We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Lantern

Black Lantern
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Greek, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
newport, wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

On our holiday in Crete we were taken to The Black Lantern for an evening meal. What a cosy restaurant. You can sit outside and Inside. Menu is varied and they also have a daily menu board. There is so much choice and the food is fantastic. Graham and Ewelina are great hosts. We have visited this on many occasions on our holidays in the last 2 years. Definately a must day or night. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jewellery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    36
    14
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeming Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have had several meals on different occassions in The Black Lantern in Maleme and they have always been delicious with huge portions, I am trying to work my way through the entire menu!
The service is excellent and staff friendly,with of course a glass of raki to end your meal.
I recommend the garlic mushrooms to start with, but beware you don't fill up before the main course arrives!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simple but Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went here based on the reviews on here, and everything we read was absolutely right. The owner is a complete character! but harmless, the food is beautifully presented and everything we had done to perfection. Its a lovely pleasant restaurant to enjoy good food in nice surroundings, you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunches are absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been returning to the Black Lantern in Maleme for many years now and have to say that the welcome from everyone there is never a let down. They have a huge menu from Thai curries to Greek traditional, but my favourite has to be their enormous Sunday lunches. I still have not managed to clean my plate completely yet, but at least the local cats get the little bits of beef I sneak out under my napkin. Just don't tell Graham :-)
It can get a little busy on a Sunday afternoon so we always make sure we reserve a table to avoid disappointment.
The best restauraunt in Maleme by far.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food Very Good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went on recommendatioon, the Taverna is run by an Englishman who has been there for 11 years. Whilst the place looks like a Greek Taverna the food is very much English oriented. Cannot fault the standard of food as it was excellent, I had the lamb chops and my wife had the 'special'. However I found the owner very rude and obnoxious, so we never returned.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pilchy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Lantern also viewed

Maleme, Chania Prefecture
Maleme, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Black Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing