We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five star plus villa highly recommend for a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa HELIOS

Villa HELIOS romance by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa HELIOS romance by night
The villa and the pool Spacious garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Villa HELIOS romance by night
The villa and the pool
Spacious garden
Relaxing at the pool
Relaxing in the garden
Dining outside at the pool
Living room
Dining place and the kitchen
Main bedroom
Wooden roof
Out to the veranda
Enjoying the veranda
Bedroom 1st floor
Out to the balcony
Sea view from the balcony
Bathroom 1st floor
Bedroom ground floor
Bedroom ground floor
Bathroom groundfloor
Villa HELIOS near the beach
Tavern on the beach
The beach of Maleme
The Maleme beach and the island of Thodorou
The beach of Falasarna
The famous lighthouse of Chania
A part of Chania harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maleme, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JaneNorth...
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Five star plus villa highly recommend for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited villa Helios twice before and it just gets better. The villa is equipped with everything you could need or wish for. Bedding & towels in abundance, nice touch is the huge supply of beach towels so you don't have to use your luggage allowance taking your own.
Great welcome by the owners who fill your fridge with lots of goodies - wine cheese olives bread butter and loads of fruit to name just a little, and included in the cost of the holiday. We didn't want to hire a car so Mary the owner organised 2 taxis for us, one with a baby seat for our granddaughter to collect us and return us to the airport. The drivers were waiting with name cards in the airport. It couldn't have been any smoother.
A travel cot which was spotlessly clean was provided with beautiful cotton sheets for the baby and a high chair. We were thoroughly spoiled for the whole two weeks. The cleaning lady came in twice a week and did a marvellous job. She even hung out my washing bless her!
Villa Helios is everything you could wish for with its sparkling clean pool, fabulous gardens and cool smart interior. Also ideally situated for the sea and although only a 2 minute walk to the nearest eateries is very quiet and peaceful and private. Fully air conditioned with wifi. Washing machine, dishwasher & large fridge. Great place for a family holiday.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & standard of property
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
We also enjoyed it very much having your nice family with us this summer for the third time! We love you all including the brand-new granddaughter. We appreciate very much your invitation to visit you in uk! Best regards and wishes to you all! Mary and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobysmum
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Villa Helios”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Many thanks to Michael and Maria for letting us rent their beautiful holiday villa in Maleme. Villa Helios was very clean, well equipped and handy for restaurants, the beach and supermarket. We all loved the pool, the outside area was very comfortable with a swing chair, loungers an undercover eating area and barbecue. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this villa to anyone and hope to return.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Dear Helen, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased to welcome you again in Maleme! Best regards to you all! Mary and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P
Prince Georg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful House & Property”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our family of 7 had a delightful week's stay at this beautiful villa. House was large, adequate rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms. Kitchen had everything you needed to prepare meals. The pool was fabulous and we eat in the outdoor area by the pool everyday!
Location was perfect; just a 5 minute walk to the main road for groceries, bus, car rentals, etc., and the beach was only a 2 minute walk.
Maria and Michael are the friendly and gracious owners who are there to help you with anything.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2015
Hi Regan and family! It was a pleasure to have you with us in Maleme! We enjoyed your company very much and we send our wishes and regards to Canada, hoping to see you again one day! All the best! Mary and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toresen
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
“Super villa, perfect for us”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very nice villa, good size, very helpful owners.
Very quiet, but close to the sea, and close to many tavernas and restaurants, our favourite restaurant was "Wave"...
The pool was clean and inviting, as was the house with regular cleaning, change of towels and pool maintainence.
altough we where "only" two people, there was plenty of room for more...

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Сергей Е
1 review
“Wonderful for cozy and relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Superb villa! Very hospitable hosts! An unforgettable holiday!
Our family of 6 people (4 adults and 2 children) had a rest at the villa №2 (left) at the end of August 2 weeks. Upon arrival at the villa we were met by the owner Maria, who kindly conducted tour of the house, and answered all our questions for amusement. Maria knows the area and can accurately tell and show on the map where and how to travel. The villa has plenty of brochures on attractions of the area. And yet, we were surprised by the owners in the form of a welcome "hamper": chilled watermelon, oranges, and for our men - beer! We were all very satisfied!
The villa has all great! It feels that the owners love this house and imbue it with home comfort and peace of mind. Everything is very well thought out, there is nothing superfluous. There are a sufficient number of dishes, coffee maker, toaster, juicer orange, dishwasher, washing machine, ironing board, plenty of towels and bed linen in the villa. Special thanks must be said for the purity of not only houses, but also the pool. The house was cleaned with fresh linen and towels every three days, and the swimming pool was cared almost every day! Loved the manicured green lawn where you can just lie down, listening to crickets trilling, or play ball or beach tennis. By the way, the owners kindly provided for beach tennis rackets, rubber rings and balls.
The location of the villa is extremely successful. To the beach - 200 meters, to the taverns - 200-400 meters, to the supermarket - 200 meters. Mixed gravel and sand beach, so maybe for somebody it will be better to bring special slippers.
Our stay at the villa was perfect! Thank you Maria and Michael for warmth, comfort and traditional crete gifts, which were kindly provided to us on the day of departure! You are the best!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Hi Sergii,
we are happy to know that you and your family spent a relaxed and cosy time in our villa! So, our goal is achieved to have satisfied and happy guests. You were also distinguish guests and we will be happy to welcome you to Maleme again soon! All the Best! Mary and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Vi...
Zadar, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our best holidays ever”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

From the very beginning to the last moment of our vacancies, the Villa Helios with its hosts Mary and Michael was our "better" home for two weeks! The spacious and perfectly located house placed 50m from the sea does have all necessary characteristics for a perfect holiday - a very lagre and clean pool, a wonderful and quiet garden with a cosy terrace and an airconditioned 3-bedroom/2-bathroom Villa. We also enjoyed the own grill as well as the nearby (5 min. walk) to the best, family-owned taverne of Maleme, directly on the beach. We highly can recommend the Villa to all of you - best for families up to 6 people.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, hosts
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Lieber Dieter and Familie, vielen Dank, dass Ihr Eure Ferien bei uns verbracht habt! Ganz besonders freuen wir uns, dass Ihr Eure Ferien bei uns genoßen habt. Auch Ihr wart für uns ganz liebe Gäste! Wir hoffen Euch wieder mal begrüßen zu dürfen!!! Alles GUTE! Mary und Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen B
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I cannot recommend this villa and location highly enough - for us husband, and teenagers (+ partners) returned from uni it was a perfect holiday. We booked for 10 days and would like to have stayed longer. Maria and Michael the owners were very attentive and arranged airport pickups and filled the fridge on our first night due to the late arrival. They also provided lots of advice and recommendations for activities.The villa itself has everything you would need including dishwasher and washing machine, dvd player etc for a longer stay.

The location is very close to the sea so you can go to sleep listening to the sound of the waves gently rolling onto the shore. You should find everything you need in Maleme.

Local restaurants are very good and you can get a table actually on the beach and watch the sunset which is beautiful. If you want something livelier there is the resort of Platanius a short hop away in a taxi or local bus. Chania is also easily accessed via the very good local transport. We did not feel the need to hire a car. If you like walking would recommend you take walking boots because, although we didn't I wish we had, the gorge walks look really interesting.

The villa and pool were regularly cleaned and the grounds maintained in wonderful condition.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Dear Ellen and Ian, thank you very much for your review and for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us! This is exactly what our goal is and we do always our best for this! We trust we'll see you again or your friends sometime! You are always wellcome! All the best! Mary and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing