quiet corner of Crete. Nothing is too much trouble and we love it here. Thanks to the Paraskasis family...and especially Manos for his 'vitamins' and more importantly his superb chocolate milkshakes x

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raquelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

excellent from the time we arrived to a warm welcome from the family, to the day we sadly left for home. We had a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking the bay - it was quite a suntrap! Manos and Sophia were lovely friendly hosts, a real credit to their family1 Food at the hotel was good, I think we tried all the specials! Friends joined us after a week and we all agreed we had a great holiday at Mike's appts. Buses stopped outside the hotel, car hire was available very close to the hotel. we are hoping we can come again next year; we first stayed here about 16 years ago and have been many times since, always enjoying the warmth and hospitality of the family amd a great time at Maleme

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandValNSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The perfect place for hollidays!!!!!!!great food at the hotel restaurant and specials coctails at the pool bar.the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzoakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maleme hotels
0.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#8 of 15 in Maleme
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#5 of 15 in Maleme
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
205 reviews
0 mi away
Katrin Beach Apartments
Katrin Beach Apartments
#10 of 15 in Maleme
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Hotel & Apartments

Address: Maleme, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maleme
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range: $50 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Studios & Apartments are situated on the beach in the village of Maleme, 17 kilometres west of Chania. The self-catering apartments are modern and spacious and are all surrounded by a beautiful tropical gardens. 100 metres away from the apartments is Mike's Hotel and Restaurant. Based on more traditional design, the hotel includes sea view or mountain view rooms. Enjoy Mediterranean specialties on the restaurant terrace gazing at the blue horizon of the Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike Hotel And Apartments
Mike Hotel & Apartments Maleme, Crete - Chania
Mike Hotel máleme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing