We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”
Review of Erganos

Erganos
Ranked #1 of 377 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is going to be CLOSED from 13/09/16 to 15/09/16
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Erganos is tucked away from the main tourist area of Heraklion, but is well worth the fifteen minute walk from the port. If you want a great combination of authentic Greek food with a side of Greek hospitality, this is the place for you. We arrived around 1:30 for lunch (near the beginning of siesta) and the staff was more than ready and willing to serve us. Harry, our waiter, was very nice and offered us complimentary food and drinks throughout the meal as if we were family guests. Near the end of our meal, we shared the patio of the restaurant with two large Greek families, confirming for us the authenticity of the food and atmosphere. If you want a great Greek experience and don't want to leave hungry, Erganos is your place!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lcat816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    78
    25
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality Traditional Greek and Cretan Kitchen”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Greek and especially Cretan food on it's best. Real quality kitchen with nice taste. The staff was friendly and the price reasonable enough. Do not forget to taste "aega kokkinisti" meaning
braised goat served with chickpeas. Real traditional taste from old times. Recommend to visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven_10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great traditional cuizine”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great traditional lamb and good quality of traditional kitchen.Away from the touristic traps.we went and had good time at a very good cost.locals prefer it for delivery also and the staff was very polite.not to be missed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Digenis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best meal in Crete”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Fantastic night with large group, very well catered for in this authentic restaurant. We had greek speakers in our group who negotiated the menu with the waiters, making sure we had a range of traditional food which we could share. Starters, main courses and desserts were all good. Plus the complimentary raki!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curlynettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Food in Crete”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

After having spent a few days in Crete and several more in other parts of Greece, this was definitely the best restaurant we visited. The ingredients were so fresh they tasted like they had just arrived. There was a large selection of appetizers and entrees and we wound up ordering more food than we should have. But that was not a problem since everything was delicious and we finished all of it. You definitely have to go here if you are in Crete.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erganos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Erganos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing