We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best traditional cretan restaurants in Heraklion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Erganos

Erganos
Ranked #1 of 369 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is going to be CLOSED from 13/09/16 to 15/09/16
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best traditional cretan restaurants in Heraklion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This one of two or three places inside the city that I know of that you can get such consistent quality of traditional cretan food. Don't miss out on the lamb (ofto) and the smoked pork (apaki).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vkehayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    76
    24
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“traditional cretan bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Almost in the centre of Iraklion there is a traditional cretan bistro. Lumb and pork in the oven are delicious, made in cretan way. Also cretan ham called apaki and cretan home made spaggetti called skioufihta are really delicious. The home made wine is not so good. Everything in a nice and clean space. Reasonable prices. During winter time you can find the chimney warm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stathisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“traditional, authentic but not so special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went here at the invite of our Greek host during a business visit, where we ate as a group of 10. The owner did take time to discuss the menu with our host, who subsequently chose the meal, and the waiters were very friendly and talkative. We had many starters, the best being the spinach pasties containing a hint of cumin. Others included taziki (fair, no enough garlic for my liking), domadacia (good and without meat), local fried mushrooms and some thick yoghurt based dip. Some of the other starters were too over fried for my liking. The house wine was local and tasted good. The main dish was the let down really, although the salad did save it. There was lamb, spaghetti and potatoes. One of the party didn't like parmasan so had rice instead which didn't look properly drained (maybe this is the way they serve it in Crete). Given that Greek food does not come with condiments this came over as a bit bland (although I skipped the meat as I am vegetarian and stuck to the salad to avoid a carbohydrate overdose). The restaurant is located just outside the city walls, but there is no real view to speak of. It does serve very traditional cretean food but I was expecting more taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Heraklio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went here on a recommendation from our taxi driver - what a great tip! It didn't seem to be very touristy, but was quiet with some locals. The food was great, some very interesting dishes, and the house wine was really good too. The waiters were lovely, and we were so impressed with the sausage they sold us one which I posted to my dad the next day. He has since eaten it and pronounced it very good! Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Cretan food at Erganos is delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Located outside the city centre but very easily accessible is this lovely Cretan restaurant. We had snails; salad; big dish of lamb chops; some small Cretan specialitiy dishes and their house wine which is cheap and altoghether drinkable.
Friendly service; upstairs (covered) semi-alfresco restaurant which I am sure will not disappoint.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GWGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erganos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Erganos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing