We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
254
139
57
34
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
139
57
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubsaladplastic cupswater slidespool areasea viewanimation teamchrissi islandyoung childrenfab holidayfamily hotelall inclusive hotelworst parteastern europeanssnack bar by the poolall areas of the hotelevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 495 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Just arrived back from a 2 week stay at thet Petra Mare hotel.
There were 5 of us (3 adults,15 yr old and 14 month old baby).
We all enjoyed ourselves immensely. The only down sides for us were the transfer and the shingle beach, we prefer a sandy beach and this one was very rough on the feet.
The First Choice entertainment team and Kids reps are amazing. They do a fantastic job with the facilities they have.
I would like to thank Smelly Kelly, Rocking Ryan, Amazing Amy, Awesome Ayesha, Roaring Rory, Energy Emma, Chocolate E-Claire, Magic Megan and all others for the fantastic entertainment they provided us from 5th sept-19th sept.
You guys are amazing!!!
The room was spotlessly clean and the sea view was magnificent.
The promenade walk the the town was lovely and relaxing although the shops do not have a lot of variety for presents shopping...
Now on to the food..it was quite repetitive but as other reviews have said if you dont pile your plate up with everything in sight then there will be a good choice every day..
Overall the Petra Mare Hotel is well worth visiting and I would recommend it to friends as long as they haven't got very young children as the tranfer is too long and very bumpy.
You get what you pay for 3*..
The slides were great and the pools are lovely especially the kids pool with the slides etc and the sea view is magnificent..
The water sports are brilliant and a must do when you visit this hotel...
Overall we had a great time...Thanks First Choice..
If you would like any more info then plz contact me .. =-]

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Black-country-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

The worst part of the holiday came first and this was the journey to and from the hotel, 2 hours, it was torture. It was not only hot but it was hard for the young children. Check in was quite quick, our room was on the first floor, lovely view of the sea but there was no lift to this floor, so you can imagine carrying cases up a flight of marble stairs. Food was repetitive, but there was always something to eat. Pool area was ok in the first week when there were not too many people, but was it became impossible to get a sunbed, as time went on. Pool areas were clean but the slide was only open for a short time in the morning and the afternoon, just like the icecreams they were only available at certain times of the day. Our grandaughter enjoyed the Kids club, but it became expensive as it could cost 3-5 euros for some of the events held. I didnt mind when the children had chocolate but as we were all inclusive I thought it was a cheek to be charged 5 euros for a ;pizza and movie. Anyway, all in all it was a restfull holiday as there was nothing to do as the shops where limited in the town....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zakiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Have just returned from a 7 night stay with my partner and our 4 year old twin boys. Have never written a review before but as I read lots of them before I went , felt lots of others would rely on reviews too. So whatdid we think? Well the weather was unbelievable, 38 degrees on some days but with a wind blowing we could still lie out in it. The boys were coated in factor 30 regularly and came back a gorgeous colour.
The room we had was overlooking the sea, which could be heard constantly but we quite enjoy the sound of the waves so that was fine by us.We had a king size bed, a small double and a single bed. There was an ample size bathroom, and a fridge in the room. the room was cleaned daily and was spotless. We were on the 4th floor and had a balcony but it had a raised front so theboys were safe.
The food! Having read other reviews we were a little bit concerned what we were going to face. Have to admit, we and the boys had no problems with the quality and quantity of food available.(Russ says he would have liked a few more more days with bacon for breakfast buy hey ho!!)There was a good choice for all and the boys ate every mealtime. Getting used to drinking from plastic took a while but i guess with small children around I,d rather they stood on a plastic tumbler than some broken glass.
The pools were excellent. We didn't really venture in to the main pool as the lazy river and kiddies pool more than entertained the boys. The kiddies pool with its climbing frames and slides was excellent and the boys spent hours making friends in there. There are 3 water slides which are open a few hours a day. Again they were great fun and it was reassuring to have them closely monitored by the lifeguards.
The Kids Club! What can I say? We have never been on holiday with a kids club before so went with an open mind. The boys absolutely loved it. There are various sessions throughout the day on different days, with lots of great activities. Our boys had their faces painted, went to a chocolate party, painted, played hgames, watchd DVDs and just had so much fun! They will probably remember Rockin Ryan , Energy Emma and Crazy Cat for a long long time. They were excellent kids club reps!!!
We venturd out a couple of night along the seafront to The beach front restaurants and again there was a reasonable choice depending on price and quality.
Sunbeds...........Aargh!!!! This was really as everyone else has said , a real pain . My two little uns were appy to have lie ins which they don,t at home, but I had to get up each morning at 7 just to go down to ensure we got our sunbeds where we wanted them. The hotel simply does not have enough beds! Also they should enforce the rule about leaving towels, and if you leave a towel and aren,t any where to be seen by lunchtime then thetowel should be removed!! Moan over!
All in all, though, we booked this last minute and a had a great time. It doesnt pretend to be 5 star, it is simply an exceptionally clean, pleasant sea front hotel with a great choice of food and perfect for families with young children.There are water sports on the beach outside the hotel and with the bigger slides too I guess older kids would also love it.We just want to know which hotel Rockin Ryan and Energy Emma are going to nxt year as they will guarantee the kids have a great time which means we wil too!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MargaretWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

My wife and I and our eleven year old son had a great 7 night stay at this hotel. We were on an all inclusive deal with First Choice and it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable and relaxing holidays we have experienced. It wasn't all perfect but the good points far outweighed the bad.
The hotel itself is beautifully situated adjacent to a beach and eating out on the restaurant terrace in the beautiful weather was a real pleasure. Having read quite a few criticisms of the choice of food available, we were prepared for the worst but in fact there was a wide choice of different types of food, all delicious as far as my wife and I were concerned and even our son, who is a fussy eater to say the least, managed to find things he enjoyed.
The beach itself is a bit rocky but swimming was absolutely fine as long as you took care getting in and out of the water. The pools in the hotel grounds were perfectly adequate and my son and I enjoyed the slides a great deal. Although these only operated for two and a half hours each day, we found this to be more than enough for our purposes and they were well managed from a safety point of view.
Our room was basic but pleasant enough and the air conditioning worked well for sleeping purposes. The worst thing about it was it's proximity to the social area so getting to sleep before eleven pm was difficult due to the noise from the poolside bar.
The worst thing about our stay was the ludicrous grabbing of sunbeds at the crack of dawn. We learnt from day one that it was impossible to beat them so the only way to ensure a sunbed was to grab one yourself as early as possible. The hotel has signs displayed in English and German stating that towels placed on the beds before 8am would be removed but this policy was not carried out.
All in all a really good holiday and a friendly, clean and comfortable hotel.

High points:- Location, choice of food, weather, jet ski hire, promenade walk to Ierapetra, boat trip to Chrissy Island (the most beautiful sea we have ever swum in) and the relaxation generally.

Low points:- Sun bed grabbing, noise from bar area in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baldybates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The petra mare is a grubby and under resourced hotel. When we stayed there the indoor pool and gym was closed and the waterpark was only opened for 3 hours a day. the main bars only open in the evening. The parasols and sunbeads are only fit for a skip. everything is plastic cups and self service or just one person trying to deal with too many customers. So take your own glass.
On the positive side the location is beautiful and the local town very friendly. There is plenty of food but little variety. would i recommend this hotel "NO".

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kevy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews