We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Kipos ton Gefseon - CLOSED

Kipos ton Gefseon
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant 'kipos ton gefseon' is located in number 8, Chrisostomou street, only 50 metres from the Venetian 'kenourgia porta' and the municipal theaters 'N. Kazantzakis' and 'M. Hatzidakis'.The restaurant 'kipos ton gefseon' is a beautiful renovated neo-classic building of the '30s surrounded with a flora yard.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to many restaurants in Heraklion, but this restaurant was so good that we had dinner there 2 nights in a row. I remember the second night that we wanted to go out for dinner, we couldn't think of a better place.
The food is perfect, we tried both the steak and the salmon and both were incredible. You can also choose from a rather good selection of Cretan wines. The service is good and the staff are very friendly as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    16
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by the hotel staff and did not disappoint.

Great food and service. The haloumi wrapped in pork was fantastic and the home made deserts were delicious. Definateley recommended.

We had our table in the garden...very romantic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place great environment”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

fabulous place great environment old classic building int the center of the town with great garden , delicious choices and wonderful wine cellar with many local choices , must try it out

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marios565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food - great service!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went to this restaurant with my boyfriend last September. Not only was the food delicious (a little bit pricier than some of the cheap gyros you can get anywhere else, but totally worth it!) but the waitress was absolutely lovely. The setting is absolutely beautiful and very romantic. It didn't hurt that dinner was topped off with free creme brulee and a proper little jug of raki!
We already said that if we go back to Heraklion we are definitely returning here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Do go”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Meant to write this in September but overtaken by events. Can see from the latest reviews it is still the best restaurant in Heraklion.

We did something we'd never done before - we ate here 4 nights in a row. We had tried a few other places, so know good food can be had in Heraklion but this was exceptional. Ambience and service all contribute to the experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kipos ton Gefseon also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing