We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish”
Review of Zorbas

Ranked #7 of 75 Restaurants in Ierapetra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Very nice location, next to the sea
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a loveley rstaurant on the seafront of Ierapetra. We had an awsome dinner with cretan starters( don't miss the zucchini balls), and fresh fish of the day.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank tomsonderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A standard choice”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice location, right on the busy street over the seafront. Menu is focused for tourists, all standards were there. Service was very good though.

Visited August 2013
Thank blugosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just go somewhere else..”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A typical tourist taverna at the port of Ierapetra. Food was average and there was no fresh sea food in the menu, unacceptable for a ''restaurant'' so close to the sea. I wouldnt recommend this place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5 Thank annie_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomytamy, Διευθυντής at Zorbas, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are open for all kind of reviews and critics, because we think that they can help us to get even better.
But honestly we were very surprised with your review.
I remember very well the day you came to our restaurant with your family. Your company came towards us and asked us for fresh seafood, special for fresh calamari. We told him that today there were no fresh calamari on the market, but he could try the octapus, which was fresh this day. As you live in Greece, you should know that fresh seafood is not available every day, even in places next to the sea like Ierapetra.
We even came to your table and showed you the fresh fish we just got from the market to choose.
Nevertheless, together with the fresh fish you choose to eat also the calamari, which was froozen and we had told you honestly. But maybe this was our mistake.
But the main reason I was very surprised about your review is, that after the meal your company told us that everything was perfect and delicous, so I don't really understand your absolutely negative review.
zorbas manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Where tripadvisor gets it horribly wrong”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant after reading the rave tripadvisor reviews.

However, aside from the tables next to the sea, there was absolutely nothing else of half-decent quality about this restaurant.

Food was mediocre (although yes, prices were reasonable).
Service was mediocre (but poor for Cretan standards).

Avoid this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7 Thank DeepblueCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“persoonlijke bediening”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful restaurant with lots of beautiful, different places to sit. Inside, outside, near the water. In the evening it is the most romantic spot.The service is very friendly. They speak many languages and are so attentive. Also bought a bottle of their own delicious olive oil.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank LidyoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorbas also viewed

Ierapetra, Lasithi Prefecture
Ierapetra, Lasithi Prefecture
Koutsounari, Ierapetra
Ierapetra, Lasithi Prefecture

Been to Zorbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing