We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Parasties Urban Kitchen
Ranked #52 of 374 Restaurants in Heraklion
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An atmospheric, cozy place and of the most popular gourmet hangouts of Heraklion, since 2000. All these years 'Parasies' -as was the original name of the restaurant- has been opening its doors to foodies in a smaller, intimate and beloved place. Our desire and goal is to combine classic nostalgic flavors and special blends even at the simplest dishes so that we can please every taste. It is a daily challenge and a great honor for us, when guests, as we like to call our customers, recognize and appreciate our culinary philosophy. The quality food, the finest wine labels and a coordinated team, make sure you feel comfortable while enjoying scents, flavors and authentic recipes and offer you and your guests an ideal suggestion for quiet lunches and lively dinners. *According to the Cretan dialect parastia or parasia has been the traditional way of cooking in Crete for many years. A fire was set between two parallel rectangular stones and a cooking pan was put above. Thus 'parasia' was selected as the name of the restaurant, where the open kitchen dominates as a trademark.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I usually try to avoid restaurants in good locations, that is with view to the sea, and situated in city squares, because their proximity to city centers and sights makes them easily accessible by a lot of people, therefore usually they don't give a lot of attention to the food they produce on the table.
I was not wrong in this case.
Apart maybe from the grilled meats and French fries, the rest of the dishes were average in quality, although high on quantity. Service was quick and curteous, prices are in the 25 euro per person range for starters, main course and dessert.
Wouldn't go there again, as there are indeed better places in and outside Heraklion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curioustraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    58
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“No wonder the restaurant was empty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our worst meal in Crete .... we shared a dish of slimy mushrooms .. one of us then had lumps of fat posing as lamb in a mush of undercooked rice and the other the same with uncooked pasta. The wine was good and helped us drown our sorrows, forget what we were eating and fork out for not only the worst but also the most expensive meal we've had. No wonder the restaurant was empty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebourg, Nord
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WAW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This restaurant is an absolute gem located in the cozy square across from the historical museum. Its quiet open terrace offers the sea in plain view while enjoying the best food Crete has to offer. I had a whole generous grilled fish that was incredibly fresh and tasty together with the huge home chips and organic vegetables that can't be missed. They are however best known for their top quality meat cooked on their open wood burning grill kitchen. Inside, the restaurant is simply lovely. Service was impeccable and very welcoming. I loved the casual atmosphere that made me feel like hanging around a big part of the afternoon. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimiecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heraklion
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If yuo like meet and local recipes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm living in Heraklion 25 years now.I'm coming in this restaurant several years.
Its quality,its service are the same.They use mostly local products.The kitchen is
open and they prepare the food on wood fire.
You can taste stamnagathi salad,home cut real potatoes,a huge omelet,fine mushrooms ,lamp chops,the famous beef steak,cretan cheeses and all the famous cretan pitas.They use olive oil.
Come here and ask for their suggestions.They'll offer you the best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ioanna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Meat place in Heraklion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Being reecntly revamped the nea place is bigger , has renewed decoration and offers the same top quality of meat. Is even greater on summer months when there are tables availalbe on the outside. try booking because the place is usually crowded. The meat is excellent and cooked at its best. Top place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parasties Urban Kitchen also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Parasties Urban Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing