We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Crete”
Review of Cretan Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cretan Villa
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Ierapetra
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Real Crete”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

If you choose Cretan Villa, it's great to be really in the middle of Iarapetra and in a very nice, clean, friendly and caracteristic hotel. But what is really amazing is to enjoy the real Crete, thanks to the quick suggestion and tips you can get from the owner, Manos. When we (my wife and I) travel for holidays, we like to be involved in the local life and understand it, feel it? We like to visit beaches mostly known only to local people? We like to eat in caracteristic restaurants, together with greek people and not in restaurants built for touirists, sometimes enjoiyng local live music in a friendly enviroment and pay the rigth (low) price? That's definitly 'Cretan Villa' in Ierapetra! We are thinking to come back again in Crete, hoping to do it asap!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreab188107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    47
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
125
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Cretan Villa is a wonderful place, with a host Manos who does everything to inform and help his guests to find their way in beautiful Ierapetra. Manos' hospitality is fabulous and the accomodation of his hotel is great. This place is overwelming due to the traditional Cretan style and the passionate host Manos.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludwig05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed here our last few nights in Crete. Room was dirty - i don't think the floors had been swept or washed in weeks. It seemed like they were just waiting for the end of the season to be over before they could close the doors for the winter and were just waiting for the stragglers to leave. It was inexpensive which was a bonus and the room was big. The manager was helpful but a little on the overtly macho side which put us off a bit. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and with a bit more TLC it could be an amazing little place. But I don't think we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deaksVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We loved the place, the manager was extremely friendly, and it was clean and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

It is a really nice place where to spend holiday or few days.
Stuff is very kind and ready to give all the needed support and very useful suggestions.
Even with benzin issue due to major strike in Greece he found a solution and we were able to drive accross the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio0474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We 've been there for two nights. The building is great, with a charming and relaxing inner yard. Quiet location but very close to city center.
The rooms are spacious, exept from the toilets which are in need of a renovation.
But the best is the owner! Manolis took care of everything and made our stay enjoyable and relaxing. You couldn't find a better host. Excellent tips and extremely helpful about everything we needed.
If ever been in the city don't think twice. Just book it!
And the price is low for what it offers.
Probably the best place to stay in Ierapetra!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

When I booked the hotel for our first trip to Crete we were a bit anxious. what it would look like. What a surprise, we got a LARGE hotel room of excellent standard. Free WIFI internet, large refrigator ( not this tiny small ones which only have room for a bottle of water). Only 100 meters to the beach, not overcrowded like on many other places. If you want an really relaxing holiday, try Ierapetra and Cretan Villa Hotel. It is open all year and the sea temperature allows swimming almost all year. The best of all is that with Manolis, the owner you will have your private tourist guide, and he knows all that is worth knowing about South Crethe. He will fix everything for you, tell you where to go, car rental, you name it

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Some traffic noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank francofili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ierapetra hotels
5.0 mi away
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
3.6 mi away
Ostria Resort & Spa
Ostria Resort & Spa
#1 of 25 in Ierapetra
1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Greco Ierapetra
Hotel El Greco Ierapetra
#7 of 25 in Ierapetra
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Petra Mare
Petra Mare
#4 of 25 in Ierapetra
391 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nakou Village
Nakou Village
#4 of 6 in Koutsounari
89 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aroma Creta Hotel Apartments & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Villa

Property: Cretan Villa
Address: 16 Oplarhigou Lakerda, Ierapetra, Crete 722 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Ierapetra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ierapetra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cretan Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Villa is a lovely Cretan house build in 18th century. The hotel is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Ierapetra, the southernmost town of Europe. It is about 100 meters away from sandy beaches. The house was first restored in 1970's to a traditional settlement and since then it became the first hotel of the town. It hides a cool green garden surrounded by 9 traditionally furnished high ceilinged rooms which are equipped with individual air condition, fridge, mini bar, satellite TV, wireless internet access and 2 self-catering luxurious apartments 50 sq. Each with separate bedroom 50 sq. Meters each with a fully equipped kitchen. Prices range from € 35 to € 68 € depending on the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cretan Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Villa Ierapetra, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing