We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, so long as you know what to expect”
Review of Prince Of Lillies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Of Lillies
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is not a fancy place. It's an inexpensive, bare-bones hotel with clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff is very friendly but don't expect five-star service. The taverna out front was excellent and the breakfast buffet was very good considering it was included in a very low room rate. It's near the sea but I don't know how close the nearest beach was, as we were only there for one night before catching a morning ferry. Within a couple hundred yards you have a grocery store, a few restaurants and a great bakery. Cab ride to the port was 15 Euro. If you want a clean, comfortable place at a nice price you could do a lot worse than this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Prince Of Lillies
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 218 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Prince of the Lillies - it is not without flaws, but these fade into insignificance against the background of general excellence.

The hotel is attractive, with its roofed and flowered entrance walkway flanked on one side by an open-air bar and on the other by the taverna-style restaurant. The children's playground, with swings, slides, playframe and seesaw, is helpfully located so that parents in the bar or taverna can keep a weather eye on the kids - it is unusual in the evening for there to be fewer than half a dozen, climbing, sliding and swinging while their parents eat and drink. (So this might be less perfect for couples wanting a quiet holiday)

The rooms are a good size, clean and regularly cleaned and made up with fresh linen and towels - which are permitted by the pool. They have a small en-suite shower room and a fridge which works (we were happy to discover) independently of the usual key-fob electricity switch. While air-con is available (4Eu per day, summer 2010) it doesn't always work, and no fan is offered in replacement. Our rooms had balconies and faced the sea, which made them very pleasant, as they didn't get too hot during the day (sea = north).

All the floors and stairs are marble - cool! - and there is a lift. The main staircase is a bit Escher-esque - it progresses from the 2nd floor only to end tight against the roof... There are also outside stairs from the end of the west-wing nearest the garden, leading directly to the pool area. This is planted with palms, bougainvillea and datura and there's a (seldom-open) bar which mightr serve drinks, ices and toasties. There are also lots and lots of loungers around the really lovely pool. Also provided are large shade gazebos, and of course, the palms give useful shade, too. I mention shade because the temperature when we were there was around 35C - hot, hot, hot!

The staff are the owners - Eleftheria (Freedom) and Manos - and an apparently German couple, who all spoke useful English. There is also a gorgeous little dog called (of course) Lily - I think she's a papillon or chihuahua, very small, anyway. This is amusing because she thinks she's a cat an constantly play-fights with the resident tomcat - an elegant gentleman, apparent father of two delightful kittens to an equally elegant sleek black queen. INTERNET - we discovered as we were leaving a coin-op internet cafe by the hotel office. However, we did also find a non-security-protected wifi link, so didn't actually need it.

On the down-side, it is near the flightpath to the nearby airport, so if you are a very light sleeper, you may prefer to brave the noise of revellers in Malia or go even further east to exclusive Ag Nic if you don't mind long transfers and don't want to visit Knossos or Phaistos. Also, we would have liked a fan.

More good things: opposite the hotel is a FABULOUS patisserie/boulangerie (try the chocolate coated baklava, about 30c each) a good taverna set a little back from the road, and a bit further on another, cheaper and incredibly friendly taverna (the waitress is the granddaughter, grandma cooks and grandad gives free chips to small boys). Also yet further (about 150m from hotel), a small supermarket , quite expensive, but fairly comprehensive where you can also buy bus tickets (zonal - 1.30E for Iraklion, every 15 min, bus stop same side as hotel nearly opposite shop).

NB YOU CANNOT BUY PHARMACEUTICALS IN SUPERMARKETS IN GREECE! Take your paracetamol, sticking plaster, anti-midge etc with you. To buy, you need a pharmacy, only available in large towns - eg. Iraklion and Malia.

Also Greece has become very expensive. It cost us around £800 in mainly food and bus fares, for four people for a week. We weren't extravagant and didn't go out in the evening except for a meal and a beer. Wine is cheaper than beer, and water, obviously, costs even less.

However, after all that, it was a great holiday - and we would certainly go back to this hotel. Four and a half out of five!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singinhinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We have just returned from a two week stay at The Prince of Lillies where we had our best holiday ever!
The hotel was beautiful and the staff all worked very hard to make sure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible especially Yanis, Eleftheria and Manos who not only made us feel very welcome all through our holiday but who also came out to wave good bye when we left. This was very touching!
We loved our room, it was very comfy and it had a beautiful view of the pool at night lit up and surrounded by palm trees. Very pretty! The air con worked well for a small extra charge, our room was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels every other day.
I loved the continental breakfast and the food served in the restaurant was good too. It often came with a free dessert of fresh fruit or a small jug of Raki to share, which was always nice!
We loved swimming in the pool and relaxing by it. It was a really nice area that was obviously well looked after and it had a bar too! As well as the pool there was a gorgeous sandy beach very close by.
The location was a great base for exploring the island by bus/coach and Yanis was full of really helpful info on how to get around and where to visit. The number 7 bus into Heraklion stops right outside, although you must buy your bus ticket in advance from the local shop, and further down the road you can catch a bus all the way along the coastal road to Chersonissos and Malia.
We loved our stay at the Prince of Lillies and wish we could still be there now. We would like to say a huge thank you to everyone especially Yanis, Eleftheria and Manos for helping to give us a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_IB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed here as a stop over for 2 nights as we flew in late in the night. It's a very short distance from the airport and is perfect for the first few nights or the last couple of nights before flying home.

There's a lovely restaurant, a great bar which has a nice atmosphere for a post dinner drink. Supermarket and lovely little bakery close by and a fairly good public bus service to Irakio, with one every half hour or so. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and there's a nice pool area. The beach near by isn't the best and can get quite noisy with planes taking off but overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty_travelsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel for 9 nights, and it was a pleasant stay.
I have booked this room though the hrs reservation system, and got a bargain price of 27 euro/night, including breakfast. The hotel is a few hunderd meters away from a long sandy beach, which has several places where you can rent a sunbed and have a drink. This stretch of sand is busy in the weekend (with greek people), but quiet during the working days. A nice place to relax however. For more tourist buzzing one needs to go to Heraklion (15 minutes by bus) or for example Chersonissos (30 minutes by bus), or locally rent a car, and drive to Rethymon. The room I got was clean and equipped with all neccesary furniture, however only two lightbulbs (out of 6) were working. This was fixed after a few days (my arrival was on friday evening). My room was located very close to the reception area, so it was somewhat noisy during the evening, but not annoying.
The hotel has a restaurant which serves good food, but with respect to the price not outstanding. The breakfast is nice with the usual ingredients, and good quality of bread and a cooked egg also. No shortage of anything in case you are a little late !
At checkout I had to pay an additional € 2/night for the airconditioning, which was a positive suprise, as the standard price is an additional €4/night.
Also positive to mention is the smooth and nice staff, who will quickly respond to your needs, and with a very nice attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petethebozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel is very unique – The hotel owned by a Greek couple, Manos end Elefteria, together with a grate staff, led by Yanis and they are so nice and warm and all of them (including the owners!!!) are doing their best all the time in order for the guests to feel comfortable, relax and enjoy the vacation the best way there is.
Despite the fact that the hotel is like 12 minutes from the airport, there is no noise and sleeping is great (and its not so bad that the airport is not far...).
Yes, the rooms are very basic and you have to pay extra 4 euro for having air-condition in the room but still, they are cleaned every day, towels are changed every day, and let’s be honest – for what we are paying – you’re getting your money value back and much much more!!!
I took half board and enjoyed every evening a meal at the Tavern’s garden , that is part of the hotel, tavern that offers a great Greek cuisine, I think that the amount I paid for half board, didn’t cover the food I had every evening…
In the same area, they have a bar that works throughout the day till the last guest and costumer leaves and now and then, one of them suddenly prepare cocktails shots and offer it for free for everybody around, and everybody is shouting “YAMAS” (cheers in Greek) together and drinking and having fun, listening to music and dancing. You can meet new friends or have a nice quit evening at one of the wonderful corners of the yard/tavern or bar
On weekends, a Greek singer and Bouzouki player is performing during dinner at the tavern – again, no charge…
There is a very nice and clean sandy beach 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a bus is passing by every half hour, going to Heraklio or to some other beaches at the area.
At the hotel, you can find a pool and a pool bar...
I must say, I didn’t knew nothing or no one from this hotel, I found out about it thru the net and this was my first time at this hotel. Surely it is not the last one and I recommend it from the bottom of my Heart !!!
I came as a guest and left as a friend - what more can you ask for????

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ido2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

CONS
- Staff tired to be friendly, but were not helfpul.
- Extra charge for airconditioning which took forever to get cold. Unable to leave a/c on
while not in room because you needed the key to operate it.
- Extra charge to use credit card
- Hotel staff kept passport for duration of stay. They forgot to give it back upon checkout. I
was close to arriving to the airport without it
- Loud atmosphere

PROS
- Close drive to airport.
- Small on-site parking lot

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssfvaljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
3.2 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#42 of 58 in Heraklion
134 reviews
4.2 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Life Boutique Hotel
Life Boutique Hotel
#37 of 58 in Heraklion
85 reviews
4.1 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
453 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#8 of 58 in Heraklion
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Of Lillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Of Lillies

Address: Karteros, Heraklion, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Of Lillies 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart family run hotel near Heraklion (10 minutes from the airport). Pool, two bars and restaurant. 200m from beach. Local shops. A very quiet hotel. Car hire and local horse riding. 3*** official rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince Of Lillies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Lillies Hotel Heraklion
Prince Of Lillies Heraklion
Prince Of Lillies Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing