We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heraklion - Kronos Hotel”
Review of Kronos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kronos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and all the positive reviews that made us book initially were upheld. The hotel common areas are very clean. The bedrooms are modern clean and well designed, we would not call them large but of average size. The staff are helpful and always had a warm welcome The hotel is very well located adjacent to the harbour and only 500m from the bus station. Parking may be an issue as all the surrounding spaces appear permanently occupied, however the town is only a short walk away and local public transport is clean and efficient. Traffic noise could be an issue if you want a really quiet location, but we did not find it intrusive. For a short stay do not need a car. We will definitely stay again and would recommend to our friends

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been here for a stopover before my return flight. The Hotel is located at the beachfront and 5 walking minutes away from downtown. It has very nice modern rooms, free good quality WiFi, free printing service for boarding passes etc., Free Internet PC in the lobby.
The breakfast was ok for the price but nothing special. Some more fresh fruits or juices would be good. Anyway you can choose to add it or not. It is not compulsory.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
I will come again. Perfect value for money place for a citytrip stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _nothomenow_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I chose the Kronos Hotel as it had some good reviews and I was looking for a place for 2 nights after a late evening arrival.
I was very impressed with the Kronos Hotel for a short stay in Heraklion. It is very friendly and they will do anything they can to help.
The rooms are air conditioned and quiet despite the road and aircraft. There is a balcony with a sea view.
It is right in the Centre on the sea front and there are really good restaurants by the beach.
It doesn't look flashy from the outside but it is an excellent place for a shrot stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Kronos hotel is a perfect place for a short stay in Heraklion. My partner and I have stayed there just for one night to recover after our night flight. Hotel has a perfect location on the waterfront. We had a sea view room with a balcony. As this is a city without any near beach, we stayed all the afternoon on that balcony, enjoying the drinks and the view. There was a marvellous sun set and you could sit on that balcony for hours, because cretan weather has a cooling wind all the time.

The room was small but big enough to stay for a couple of nights. The AC and the small fridge worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom had enough space for personal hygiene and the hotel provided a pair of small branded soaps.

We had a continental breakfast which was more than enough to keep us going throughout the morning. Their Greek yogurt and honey was really good and of a high quality.

We would definitely come back to Kronos hotel again if we wanted to explore Heraklion in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice whilst in transit to/from ferries at Heraklion. The first night we booked before, the second time was on the strength of the first stay. This place is an absolute bargain. I think we paid 65 euros a night which included 5 euros each for breakfast. The rooms are small and basic but clean, modern and have air con and a balcony. I wouldn't really want to stay in Heraklion for a holiday, but would definitely recommend this place if you need a night or two. It's right on the water next to a strip of restaurants, although with constant traffic through which the waiters dodge with your plates. It's a 15 minute walk (with all our luggage) to the port, and right in the city centre for anything else you might need. It's even relatively easy to find as it's on the water, and has some parking spaces. The service was excellent, with staff speaking fluent English and allowed us to make phone calls to sort out our hire car, sometimes helping with the calls in Greek. There is also free wifi and a desktop and free printer (helped with boarding passes). Whatever you do, don't bother visiting the Palace of Knossos - biggest waste of time ruined by the Englishman Arthur Evans. The whole place is dedicated to this fantasist, rather than the ruins. Much better site on the hill at Ancient Thera, Santorini with lots of unsullied ruins and information.

Room Tip: We didn't have a sea view room as we just wanted value, but I think the view would be pretty goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Kronos. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Actually, some of the nicest rooms we have experienced. The hotel is located across the street from the water and walking distance to the marketplace downtown. Our room had a patio and a nice view of the bay and ancient port wall. There were many waterfront restaurants nearby which had excellent food. The hotel provided a very nice breakfast with the room. The only downside is the street is very busy and quite loud, but once we shut the outside doors and windows there was no problem with noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Kronos for 2 nights, the room was very clean, recently renovated. They change towels on a daily basis.
Kostas and the whole staff were very friendly answering all the questions and providing good and sincere recommendations.
Breakfast had plenty of choices, very good
Location: walking distance to the port and bus station where you can take the bus ($3 return) to visit the palace.
The hotel is located front of the ocean where you can watch the sunset.
For sure Kronos is more than a 2 stars hotel
I recommend the hotel and will stay there again if returning to Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#9 of 58 in Heraklion
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronos Hotel

Address: 2, Monis Agkarathou & Sofokli Venizelou, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
#11 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $44 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kronos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kronos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronos Hotel Heraklion
Kronos Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing