We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great basic holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Of Lillies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prince Of Lillies
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Heraklion
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great basic holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just back from a fortnight in Prince of Lillies. Staff so friendly and helpful, Eri in reception is an absolute treasure.
The outdoor restaurant and bar areas are lovely and the gardens and pool superb.

Our room met our needs, well, but the shower always flooding the bathroom was a nuisance.

You are aware of aircraft noise, and late night music, but earplugs block this.

Amnissos bay is beautiful, good swimming, archaeological sites,and ancient church.

A value for money holiday

Room Tip: First floor with balcony 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKP311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
34
103
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkie in wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have been spending a week at Prince of Lillies and tomorrow is our last day. We have had a much needed rest and recuperation in the glorious sunshine on Crete. The hotel is lovely cannot find fault with anything,lovely and clean, swimming pool,lovely food and of course the staff. Manos his wife and family plus Eri the receptionist cannot do enough for you,nothing is too much trouble,everyone is very helpful. Maid service for the rooms excellent and very friendly. All in all a nice place to stay,would come again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy64bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Firstly the hotel review. I could not of asked for better service. The staff really do make this place. Nothing is too much for them to do for you. They include you like family. The owner 'manos' ensures he introduces himself to all the guests and brings over a free shot. He is very funny and great to talk to. The receptionist speaks excellent English as do most of the staff. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the bar and restaurant area and it was a huge balcony with lots of room to even sunbathe laying down. The only downside to being here was the dogs across the road barking at other dogs passing by. You will need earplugs for this. Our room was adequate enough for us. We had a fridge/freezer and a large Tv which all worked. The maids came near enough everyday which was fantastic. We had 2 single beds and requested more pillows. The hotel restaurant served beautiful food in a lovely setting. The pizza's are done in the wood oven and tasted great. The prices were reasonable, but from what i could see, there was nowhere else like what the Prince of Lillies offered. Olgas is cheaper, but the setting and cleanliness there was not great. The hotel bar was always lively, and if you like a cocktail that they do not have, you can make it yourself. The music in the bar was often very hardcore. The prices were reasonable here too 5 euros for a cocktail. There is a pool table and a little park for children. The pool could of done with some TLC and the bar was not open down there while we stayed.
Now for the resort which has nothing to do with the hotel.....we visited the beach which was 10mins walk. Not many things to do there except sunbathe. There are a few and i mean a few taverns near the hotel and a few supermarkets and thats it. We caught the bus to Heraklion city and spent the day there. There are many many shops and restaurants and a market as well as art shows and a museum. The bus was 2euros either way. We hired a car for the day which was booked through the hotel and was 50 euros for the day. We went to Knossos and also hersonissos. Knossos was 6euros entry to see the ruins. Hersonissos was very busy with miles of shops, bars, clubs and restaurants on the beach. We found that it would of been cheaper to hire a car from here as it was only 14 euros a day and there are many places to choose from. Other than that, there are buses going everywhere, there aint much to do. we would of liked more variety in our resort.
This hotel is ideal if you want to just relax and beach it all day and stay close to the hotel. For me, the hotel was excellent, but the resort was not what i expected. No need to get transfers, just get a taxi or catch the bus.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will have noise from the dogs barking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just spent a week at the Prince of Lillies, never intended to do much and didn't. Sun, pool, bar you know the type of thing. For this to work you have to have good people running the place, well here they excel. Done Crete before we love the island because of its friendliness but at the Prince of Lillies they've got it down to an art form. Oh sure the beds could be more comfortable and there wasn't enough clothes hangers- well if that's your priority pay a lot more and go to an upmarket hotel (you won't get better food though). If though you want service given from a genuine motivation to help and people that take you in rather than put you up then you too will love this place.

Room Tip: Sea breeze negated the use of air con but its there if you want it. Noticed that some rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Myself and my son booked a last minute holiday to crete with the wish list of nice pool, nice beach, and somewhere to chill.. Could not have chosen better.. Made to feel at home immediately on arrival and throughout our 2 week stay.. did not want to come home!! Pool was perfect for my son.. Wanted a deep pool and could not have chosen better.. deep end was 3m!!!! Pool beautifully clean and got baby area too... What can we say about the staff.. Perfect, fantastic, helpful and always friendly.. And Eri I am sure you will one day receive your Oscar.. (we have kept your drawing for when it's priceless!!) Manos and all other staff were very friendly and helpful too.. Could not have asked for more.. except another week or two!! We'll be back... Thank you..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The owners and staff are very friendly and make you most welcome.
In Karteros tourist atractions are nil.
Resturants in the one road are good and cheap, and better value than the hotel. Olga's is the best resturant for food and value do not be put off by it's appearance.
The shower leaked for the 14 days we stayed, we mentioned this to the receptionist, who advised that this was the system in all of the rooms, you have to hold the shower head at the same time as having a shower.
The bathroom and toilet was not cleaned for four days, we complianed and the room was cleaned instantly and for everyday after that.
Opposite the hotel is a fantastic cake shop, don't bother watching the calories.
On saturdays get the No 7 bus to the market 4 euros return
Shoes, clothes fruit unbelievable amount, obvioulsy some of the clothing is TAT, but look arond and you can find some genuine bargains

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrotblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Selected the Prince of Lilies for one night because it was not too far from the port and airport, and had available rooms at a surprisingly low price for three people. The woman receptionist speaks English and was friendly and helpful. Our room downstairs, below the reception, was quite basic, and unfortunately the entertainment in the terrace restaurant kept us awake until midnight. The rooms in the adjacent building might be better appointed and quieter. Our daughter enjoyed the large pool, however the lawns needed mowing. The complimentary breakfast was good, but for dinner we would suggest eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BestIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
2.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#11 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karteros
Hotel Karteros
#2 of 3 in Karteros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.6 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel
Golden Bay Hotel
#24 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
3.5 mi away
Athinaikon Hotel
Athinaikon Hotel
#33 of 57 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#18 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Of Lillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Of Lillies

Property: Prince Of Lillies
Address: Karteros, Heraklion, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Of Lillies 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart family run hotel near Heraklion (10 minutes from the airport). Pool, two bars and restaurant. 200m from beach. Local shops. A very quiet hotel. Car hire and local horse riding. 3*** official rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Prince Of Lillies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Lillies Hotel Heraklion
Prince Of Lillies Heraklion
Prince Of Lillies Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing