We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not go” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledra Maleme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ledra Maleme
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

just got back from ledra apts and i have to say do not go there.we were given a ground floor room wich had a small veranda overlooking car park and two small windows overlooking stairs-so no privacy.in the room itself very basic ie 3cups,3chairs, and two basic wooden beds/settee and 2 single beds for a family of 4.the key consisted of a magnetic fob in which you needed to have any electric in room so when you left the room the air con. which you pay 7 euros a day for switches off. the price of food and drink was very expensive very bland and came with chips. watch out for the bread which you do not order but get charged 2euros 80 for 4 small stale buns.the pool was average sized but there are a few things you need to know there are only 8-10 sunbeds in the sun for 33 rooms and every day the local children ages ranging from about 6 -14 would come down and take over the pool making it difficult for non swimmers. we did complain to the rep and she said it was unacceptable. if you like to eat out and dont use their facilities you can feel very much left out. so in a nutshell i would not stay in these apts again and talking to other families neither would they. overall overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nip40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    65
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

arrived in ledra june 2010 and immediately fell in love with the hotel and village.the hotel has a perfect location between beach and road so no traffic noise or beach club noise.staff always on call for any thing you may require or information i.e. let us know cheap tickets to athens only 19 euros [well worth the visit but stay overnight ]rooms very clean and spacous and remade daily with bed linen and towels and free internet and wii fi we ate in hotel first night then tried other places but then returned due to food better at ledra being home cooked and less run of the mill.
pool cleaned nightly so never asked to leave to add chlorine.world cup being played during visit but did not disturb our holiday
the best way to get around is by local bus which are all air conditioned they go to chania bus terminal from where you can get to any part of the island or beach.nearest bus stop 4 minutes walk from hotel.[lot cheaper than booking with reps ]
all in all a very happy couple and will definately be returning in near future if room at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kouzoulos_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

First off - tripadvisor has this hotel split across two profiles, but it is the same hotel and is in Maleme, not Chania Town.

My partner and I booked this as part of a package holiday with the intention of getting to Crete cheaply and then using the hotel as a base to explore from, and it fitted the bill perfectly. The rooms are of a good size, kept clean and each one has their own balcony. We were fortunate to have a secluded balcony (although the view was only of the resort next door!) to have breakfast on and relax in the evenings. The hotel has a nice pool and poolside area, with all the usual things you'd expect. The beers from the bar are great, ice cold glasses to cool you down in the heat. The hotel is fairly unremarkable otherwise, there is a restaurant too but at the end of the day it's a low budget hotel, so you get what you pay for. Don't expect a 5* treatment, but do expect a friendly owner and a half-decent place to stay! The hotel is a short walk from the pebble beach, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars along the waterfront. It's about 40 minutes by bus from Chania Town and the bus stop is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

There is free parking if you do rent a car, which I'd thoroughly recommend. We were able to cover so much more ground, rather than getting bogged down in a tour group. We drove almost all the way around the island (spending a couple of nights at other hotels, but when we'd only paid £120 each for flights and acommodation, it didn't matter) so we were able to see Chania, Iraklion, Ayios Nikolaos, Knossos and even made it down to the Libyan sea for a swim. This is the perfect place to stay if you want to get out and do your own thing to explore Crete, but not if you're looking for an idyllic resort!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Bear_365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at Ledra Maleme for 6 nights, and liked it a lot. It was off the main road, off the loud tourists hotels of Maleme, so it was very quiet, which we appreciated a lot. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious, with plane but somehow cosy docor and a balcony, where we were having our (self prepaired) breakfasts every morning. There was a small kitchenett with a double cooker, fridge, toaster, coffee pot, and some other basic stuff. There was a free air conditioner in the room, which we found a bit loudish, but it was ok on small speed.
The stuff was very friendly - all we'd asked was done immediately without any questioning. Very nice food in a hotel taverna made by Anastasia.
There was free WiFi at and near the lobby.
All in all, we stayd at 6 different small hotels while on Crete, and Ledra was the cheapest while the best among them. Definitely will stay there as soon as on Crete again.
Olga&Andrey

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Myself and my friend both in our mid - twenties were looking for a holiday that didn’t have the run of the mill loud clubs, English Breakfasts and hords of horny British twentysomethings. I think we’re getting old, but we wanted to chill out relax and have the opportunity to get drunk if we wanted.

We booked the holiday through Libra very last minute (we booked 11am on the Monday and left on the 5am flight the following morning) and were promised this was the last apartment available. We paid a very good price of £250 including transfers for one week.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this bit of Crete is perfect. I wouldn’t advise taking a little one or teenager that’s looking for some 18-30 action, as there’s not much to keep them occupied if you don’t rent a car.

*The Location*
For those looking to be close to Chania, Malame is about 30 minutes on the bus. Malame is very quiet village, but close to a lot of beautiful villages and beaches. The Libra rep will explain excursions (we didn’t take any) and bus systems on the second day of your hol.
A very quiet is just 2 minutes behind the hotel. The hotel itself is tucked away and you’ll get awoken each morning by a dog, the sound of the sea, a cockerel and a goat.

*The Apartments*
Our studio was above the office and kitchen of the hotel. Good view of the pool. Provisions wise, it is very basic, 2 saucepans, one frying pan, 2 plates, 3 cups etc and 2 rings. Really not enough to cook a grand dinner, but you can have a good go at pasta, salad and butties.
It did feel like we were having a shower in a cave. That was cool.
We didn't use the air conditioning as we heard you had to pay for it, but a window opened seemed to do the trick.
Buy toilet paper too as we couldn’t work out when the cleaner came!

*Ledra*
Ledra is a family run place. The staff are really really lovely and made us feel very welcome.
The poolside/ bar area is very clean and the pool lovely and warm. But if I hear Pokerface one more time I may kill someone.. Sunloungers weren’t plentiful but during the day people dipped in and out and made room.
The food at the hotel is lovely and very good value for money especially with the post dinner Rakki and ice cream.
A nice bonus is the free wi-fi and internet access in the reception area.

*Tips*
-- The buses are lovely and air conditioned and it costs €1.80 (one way) to get to Chania. Chania is stunning, head to the Old Town. From the main bus station in Chania you can go pretty much anywhere in Crete. Chania bus station is not for the faint hearted! Organised chaos, and make sure you go for a wee elsewhere before you get to the station.
-- It costs €1.40 (one way) to go to Platanos where it’s a little lively and has a great beach which costs €5 for 2 sun loungers all day. The bars by the beach are literally on the beach, perfect for a drink by night, and the last bus heads back to Melame at around half 11.
-- The bus the other way will take you to Kolumvari which has a gorgeous monastery (they wont let you in in shorts though!) on the top of the hill and plenty of fish restaurants if that’s your bag. We tried to walk back to Maleme on the beach but after 2 hours we gave up and got the bus.
-- On the main road of Malame to the right of Ledra about 10minutes up the road is a big supermarket (just by the bus stop). This seemed good value for money compared to the little mini marts.
-- The bars on the beach front can be expensive we had 4 vodka and mixers for €25!! Best to stick to beer.
-- It also had the worst covers band i had ever heard in my life....avoid!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icantclosemysuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Ledra. The studio self catering appartment that we stayed in with our 15 year old son was clean, very basic but adequate for our needs. The shower left a little to be desired but as stated in previous reviews always plenty of hot water. I would not even attemp to cook on holiday as this is not a holiday to me?? But for anyone who does cater for themselves, the ammeneties are very basic and very limited. We ate in at the restraunt three times. The food was good, you will enjoy local cuisine and plentiful supplies of FREE Raki after every meal. All the food is cooked fresh by the owners wife and Mum and its really nice, as good as you will find in any of the local restraunts and cheaper too,. The location is very quiet. You are away from all the main tourist parts of the Island but close enough if you want it. A short and cheap bus ride will take you to the more lively resort of Platineous (Which I may well have misspelt)We chose to visit all the local beach front restraunts, which are literally beach front, I mean 25 yards from the gorgeous crashing waves. The sunsets are amazing. All these Taveners are a 5 min walk from the accommodation. Free ice cream,, fruit and Raki seemed standard at all the restraunts after you had eaten. Not just a shot of Raki, a whole small Carafe. At anything from 40-70% proof at various places this will knock your socks off! Hotel owners were very pleasant and willing to help at all times. our rooms were cleanded and beds made every day except Sunday (hey everyone needs a day off) There is free internet access in reception. We made use of the pool, which I will point is is very deep, the shallowest part is 1 metre and the deepest is 2.8 metres. Granted there is a "Childrens" pool but this is only sutable for paddling really.
There are an adequate number of sun loungers. There is a little pool side bar and snacks are availabe as resonable prices. A Must is a trip to the beautiful Harbour in Chania. You need to find the old town. This is a ten min walk from the main bus station. This is a lovely little place, very pretty - take you camera. There are ,boat trips that leave from here, horse and carrage rides, very authentic little taverners and the more expensive restraunts along the harbour. Watch the prices here. We sat at one restraunt and the cost of a price of beer was £8.50 !!! Obviously we did not stay. There are plently of other restraunts that are a lot more reasonable. We did pay £14 for 3 soft drinks in another place, so ask beofre you order as there are cheaper places. The little train trips that are on offer are worth a look, we went on one, most of them are about £15 per adult - they take you to lovely little villages that you would not get to even if you hired a car. We also vistited the oldest Olive tree in the world 3,000 years old. The place were Raki is made and a Church in Cave at the top of a mountain which was very interesting to see. All in all a very relaxing holiday, we all enjoyed ourselves, our 15 year old never had a great deal to do but still had fun in the pool.The accommodation does exactly what it says on the tin. We were very impressed with Libra holidays who we booked with and our rep in resort, Melissa was lovely and very informative.We met some lovely people too.
Gill, Billy and Adam from Liverpool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONESTY4ALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

I've just returned from my first trip in Crete and thought I would share my experience of this beautiful island with you, we stayed at the Ledra,Maleme which was recommended by Laura at Future Travel and what a hidden gem this is!!!

The rooms are basic, but comfortable and immaculatlly cleaned daily, they have a small kitchenette which would benefit from having a grill, but with a little imagination you can make something basic from the fresh, delightful local food. The bathrooms are clean and there is always plenty of hot water 24/7. We had a lovely balcony and would spend many lazy evenings playing cards and sipping down the local raki before going to the restuarant atached to the apartments.

The restuarant is absolutetly superb, the food made of fresh local ingredients is simple, but of a very high standard. We did try a few restuarants on the sea front, but to be honest the food at the Ledra is of a much higher standard cooked by Anastassia.
Nico runs the complex in a very relaxed manner, always smiling, always ready to chat and will keep the bar open until the last guest departs for a long lazy sleep...

We would highly recommend hiring a car from the local rep and the prices are a lot cheaper than the local rental firms. We spent 3 days exploring this delightful island discovering the most amazing secluded beaches I've ever seen. I would highly recommend visiting elafinisi beach which is a lovely 2 hour drive away, also recommended is prevalli beach and Kournas lake which is the only fresh water lake on Crete.

As you always leave the best for last, I have to mention and recommend highly a delightful place caled Paleochora (or Paleohora) on the south west side of the island, This has the most sandy beaches, hidden bars, rocky coves...and some delightful restuarants on the harbour front, In the evening we dined at the calypso and were treated to a delicious meal of prawns, indian dal, lamb kleftiko all washed down with delicious local wine and raki.

All in all if you want a relaxing, romantic holiday, this place is definately for you, It has all the ingredients you need to chill out and is not as expensive as you would imagine, I would recommend booking through either Future Travel or Libra Travel as I have found them to be highly professional.

Hope this helps and please feel free to contact me if you want to ask any questions.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithLindaBowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.0 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#6 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#8 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
7.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledra Maleme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledra Maleme

Property: Ledra Maleme
Address: Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maleme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledra Maleme 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEDRA MALEME HOTEL is located 15km outside the town center of Hania, 30km from the airport, 20km from Souda port and only 150 meters away from the beach. Not too far from the hotel you can fish, water ski, scuba dive, wind-surf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ledra Maleme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledra Maleme Hotel Maleme
Ledra Maleme Chania
Ledra Maleme Hotel Chania
Ledra Maleme Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing