We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
253
139
57
34
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
139
57
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubsaladplastic cupswater slidespool areasea viewanimation teamchrissi islandyoung childrenfab holidayfamily hotelall inclusive hotelworst parteastern europeanssnack bar by the poolall areas of the hotelevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 494 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2008

we have just returned from a weeks holidat at petra mare, crete. id read a few reviews before going and felt i had to leave one personally. everything about our stay there was excellent. hotel very clean rooms spacious and well kept. food was okay with a wide range of choices to suit all. hotel staff were all very friendly and the weather was fantastic 26deg-32 which for end of oct was more than we could have hoped. we would recommend this hotel as we all had a great time. kids made friends leaving us time to relax and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Well this is the second year that we have been to this hotel, last year we went for a week and loved it, so we thought we'd go for two..its amazing, ignore all the bad reviews especially the last one..the hotel staff are lovely, I guess the person who wrote that review doesn't smile at people! Also there is no graffiti , there are three kids clubs , two english and one German, the German kids club room has childrens paintings and writings on the wall which is what I am guessing the last person thought was graffiti.
The hotel is immaculatly clean, the staff are always mopping the floors etc, rooms are cleaned and beeding made/changed daily, with fresh towels and toilettries.
The water park is great, something for everyone, with 3 big slides and smaller slides for toddlers in thier own pool, however I have been told by the first choice staff that the outdoors is to be totally refurbished for next season, they are moving the pools about and redesigning them, also they are moving the stage and kids clubs about too.
The hotel is classed as a three star in England but 4 star in Crete, we have stayed in 5 star hotels as well as other 3 and 4 stars, when choosing a hotel we tend to go for facilities and location, anyway my point being is that the cleanliness of this hotel is just as good as the 5 star in Florida we stayed at in Disney, obviously it could do with a bit of a lick of paint here and there but you know its still lovely in its own right.The food is really nice with something for everyone, specials everynight, also over 15 desserts to choose from and prob the same amount of salads, childrens menu good. The snakc bar is just great as its there on tap!
If you go in October like we did then you'll find it nice and quiet with no lounger snatchers lol! Also the temperature was in the 30's ..the sea is gorgeous, pure clear water which you just float in , really bouyant (prob spelt wrong oops!) , great for snorlekelling too! IT IS NOT A SHINGLE BEACH! It is a grey sand beach with some shells near edge of teh sea, there are a copule of rocks in wtaer but not jagged edge ones just smooth raised bumps but as the water is so clear you can easily see these, sea is like bath water so warm!
Sea view definately worth having! Just didn't want to come home!
trip to Chrissi Island well worth it, the reps are fantastic, Rockin Ryan is world class and off to Bulgaria next year so we might try that! Choclate Eclair and Magic Megan are staying on so we might even go back here as they were fab too.
We went with our 4 daughters ages 8,6,4 and 2!
As for the cats...well the Greeks worship cats so don't visit if you don't like em...we love them and they are well looked after with gorgeous glossy coats very friendly too but won't bother you if you don't call them, there were about 6 around the hotel (they don't come inside).
Dogs over in Crete are pretty much treated like cats , ie. allowed to roam around freely out and about of their homes, some are stray, very cute though .
Would def go back to this hotel, just loved it loved it loved it!!! Beach water sports excellent too!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

This hotel is located on the beach , this is the one and only good thing about it . The hotel is nearly 2 hours drive from the airport.Ierapetra itself is down in the south of Crete this makes it a nightmare to travel around and view anywhere else. The hotel staff are without doubt the most ignorant , sour faced of any staff that i have ever seen. They never , ever smile. The hotel is full of chavy , scruffy , scrubby and disgusting graffiti , left by the British. I couldnt believe it . Most people that visit the hotel would certainly fit in on the cast of Benidorm !!! ( Not all ) There is nothing to do at night and for an all inculsive hotel their really isnt much choice. I would say if you have the chance to change your booking then do so , unless you like Benidorm .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4991lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My husband, Myself & 13 yr old daughter have just got back from the petra mare holiday & to tell you the truth we was not looking farward to it after finding out all the horible things on the reviews & also it being the hotel where that mad idiot of a bloke threw his kids of the balcony we was dreading it..... BUT We enjoyed it & it was a very relaxing holiday just lazing around by the pool drinking beer from little plastic cups....mind you we did not mind this it was better than having some kid or adult cut there feet on broken glass...The larger is a bit gassy & the 7up tastes like dirty water other than that the drinks are good with large measure of Vodka etc....Rooms are clean & towls are changed every day....We had a sea view & it is amazing.... Our daughter looved the water slides we could not keep her off them they are only open for 1hr 11.30 - 12.30 then again 14.30 - 16.00 but this plenty long enough for them.....The entertainement was excellent the entertainment team were very funny & always had something for you to do right up until the night we left & we were the last ones to stay & leave the hotel...We were even entertained on the coach by Ayisha & yaz they are funny together...Rocking Ryan the kids absolutly adored (they even re-named him mr tumble) but as far was we had herd they wont be back next year....The food is ok pasta & salad is nice there is pleanty to choose from as long as you are willing to try some of there dishes & not just stick to chips....We had herd that they are going to try & change it ready for next season into a 4+* (watch this space) Our only complaint was the AIRPORT....Well what can I say other than BE PREPARED... I am warning you now it is an absolute NIGHTMARE...It really stresses you out you have to go in one queue to get your tickets chacked & cases weighed you then take your cases with you into another queue to have them scanned they then keep them to put them on the plane you then walk right to the other end of this very small airport to get your passports checked THEN you have to stand in a another queue to have you hand luggaged scanned when you finnaly get into the so called departure lounge you have to keep an eye on the screens for your bording gate as they do not make any announcements If you are not confused now just by reading this you will be by the time you get int he airport this has put us off going again...All I can say is go with an open mind & have your own views of it after all a holiday is what you make of it........

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FREDBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

just back from two wonderful weeks. havin read previous reviews was a bit wary, but needleely so. sure the food was VERY repetitive, but no one in my family ever went hungry! went with hubby, kids 14 and 7 and can honestly say didnt have any bad times. the kids clubs were still running-excellent! 7 year old couldnt get enough. reps were great fun, espeacially ryan and emma. the second week was very windy and temp dropped quite a bit. but we still sat out! pool was very cold second week so everyone headed to the sea. was great havin it so close. at night we left the balcony doors open to hear the waves crashing outside--lovely! hotel was very clean, maid service daily. we did see the cats but if u ignore them they just wander off. can honestly say this place is great, not for tourists though-bit remote! we were content to stay at hotel. the shops were usual tourist based, but thats all we needed. when we left, the reps said it was to be decorated for next season. would def go back

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank onadietagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews