We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh let's keep this our secret!”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sandford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Shhh let's keep this our secret!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

When you arrive at the lamb you are immediately taken by the kerb charm of this Inn which is situated in the heart of the village. The charm only improves when you enter.

So let's have a scratch under surface and look at our stay.

Booking:
We booked the room by phone and reserved a table, this was straight forward and hassle free, the web site is also straight forward. The cost of the room for the night was £125 but there are cheaper rooms also.

On Arrival:
The welcome was warm, friendly and relaxed and was shown to our room.

The Bedroom:
The room (no1) was contemporary in design and well equipped. The room faced the front of the Inn and was over the bar areas but there was no noise from the bar below.
The room had a kingsize bed, table & chairs, a pedestal bath and a wood burner complete with logs matches kindling and paper, a TV and the best selection of tea and coffee (ground) I have been treated to in some time. There was also an en suite shower room & toilet equipped with a good range shower and body gels and more towels than needed.

Bar & Dinning:
The area has a warm atmosphere, with an eclectic mix of tables, chairs and comfiest sofas - having the effect to make you smile and sigh "loverly". The inn is frequented by staying guest, villagers coming for a pint or meal - oh and the occasional dog.

Food & Drink:
The menu is well thought and small, which to me suggest well cooked food, and not brought in. The meal we had was much better than I have in many restaurants, and I would travel just to eat here, so do book a table as it becomes full quickly. Breakfast is of the same standard.

Phone & WiFi:
Good mobile phone signal if needed, and the Inn provides free WiFi and internet access.

Criticisms:
A small one, but not major would be the temp of the hot water, which does feel tepid.

Note:
This inn is one of the centres of village and does stage events and even hosts the village cinema, check when booking, then join in.

This is our third visit and second stay, and we will return again. If you are looking for a charming, warm & friendly place to stay in a beautiful part of the country you would have to go a long way to do better.

Room Tip: When booking a room remember to book a dinner reservation - then relax in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    44
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
123
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the Lamb inn for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Lamb Inn has a great cosy country pub downstairs that seems to be the heart of the village community. They serve excellent food in a very comfortable and relaxed environment. It was great to only have to roll downstairs for a pint after a long day of exploring beautiful Devon and Cornwall. The room we stayed in was very spacious, modern and clean. We got a good night sleep all 4 nights but there is a little bit of background noise coming from the pub downstairs, nothing overly noisy though! Staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place, don't hesitate, just book!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luxury King size double
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arrived following a wet cycle from Plymouth. Made very welcome, even though we were soaking wet. Make sure you book a table for evening meal as it is very popular. Rooms were comfy although if you retire early be prepared to be awoken by people using and leaving the pub later on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJamesGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Lamb Inn is a wonderfully quirky place set in the English countryside and a hidden gem. The rooms are delightful an belie the age of the Inn which keeps in traditional and old interior and exterior but they have modernised the bedrooms (5) to a high standard. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food excellent, freshly delivered every day (we saw it being delivered!). Would highly recommend it for an overnight stay. Whilst there is not much parking directly outside there is plenty of parking a little bit up a slightly hilly road in the Community Centre.
I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Lamb a year ago with friends and had a great time. On our recent return midweek, staying for one night our experience was even better. We had room number 4 which was lovely, with a separate bath in the room as well as a huge bed and high spec ensuite bathroom. The pub itself has great ambience; A proper pub that has all the charm one would expect of an old English pub, but with a modern menu, great selection of wines and friendly staff. Our meal was superb and faultless. The loin and belly of pork simply divine and possibly the best we've tasted. The price very reasonable. We will definitely return thank you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woodford190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a two night stay at The Lamb, 2nd and 3rd August. lovely room (6 ) with everything you could want. The Breakfast was great cereal, fruit, yogurt and cooked breakfast as you wanted it.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. We would stay again if we were to go that way again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 6 August and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation, although this is an Old worldy pub, the rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard we had room 4, which is in the courtyard and up some stairs, a large king size bed, large free standing bath and a very big storm powered shower -room as well, good size TV which we like, great village life, good food in evening and breakfast served by very pleasant staff, and a village community store as well. The weather also made it. would definitely stay again when in the area, well done to all

Room Tip: Everyone likes room 4, I am told Kate Moss and daughter stayed in this room when going to a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandford
10.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
13.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,246 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
213 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: The Square | Crediton, Sandford, Crediton EX17 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Crediton > Sandford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning pub with stunning, contemporary rooms in a picturesque Devon village. Only 20 minutes from Exeter and 2 minutes from Crediton. The pub serves good food, seven days a week, but please book just in case. A charming place with open fires, lovely walled gardens, friendly staff. Breakfast and vat is included in the price of the room and prices are per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Sandford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing