We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
374
54
9
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
54
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barhotel restaurantnothing is too much troubleplenty of sunbedsdvd playertwo weeksboiled eggsa sea view roomblack lanternair conrelaxing holidayimperial hotelfamily run hotelyear after yearexcept sundayhome cookingcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 443 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a party of 10, we didn’t know what to expect and didn’t know if our party size would be an issue - well we had no need to worry - Lunch time we all ate amazing food together, we had tables pulled together (the food is so lovely and very reasonably priced we didn’t see any reason in going anywhere else) the staff are amazing, so friendly and nothing is a problem for them.
Everyone is so attentive to you especially to the children! Manos is great with the kids and has lots of puzzles to keep them busy!

We ate out every night, we ate at the hotel twice and both times the food was lovely, would recommend anyone staying to eat there.

We had trips out and went on the local bus (which is an experience!!! Take a bottle of water with you!!)

We would recommend going out trying lots of places the black lantern was lovely as was the wave on the beach front.
Also goto the next fishing village, beautiful views and amazing food!

On the whole the rooms, the pool, the surrounding area, food and staff deserve a 10/10 - we will definitely be back
Thanks for a fantastic holiday
The Smiths, Caytons and Garners

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank philnkaty2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Just returned from 2 weeks at Mike Hotel and had a great time at this fantastic family run Hotel, Sophia you are amazing thank you to all your staff and Mamas cooking is fantastic.

The Hotel is clean and all the staff are really helpful, welcoming and friendly and will go out of their way to help you

We arrived late due to flight change times but we're welcomed warmly and given a free drink and immediately helped to our room.

The room was great and had everything in it TV, kettle, hairdryer, fridge and air con, all with no extra charges which is most unusual as usually in Greece you have to pay for the air con and fridge. We also had a bottle of Champagne on ice for us as we had mentioned that it was our 30th Anniversary

The Hotel location is on the main coastal road approximately 200 metres from the pool and beach (which was the only thing that was a bit of a let down as the website has it as a beach front location, but this is only the new build studios). Maleme itself is very quiet with not a lot to do with minimal shops but a few different restaurants to eat at. The beach at Maleme is not the best but it is clean, it's a mixture of some sand with pebbles and shingle (not good s for sand lovers). The pool area is great with loads and loads of sun beds, table and chairs etc and we never had a problem getting a bed even in the afternoon. The pool itself is nice and the service at the pool bar, restaurant is fantastic and the food is nice and reasonable (the tuna salad is huge and only €6 and a light afternoon meal for 2).

Getting around is easy The bus stop is directly opposite where you can get the bus every 15-30mins into plataniais which is very busy with loads of shops and restaurants for €1.80 each way or you can go into Chania itself for €2.60 each way.

Chania is very busy as to be expected with typical narrow streets of shops, restauarants, coffee bars and so much more, great day out. The harbour is beautiful and surrounded with restaurants so you can watch the boars and the sun go down whilst eating and having a drink.

Next to the hotel is Gee Pas car rental with a huge array of different vehicles at reasonable prices and you'll get a couple euros off if you stay at Mike, we had fiat panda for 3 days and it was €105 which was great and cheap on fuel. I would wholely recommend a trip to Elonfanssi absolutely beautiful(but get there early and leave early as one Road in and out and very very busy). Falassana is amazing go in the evening sit on the beach and watch the Sunset it just disappears into the sea, I would also recommend visiting Kronos Lake.

All in all a great relaxing holiday with too much to eat and drink, but boy you gotta love it.

Room Tip: Sea view room at the rear of hotel would be nice
Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
8  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Without question, book your holiday at Mike's.

I could end it there, but this incredible family need as much credit as I can possibly hand them for giving my family such a wonderful holiday experience.

You see, this is no ordinary place. In the world of soulless holiday resorts with transient workers, Mike's is a very special and almost unique place run by a beautiful family - Mum is in the kitchen at the hotel (cooking up dishes to die for!), Dad, Mike tends to the grounds and his fields. Brother and Sister Manos and Sofia along with their team look after you so SO well. Always a smile. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

The Hotel and Apartments are their pride and joy. It is the most immaculate place I have ever stayed in. No bins, no laminated signs telling you what you can and can't do. The place just works perfectly.

A bit of an insight in to us. We are a family of 6. Four children ranging from 11-18 and never been on a package holiday. My wife found this last minute and we went for it!

To give you an idea of the family's incredible service, we got there at about 1am, tired and hungry. I asked Manos who checked us in if there was a bag of crisps or something we could have at the bar. No, there wasn't, but instead he proceeded to cook us all ham & cheese toasties! For me this set the bar. I knew we were going to have an amazing time and be thoroughly spoilt.

We booked two apartments. Both immaculate and cleaned everyday (except Sunday)! Seriously good.

As mentioned the home cooking at the hotel is quite delicious. We ate there 4 out of our 7 nights on Crete.

The beach is literally at the bottom of the resort. Lovely to have a dip if you want a change to the pool. And oh wow, that pool! How on earth do they keep it SO clean??

I want these amazing people and their business to be supported for many years to come. They work so bloomin' hard and deserve all the glowing reviews they get.

A massive thank you for giving us a holiday we will remember for life.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shootinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay again here. The accommodation was excellent with a great pool and lovely restaurant.Manos, Sofia, Maria, Mia and the rest of the staff work so hard to make this place perfect. We can't wait to return next year.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank muirhead26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. We stayed for 2 weeks in the hotel. Wonderful air conditioned rooms kept spotless by the cleaners every day. Lovely breakfast. Bus stop right outside the hotel for trips to Chania - which is a must see place, Plantanias, Aghia Marina and Kolymbari - all worth a visit. Sofia, Manos and all the staff at the hotel and pool bar were amazing. Can’t do enough for you and they are always smiling. Pool bar is fantastic. In Maleme eat at Mikes hotel, Wave restaurant and grab a gyros at the local kebab place along from mikes hotel. Gutted to be home.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews